AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Guide: How to Identify your Temp Sensors
Topic Summary: Tired of seeing posts about temps... and people not even knowing what is what
Created On: 06/27/2010 05:37 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/27/2010 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

So this is a simple way to find out what temps are being reported by your motherboard. Most people have no clue which temp is which... and the funny thing it is so easy to verify if the software you are using is reporting the correct names for temps.

Software that reads temp sensors vary... and they vary in the names used (even with the same hardware)... so it is crucial to know how to recognize these readings and label them properly.

First step is to get a stress program. In this case I am using IntelBurnTest (but OCCT, Prime95, Everest or anything that hammers the CPU and NB is good).

Second step is to have a few different software for reading temp sensors... Everest, HWMonitor, SpeedFan... For this proceedure SpeedFan is required (or another program that will graph temp readings if you know one).

SpeedFan 4.44 Download

Install SpeedFan and run it, go to the charts tab, check of all of the temps available (except Core, that is almost useless since it is not a measured temp, it is calculated)... Then run your stressing software... let it run for a few minutes so you can get a good view of the graph's heatup behavior. In my example I ran it for 4-5 peaks on the see-sawing temps... then stop the test and watch the cooldown behavior

The temp that rises and falls the fastest is your CPU... the temp which rises slower and not so high as CPU (but mirrors it on a delay) is your NorthBridge.... the temp that does not change (or at least very little) is your motherboard temp

Here is a screenie of what I just did on my setup:



As you can see the temp that moves the fastest and highest is labeled properly as my CPU.

Everyone should do this to verify the temps being recorded in their favorite software are actually labeled properly.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)

Edited: 07/30/2011 at 07:04 PM by QB the Slayer
 07/02/2010 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stamatommy
Newbie

Posts: 36
Joined: 06/27/2010

Hi and thanks for the info. So what do you think about this...
Speedfan shows my 550be as : CPU 42C, Core 33C . On a hot day temps are about.. CPU 48C , CORE 38-41C. The Core reading fluctuates up and down by 3-5 C while the CPU reading stays the same.
When running my Phenom 9150e, CPU would say something like 39, steady and the Core would bounce between 55 - 60C ! It ran Prime95 perfect for over 5 hours so I know the core temp is wrong.
AMD Overdrive reads only the Core temps and they match with Speedfan and Core Temp 0.99.6 readings on both cpus. The temp reading in the bios always agrees with the CPU reading on both chips. Im running stock settings and HSF. Cool and quiet and Spread spectrum are disabled. Vcore voltage is default too, 1.3V. 9150e = 1.125V
What does your bios reading say ?
Peace

-------------------------
 07/02/2010 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I recommend ignoring "Core" temps all together.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 07/03/2010 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stamatommy
Newbie

Posts: 36
Joined: 06/27/2010

If thats the case then Cpu at 47C is a bit much. But Core reading of 37-39C still seems more accurate. Like the temps from GPUZ. One is from the driver (62C) and the other is the sensor chip (54C). Again the lower reading seems more accurate. Maybe there is a temp offset with some gear we dont know about. I vaguely remember reading something about that.
All temps are current.

-------------------------
 07/03/2010 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Well ignore CPU temps at your own peril

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 07/03/2010 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stamatommy
Newbie

Posts: 36
Joined: 06/27/2010

Im not saying you are completely wrong. But there is more there than we think.
In a week or two Ill be upgrading to a ddr3 board and we'll see how and if that affects the temps.

-------------------------
 07/04/2010 07:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Anyway... the point of this guide was to show a quick and simple way to make sure your temps are labeled correctly... using a program that graphs temp data and stressing the system will show you which temp rises and falls the fastest... that is your CPU temp.

And another thing I wanted to stress is that "Core" temps should be ignored since they are just a calculated value and really have no meaning and no bearing on actual measured temperatures.

Wether or not your temps are acurate is another story.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 07/18/2010 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vinpropane
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/16/2010

Great guide! Thank you.
 07/26/2010 01:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jacklinjones
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/24/2010

Well you have done a great job here by posting this information. Actually it gives much knowledge and awareness for our motherboard. I want to increase the speed of my CPU fan which is so slow right now. And it causes sometimes some kind of stuff for me. Can you suggest me something for this?
 10/21/2010 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ragna
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/21/2010

Great guide!

Edited: 10/21/2010 at 07:44 AM by ragna
 11/30/2010 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tttony
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/10/2008

Hi, I have a Phenom II X4 940 stock with QnQ enabled and Scythe Katana III cooler

But I don't know why Speed Fan, Everest and AOD show me that the processor it's 75°, it's a sensor bug??


http://s2.subirimagenes.com/imagen/5586436temps.png

EDIT: the MOBO is a FOXCONN A7GM-S 2.0

-------------------------
well i dont think that you want to know what pc i have because is: P4, yes i have P4

xD

Edited: 11/30/2010 at 11:00 PM by tttony
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information