Locked Topic Locked
Topic Title: Using more than 2GB of RAM with 32-bit Windows
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/09/2008 04:49 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/09/2008 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang

I compiled the following info based on my own experience troubleshooting what I initially thought was a memory problem, but what turned out to be just how a 32-bit operating system works. I'm no expert on memory, hardware, or operating system architectures, so if I've made a bad assumption or phrased something incorrectly, I'd appreciate a correction.

Thanks to PorscheRacer for his clarification of Vista memory limits
Thanks to nytrousboy for the PAE Memory and Windows link (pulled from another thread)

--

Both Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista 32-bit operating systems are limited to a 4GB total address space. That's not an artificial limit chosen by Microsoft, it's the nature of binary numbers. (You can determine the total address space available in any binary digital system by raising 2 to the bits power. For example, 2^32bits = 4,294,967,296 bits = 4GB.) Of that 4GB total address space, 2GB are directly available to the user, while up to 2GB are reserved by Windows. Note that the memory itself isn't being used, just the address space, but if you're excluded from the address space, you're excluded from the physical memory as well.

The reserved 2GB of memory are used to map...
  • System BIOS (including motherboard, add-on cards, etc..)
  • Motherboard resources
  • Memory mapped I/O
  • Configuration for AGP/PCI-Ex/PCI
  • Other memory allocations for PCI devices