AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Your Audio setup
Topic Summary: Cards/Speakers/Headphones
Created On: 02/24/2009 04:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/24/2009 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

Was just kind of curious as to you all's setup. What sound card, headphones or speakes, 2.1 5.1 etc. And any oppinions. I am using Auzentech X-Plosion loved the sound quality on it. Switched to headphones after i borrowed a friend of mines Sennheiser phones and was playing call of duty 2 at a lan party. Heard and experienced so much more. As opposed to my 5.1 setup. Ordered some AKG K601 for myself should get to test those out within the week.

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300

Edited: 02/27/2009 at 03:39 PM by AMD Processors Moderator
 02/24/2009 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

I hate, absolutly hate headphones!

My setup:
HT|Omega Striker 7.1
Logitech z5450 5.1 Suround System

The speakers are a few years old, but they're still just as good as the z5500 except for the wireless rears, which i prefer tbh.

Combine the two, the sound card and the speaks, I'm sorry, it's just beautiful, Creatives X-Fi can take a hike, lol.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/24/2009 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

I use a set of Logitech Z10's as my main speakers which leaves my onboard sound card free for me to connect my headphones and mic to for Teamspeak and have my game sounds through the speakers.

My living room setup comprises of a set of mission M72i cinema speakers, a Yamaha HTR-5540RDS av receiver and an Aegis Evo Sub.
 02/24/2009 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

X-Fi Titanium plus a cheaper set of 5.1 Logitech speakers, X-540, that do get the job done. I'd wish I could afford sick speakers...
I'm very happy with my combo tho... I used to be a Creative hater, but this Titanium simply works for me. Great quality.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 02/24/2009 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

X-Fi ExtremeMusic PCI Sound Card
Klipsch Promedia GMX 2.1 System

The above speakers look a bit weird, but they sound very nice. I've had them a few years, and it's not surround sound, but it's never left me wanting.

As for as headphones...I agree I'm not a huge fan. BUT BUT BUT, the best I have ever used were my Icemats. Truly amazing headphones, comfortable(for the first hour or so anyway), comform to your head, sound truly spectacular. Well worth the price.

And it sounds like my next sound card is going to be what Lobster has, based off of his experience and it's price.

Cool thread idea

EDIT:

Heck. My secondary computer, the Prescott, is using a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card with Logitech X-230's. My POS family PC, the Venice, is using the Turtle Beach Catalina with Logitech X-230's. The sound cards were a great value at the time, and the Logitech X-230's aren't amazing, but the price was. Overall pretty satisfied.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!

Edited: 02/24/2009 at 06:40 PM by technic58
 02/24/2009 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: axy1985
I used to be a Creative hater, but this Titanium simply works for me. Great quality.


Obviously you havn't witnessed the power of the Dark Side yet!




-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/24/2009 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

I have my beef with creative as wel, thats when I found Auzentech. Only difference between the striker and x-plosion is swappable opamps on the auzentech cards. I must admit auzentech's X-Fi's do look kind f tempting, the support DDL and DTS Encoding (YES encoding just like the striker/x-plosion) But creative drivers drove me away. I prefer headphones for game, i can hear whats around me better and I dont shake the house with explosions and gun shots on my 5.1. My 5.1 is powered by a Pioneer VSX-816, 4 sony bookshelf and center(nothing spectacular but sound pretty good) and a Klipsh 12in 650watt sub. I plan on changing my opamp on my x-plosion for some OPA627's suppsedly it really makes a difference from what I have read (note: opamp's only are for analog connections). I prefer the sound of analog over digital, although digital seems louder, but thats what these opamps re supposed to help with from what I read, plus my headphones are going to be 120Ohm. Im stoked.

Those Promedias do sound very good, heard them before, aunt has them. Nice little penny for them to.

Auzentech X-Plosion

AKG K-601

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/24/2009 07:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

yeap, opamps apply only to analog connections, so swapability wasn't a concern of mine, what drove me away from auzentech is when I started poking around the web, I saw a lot of people complaining about small things, and all those small things seemed like the same problems I was having with my X-Fi, so I abandoned that Idea.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/24/2009 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

My main PC is similar to magdary's....well I did recommend them to him....... Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers, with built in hardware decoding, leaving the onboard sound for headphones/mic..not that I ever use them...not much one for online gaming, and for music I actually prefer stereo, rather than surround sound, just old fashioned in that respect I guess, but DVD's and movies are a different story, I can't get to the cinema now, so I really like to have a cinema feel to DVD movies..!!

