AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: ATI Catalyst query
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/08/2008 08:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2008 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tiger_greeneyes
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/08/2008

Hi everyone

This is my first post so I'm hoping I chose the right section for it.

I've just rebuilt my laptop (Vista Home Premium, 32bit) and have received the following message:

"A newer version of this software is available for download that addresses this problem. Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. recommends updating to take advantage of security and stability improvements.

Go online to the following website to update ATI Catalyst:"


I've spent the last hour or so trying to find out which download I need because the message wasn't that specific - I haven't been able to find out which ATI Catalyst version I have. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction as to how I find out?

Many thanks
 11/08/2008 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Open CCC (Catalyst Control Center) and check in the "Information Center" tab under "Graphics Software"

There should be one line that contains something like this:

Catalyst® Version 0X.XX

That will tell you what version you have installed.

Then, to find the new driver you just go to http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.HTML and select the appropriate set of drivers, download and install.

Or, go to your laptop manufacturer and see if they have a newer set of drivers on their support site. Sometimes the official mobility drivers doesn't work with all laptop configurations.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 11/08/2008 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tiger_greeneyes
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/08/2008

Thank you for your reply - it's the HD3 series, I've managed to download and install with no problem at all.

You're a star
 11/11/2008 12:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

The driver is the same. It doesn't really matter what card you select (only the OS and x86/x64).

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 11/11/2008 06:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tiger_greeneyes
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/08/2008

Thank you for that, it's good to know. I'm not really up on this side of things as you can probably guess!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information