AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Problems installing Sata II Harddrive
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/12/2008 05:43 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/12/2008 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nickedit
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/12/2008

Hey all,

I am having real problems getting my New 'Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200RPM SATA II 32MB NCQ 3Gb/s HDD' working.

I am trying to install it in a new computer which has a Gigabyte S-series Motherboard, GA-MA78GM-S2H.

So far i tried to install it, couldnt get it working so i plugged it into another PC i had, installed Windows XP and all the driver while in windows thinking that would somehow solve the problem, which it didn't.

I then plugged it back into the new PC and tried to install the AMD SB700 SATA driver off a floppy disc by pressing F6 while windows install was starting. The driver was on the CD the motherboard came with.

It did install the driver but once that finished it gives me a blue screen saying: STOP: 0X0000007B (0XF79E4524, 0XC0000034, 0X00000000, 0X00000000)

If anyone could help i would really appreciate it. I am about ready to pull my hair out, or even worse, pay someone to do it.


Thank

Nick
 11/12/2008 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Got the same mobo for my daughter and strangely enough a seagate 7200.10 drive.

I had to go into the bios and change the sata controller to Native ide mode and then i could install XP easy as pie.
 11/12/2008 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

these things are new foolproof to install and there are no need to install driver when installing unless its running in Raid. You may have got a HDD DOA.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 11/12/2008 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nickedit
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/12/2008

Hmmmm, It came up saying NTLDR is Missing.

Should i just reinstall windows?
 11/12/2008 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

If i recall NTDLR is the sata driver, what version of xp are you installing, SP1, 2 or 3. A fresh install would be best its never a good idea to install on one system and then try and transfer the HDD.

Make sure you have a floppy drive and disc and copy the Sata drivers from the motherboard disc onto the floppy and then hit F6 when prompted during the XP install, then their will be further prompts to allow you to install the sata driver.
 11/12/2008 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nickedit
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/12/2008

SP2, Yeah i will run a fresh install and make sure to install the Sata drivers at the same time.

Thanks.

Ah formatting a 1TB hdd, this always takes awhile
 11/12/2008 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Actually not sure if it is the sata driver look at this from MS.

I would still do a fresh install if i were you.

Yeh tell me about how long it takes to format,i have two 750gb in raid and they took an age to format, plus i had a problem with one and formated no less than 6 times until i found out it was a dud.
 11/12/2008 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nickedit
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/12/2008

Haha, that would have made me go crazy.

Right well ill run post back in an hour or two when this is all done.

Thanks for your help.
 11/12/2008 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hi there,

This is the same problem that affected SB600, its a known issue when you have a SATA optical drive and SATA HDD, the controller identifies both as being the Boot drive, so you get so far into the install, then it starts mixing up the 2 different drives (Optical and HDD) which causes the install to fail, giving you the BSOD.

Setting the SATA controller to IDE mode, sometimes works, sometimes it doesn't, if you want to use the HDD in AHCI mode, then you'll have to install the SATA Controller driver, during OS install, only if you use IDE mode, is there no need to install the SATA Controller driver at the F6 prompt.

The SATA drivers on the mobo CD, normally need to be extracted to a floppy before you can install them, though if installing Vista (not sure about XP) then you can also use a USB stick, and download the drivers and save them to a USB stick, then during OS install simply plug in the USB stick and browse to the driver files.

The best thing to do (if you have one) is to use an IDE Optical drive, this removes the Optical Drive from the SATA controller completely, in fact if you want a RAID setup this is the only way of getting it work, that I found, it would not allow a SATA Optical Drive at the same time as SATA HDD's using RAID/AHCI, using SATA in IDE mode, got it to install, but Windows would frequently drop the Optical Drive, and also gave reduced HDD performance.

In the end I prioritised the HDD's which are far more important and used more often than an optical drive is.

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 11/12/2008 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nickedit
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/12/2008

Hey,

The fresh install in windows while using the HDD in IDE did the trick. All up and running fine.

Thanks for your help everyone.
 11/13/2008 01:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

0X0000007B = Innaccesible Boot Device
That means that the BIOS can't correctly read the boot sectors.

IDE mode does the trick, but you should find the correct SATA driver and install the OS with the HDD in SATA mode.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information