My HTPC in the living room, has the Logitech Z-5500 505W 5.1 surround system, connected via Optical S/PDIF, with built in hardware decoding for Dolby Digital, DTS, DTS 96/24 PCM, Pro-Logic II, and THX certified, it removes the need of an add-on sound card completely, which is what I really like about it, don't want to be paying £200 for speakers, only to have to be paying another £100+ for a sound card..!! Specs listed are 187W Sub, and I think its about 60W each for the other speakers...!! Best sound I've ever heard for the price and an all-in-one kit, much...MUCH...better than the 300W DVD 5.1 surround I used to have..... I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them...!!!

Of course the neighbours will probably take you off their Xmas Card list..... Oh and you'll want to make sure that all fixtures and fittings are tightly secured to the wall....I'm not kidding either, my wall mirror rattled and vibrated so much that I take it down now when I put a good DVD on...!! IL will vouch for that with his Z-5450's I bet its the same for him..

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 02/24/2009 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

I dont see what those problems could be, i know 3 other people with the same card, no issues,except when vista first came out. But that is now fixed and OpenAL supported with a direct-x to openal wrapper for older games in vista. The X-Plosion and Striker use the same driver, which is developed by c-media, using the CMI8770 chipset. my x-plosion is not the cinema however. The cinema comes with improved opamps. I was interested in swappable opamps which is why i chose the x-plosion, for these headphones, which are $200-$300 range, i need a good source ouput,so come payday, new opamp. But yeah, the striker is good to, essential the same. I hear people complain saying they dont support past EAX2, but how many games actually take advatage of EAX anyway? Not as many as creative likes to suggest. I would like the X-Meridian, r HT Omega Claro, i hear they have some nice dolby headphones features. But its $$$$

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/24/2009 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: kazgirl

IL will vouch for that with his Z-5450's I bet its the same for him..


Ummm...I've got the sub turned all the way down, and I'm still knocking crap off the walls, unfortunatly, since I live in a condo, I'm trying to think critically of my neighbors, so I've got it as low as it'll go....and it's still scary.


Kaz, digital audio via onboard is still horrible in comparison to an add in card, I know, that reasonable thinking says it shouldn't be, but I notice a distinct difference between onboard and my X-fi, as well as between my X-Fi and my Striker. not sure if it has something to do with pre and post processing or what, but there is a distinct difference.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/24/2009 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: monte84

I dont see what those problems could be, i know 3 other people with the same card, no issues,except when vista first came out. But that is now fixed and OpenAL supported with a direct-x to openal wrapper for older games in vista. The X-Plosion and Striker use the same driver, which is developed by c-media, using the CMI8770 chipset. my x-plosion is not the cinema however. The cinema comes with improved opamps. I was interested in swappable opamps which is why i chose the x-plosion, for these headphones, which are $200-$300 range, i need a good source ouput,so come payday, new opamp. But yeah, the striker is good to, essential the same. I hear people complain saying they dont support past EAX2, but how many games actually take advatage of EAX anyway? Not as many as creative likes to suggest. I would like the X-Meridian, r HT Omega Claro, i hear they have some nice dolby headphones features. But its $$$$



Stuttering, freezes, crashes, etc etc.

but yeah, it's not nearly as frequent as Creatives issues. One noticable improvment, is that my system boots soooooooooooo much faster without the creative driver pack.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/24/2009 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

Also, Kazgirl, if you dont have a soundcard that encodes your audio to either DTS or Dolby, then your stuck with Dolby ProLOgic or DTS Neo, which IMO sucks, especially for games, as center channel sounds will be missing. Like a gun shot, very annoying. The encoded audio sounds much better.

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/24/2009 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
krado
Case Modder

Posts: 1714
Joined: 10/06/2003

Technics RP-F550, Beyerdynamic DJX-1, Denon C351.

And a really rubbish Altec Lansing VS2420.

And fully utilizing the onboard audio of the M3A78-EM.

