AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Undervolting
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2009 03:00 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2009 03:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

Will undervolting cause me to loose performance.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=235824

According to this undervolting makes it run cooler with no performance loss.
Is this true?

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/18/2009 03:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yea, no performance loss, so long as its stable.

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 01/18/2009 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

Oh that is pretty cool I'm going to try it when I get time.
Theres an option, locking cpu at full throttle. Okay is that like overclocking and will that harm my cpu.

Anybody who has underclocked please share thier expirences with me.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/18/2009 04:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

If your trying to find the lowest useable, stable, voltage treat as you were overclocking, take your voltage down a hair let it run something like orthos/prime with multi core support try it for a few hours if it does ok, try a bit lower voltage.

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 01/18/2009 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

So if there is no performance decrease how come you guys don't do it.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/18/2009 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

because im overclocked and im running at the lowest voltage its stable at. As for others, perhaps its just to time consuming.

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 01/18/2009 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

I' ve undervolted my 5200+ from 1.325 to 1.2 v, I think I can go furhter but it is stable as it is and I'm happy with it. I did it to lower my temps, which went from 75ºC to 60ºC full load. Pay attention to stability, since it's the only thing that can be affected. As monte84 said, lower the voltage a bit and test for stability, if you reach a point in which the system is unstable, raise the voltage again and test further for stability (more time).
 01/18/2009 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

SH, but do you loose performance on gaming?

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/18/2009 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD-4-LIFE
Member

Posts: 103
Joined: 11/09/2008

Just remember to turn your bathroom lights off and there will be no need to undervolt!!

-------------------------
Phenom II 940 Coolermaster 212
M3A78-EM
8GB DDR2 800 mhz OCZ VU
Sapphire 4850
Code Name: Baby Dragon
 01/18/2009 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

Nope, the same performance, since the frequency remains the same.
 01/18/2009 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

So this is good.
undervolting=same performance= cooler temperatures

Sweeeeeet.
Anybody successfully Underclock. If you have time can you post on how you did it,

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/20/2009 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Heffy
Case Modder

Posts: 625
Joined: 03/06/2008

I've undervolted mine (6400+ at 1,25V) with Ai Booster, which came with the motherboard. Unfortunately, it's made by ASUS for ASUS motherboards, so - not for everyone.

Of course you have other software, such as RMClock (which is free, by the way). You can download it from here :

http://cpu.rightmark.org/products/rmclock.shtml

Also, some BIOSes allow you to change the voltage directly.

If you want a nice guide on "how-to-do-it-yourself", here's one:

http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums...g-your-processor.html

As to underclocking, it's done with the same tools (AiBooster, for example) or directly from the BIOS. You can do it by reducing either the multiplier or the FSB speed. Personally, I'd recommend changing the first one.
Of course, by doing this, you'll loose performance. I did it during the summer, when the thermometer went a bit too high. It didn't lower the CPU's temperature a lot, but at least prevented it from crossing the red line...
 01/20/2009 09:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

Since I play games can I just leave a profile for gaming, and a profile for well the undervolt when I dont play games.

According to the article performance is not decreased.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/20/2009 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Heffy
Case Modder

Posts: 625
Joined: 03/06/2008

Well, AiGear does what you're mentioning (it has to be done manually, each time, though). But once again - ASUS. I haven't inquired yet for an alternative, since I don't use it.
 01/20/2009 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

lol, Iam using a laptop and I have a 'dell motherboard'
When I get the time I'm going to try to underclock my two laptops.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
 01/20/2009 11:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
weinter
Deprecated

Posts: 321
Joined: 11/08/2008

Originally posted by: monte84

because im overclocked [IMG][/IMG] and im running at the lowest voltage its stable at. As for others, perhaps its just to time consuming.


The default voltage setting is factory determined by AMD and it is the Average Voltage for Stable operating of all the chips with certain level of deviation
So for individual chips the ability to undervolt more is still possible
AMD do not test individual chip lowest voltage capability too tedious and makes it expensive

-------------------------
Acer Aspire 4530
AMD Turion X2 2.1GHZ RM-72 1MB L2 Cache
4GB DDR2 667MHZ
NVIDIA 9100M G
320GB WD BEKT
http://aspiregemstone.blogspot.com/
 01/20/2009 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

yeah, every CPU is different. I have one of the rare gems of FX-60's that overclocks and undervolts like mad. I've been overclocked to 2.8GHz and undervolted to 1.31 volts and never had a hiccup at all. Now, the 4200+ I had in before this needed voltage as soon as I went near 207MHz reference clocks.

Undervolting and overclocking both require the same amount of time and testing. Personally, the most I would go is .05 volts with your laptop CPU. Laptop CPUs are already low voltage, and going too low can damage the gates just as putting too much voltage can damage them. Then again, every CPU and setup is different.

Cleaning your fans out will also help in reducing voltage. The cooler the CPU runs, the less voltage it will use or require.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 01/21/2009 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

I would be surprised to find a laptop motherboard that let you undervolt or overclock.

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 01/21/2009 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

True, and those windows utilities that try to do that aren't reliable.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 01/21/2009 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PCMIKE09
Senior Member

Posts: 253
Joined: 01/10/2009

Porsche
I dont have the options in my bios nor do I think standard laptops have.
I will try to undervolt with rm clock. And what do you mean it will damage gates. Gates?
And wouldn't this prolong the life. Lower voltage equals lower temp which equals less usage which should equal longer life expectancy.
Whats the average life of a laptop.

-------------------------
Dell Studio 15 Hp dv6000
Intel C2duo t5800 2.0ghz Amd Turion tl-50 x2 1.6ghz
3gb 800mhz ram 2gb 667mhz ram
Ati Mobility Radeon hd 3450 256mb Nvidia geforce go 6150
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » Undervolting

1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information