Increase font size
Topic Title: Guide to Setting Up Servers/Small LANs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/13/2004 03:24 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/13/2004 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voodoo3300

Hello there;

I am a system administrator for a 400 machine network and would like to think i know quite a bit about setting up network servers (if you may be thinking of it); which believe me is very easy, and a small LAN to go with it; perhaps for the home (lan parties) or the office.

Anway, i am only going to do a short guide. If anyone has any additions, queries etc please email.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First lets think about system specs; i am going to base this setup around a server using windows 2000 (standard ship) with 5 licenses, which is the default shrink wrap. For this sort of setup i would recommend a specification around here: -

K6-2 500 or Celeron 450, 256Mb (at least, the more memory the better under 2K server), 10Gb Hard drive, 10/100Mb PCI network card or 802.11b, fast cd-rom, backup device.

>I would recommend putting in as much memory as possible for this situation as windows 2000 server loves the stuff, the more you give the more it wants.
>On the HD side i would recommend something like my setup, say a fast 10Gb SCSI boot drive, and then a slow storage drive (80Gb perhaps)
>For backup anything above a Zip 250 will be fine for backing up work, but i use a 4Gb DDS 2 tape drive)

I normally run a setup in the following manner:

Build server setup and Burn in using DOS based tools.

Install Windows 2000 Server using the boot cd supplied ...

> turn on your machine and just as it does open the cd drive and pop in the windows 2000 server CD. (make sure boot from cd is specified)