God I wished I mad more money. :/

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

"Rules do not bend for you. You bend for the rules."
 02/24/2009 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Originally posted by: monte84

Also, Kazgirl, if you dont have a soundcard that encodes your audio to either DTS or Dolby, then your stuck with Dolby ProLOgic or DTS Neo, which IMO sucks, especially for games, as center channel sounds will be missing. Like a gun shot, very annoying. The encoded audio sounds much better.


No thats the point I was making the Z-5500's have built in hardware encoding, it does the encoding of audio and it does output Dolby Digital 5.1, Dolby Digital DTS, etc...!!

It even displays the output thats being used on the Control station, when its outputting Dolby Digital, it says Dolby Digital, if it's outputting in Pro-Logic it say s Pro-Logic on the display and trust me the difference between Pro-Logic and Dolby Digital is distinctively noticeable..... I'm bot talking a small difference I mean there's a huge difference....!!!

The Z-5500's essentially do the encoding/decoding that the sound card does.... no offence Monte, but ask IL... even though there may be a difference with a soundcard, that the Z-5500's and the Z-5450's as well.... do not NEED a soundcard to output FULL Dolby Digital...

Perhaps I'm mistaken, but I think hwat your saying is that without a soundcard, then I'll only be getting Dolby Pro-Logic.... and well to be blunt thats nonsense..!!!

I think your thinking of cheaper 5.1 speaker sets, that don't have hardware encoding built in, like the Logitech X-540's etc, they do indeed have to be connected to a soundcard, as they have no encoding hardware.

The Z-5500's and the Z-5450's have got hardware encoding built in....essentially they have their own soundcards that process the audio encoding built in...!!

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 02/24/2009 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

no offense taken, just your previous post did not mention encoding, only decoding, hence my statement.

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/24/2009 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

She's right, but the post processing still helps a lot, and Microsoft by defualt outputs a PCM stream, if I'm not mistaken, which our speaker systems then convert using Dolby Pro Logic, when you output in Dolby, or DTS, the speakers then really come alive, I kid you not.

The speaker systems still only decode and encode a bit stream, the bitstream varies on processing, so even a nice sound card will net you better digital sound than onboard, trust me, I know, I noticed a huuuge difference.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/24/2009 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

Wow, Krado, your still around, cool. Been awhile, so I take it your a headphones guy eh? I wish you had a dedicated sound card to offer a comparison. How do you like the beyerdynamic phones?

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/24/2009 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

So it just encodes to Prologic then and Not Dolby Digital?

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/24/2009 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

No it encodes to Dolby Digital, what IL is talking about is standard PC speakers, when he says that MS outputs a PCM stream, that is the stream that is usually encoded by onbaord sound and is then fed via the analog 5.1 ports.... to standard speakers that have no hardware encoding..!!!

But what I'm talking about is the digital output via Optical S/PDIF, that outputs using a digital feed, that digital feed is then passed to the hardware encoding in the speakers which then encodes/decodes to full Dolby Digital, DTS etc...!!

At least I think thats what IL is saying... I might be wrong...!!

EDIT: To take it a bit further...

You have onbaord Sound with analog outs (3.5mm jacks) and digital outs (Optical/Co-axial)

Audio bitstream is passed to the onboard audio and is encoded/decoded depending on the connection you have it configured for, so if you have speakers connected via the analog ports(3.5mm jacks) the onboard sound converts it accordingly before outputting the relevant channels to the appropriate analog ports (FL/FR/RL/RR/Ctr/Sub), but if your speakers have a digital connection and are connected to the PC via the Digital Outs (Optical/Co-axial) then the onboard sound outputs a digital feed....

With the Z-5500 and Z-5450's this go's a step further, as the Digital feed is then fed to a 2nd level of Encoding/decoding hardware (essentially a soundcard) in the speakers control station, which then encodes/decodes it further using its own hardware encoding before outputting it to the relevant speaker channels...!!!

But what IL is I think saying... is that with a quality Soundcard in the PC, and speakers with digital connections (co-axial/optical) connected to this rather than the onboard sound, that there is an added level of hardware encoding that takes place before the audio feed is output to the hardware encoders of the speakers, which makes sound quality that much better than the digital feed that is output by onboard sound encoding/decoding....

I think thats right...??????

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide

Edited: 02/24/2009 at 08:30 PM by kazgirl
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » Your Audio setup

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information