AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: SSE4a and SSE4.1
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/26/2009 07:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/26/2009 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

I've read SSE4a (supported by K10 and K10.5 AMD CPUs) is nothing to do with SSE4.1 (supported by Intel 45nm CPUs), right?
Now, wich applications make use of SSE4.1? Will those applications perform better on an Intel CPU just because they support it? Will future AMD CPUs support SSE4.1?
 02/26/2009 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: SH

I've read SSE4a (supported by K10 and K10.5 AMD CPUs) is nothing to do with SSE4.1 (supported by Intel 45nm CPUs), right?


Correct. You can see the list of SSE4.1/SSE4a instructions here and see what instructions go with which processor.

Now, wich applications make use of SSE4.1?


Right now, very few. Some encoding programs have beta support for it, though. If you compile your own code, you can compile SSE4.1, SSE4A, or SSE4.2 support.

Will those applications perform better on an Intel CPU just because they support it?


From what I've seen, yes, to some degree.

Will future AMD CPUs support SSE4.1?


I don't know.

-------------------------
 02/26/2009 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

Isn't AMD working on SSE5?

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 02/27/2009 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Supposedly they are but there are no currently-shipping products that use SSE5.

-------------------------
 02/28/2009 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD_phenom_x2
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 02/11/2009

If I'm not wrong, AMD ditched SSE5 for something totally different. I think the reason for this was sake of Intel's AVX instructions which will be integrated unto Westmere/SandyBridge family of CPUs.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information