AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Does the 6-pin pci-e to 8-pin pci-e adapter provide a good solution if your psu doesn't have an 8-pin connector?
Topic Summary: Planning on purchasing a GTX 280 but psu doesn't have the 8-pin power connector; will an adapter be a safe solution?
Created On: 11/09/2008 05:20 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2008 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MRCS_1969
Fanboi

Posts: 87
Joined: 01/20/2008

I was planning on purchasing a GTX 280 but my psu doesn't have the 8-pin power connector. I found an adapter that converts one of your 6-pin connectors to an 8-pin. I have the required watts and ampherage on combined 12V rails. I heard of rumors that it is possible that you could burn out your power supply if you use an adapter. I'm just a wary buyer who doesn't want to fork out over $400+ on a gpu and later to find out that I have to replace a burnt out power supply. Can someone confirm this; the adapter is from this website link:

http://www.performance-pcs.com...186&products_id=21721

On a side note:

I plan to use the GTX 280 with a 600W power supply with combined 12V rails rating of 40A supplemented with a 350W power booster that is dedicated to my cpu. I just purchased the psu about 5 months ago and hoped to keep it for another 6 months or so in order to save up to sli the GTX 280. In short, buying a 1200W psu when the GTX 280's prices drop even further.
 11/09/2008 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Adam F
Senior Member

Posts: 1093
Joined: 01/11/2008

adapter isn't the problem. Its the power hungry 280 GTX that's the killer. Lot of PSU,s rated at the power needs or not don't always make the cut. People don't realize that the rating is based on Peak and most PSU,s have a performance reliability rating of 75% to 80% so they WILL NEVER hit peak with out tripping.

IF you use the adapter, just cover your basis and overshoot the 280 GTX power needs by 30% and you will be fine.

I had to use 2 PSU,s in parallel, made to run as 1 totaling 1110 watts and 59 amps on 3 12+ rails just to power my system. When I ran it with a enermax 680 watt PSU with 41 amps on dual 12+ rails it would trip and shut down cold turkey after 15 to 20 min of gaming. The load was just to much for it. Your 280 GTX will draw even more power lol.

My recommendations is just make sure your at least 45 amps on the 12+ rails. At the very least.
 11/09/2008 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

The 2 extra pins are just grounds.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 11/11/2008 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

No...they're not gorunds.
6-pin is paired as YKYKYK and 8-pin is as YKYKYKYK.
6 to 8 is fine...no problem there. But don't try a standard HDD connector to 6-pin to 8-pin because the current will be way too high for one wire and the fire could be...fired.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 11/11/2008 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

If you look on the psu's that have a 6pin +2 to make 8pin, the +2 are grounds. Meaning the only difference is that the additional 2 pins are grounds, so there are 3 powers and 5 grounds

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 11/11/2008 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Wierd... it's illogical to have 5 grounds for 3 wires.
I do use this type of 8-pin connector and it's 4 power (yellow) and 4 grounds (black).

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 11/11/2008 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

There are 2 types of 8 pin connectors. theres the 8pin PCIE and 8pin 12VATX Motherboard plug. I believe the ATX has a 4 power 4 ground. Currrently in one of my machines i have my 2900XT Rigged up with 2 6pin pcie plugs and then the other 2 pins i have grounded out and it allows me to enable Overdrive.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information