AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: My GPU Overheat!
Topic Summary: When the game started..
Created On: 07/13/2009 11:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/13/2009 11:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Hello all.. wazzup! I've a serious problem here, my GPU always overheat when i started to play games (of course is 3D games), only GPU overheat, other hardwares are very normal, when my GPU goes to 90c, my pc will crash, screen goes dark, and lagging sound, duhh..

My game graphic setting are always high or very high, even tho low or very low, it will still overheat (WTH?), anyone can share with me how to fix this problem? Thank you.

My GPU
http://www.gecube.com/products...d_cat=14&prod_id=69079

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/13/2009 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

What power supply are you using? Also your motherboard and other parts? CPU?

Have you looked inside your computer case at all? There might be a serious dust buildup that could be causing your fan to fail or just clogging up your GPU's heatsinks or something too.

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 07/13/2009 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Im going to shoot off a theory here...
Your PSU is barly able to handle your setup. And with added heat on top of stressing your system, electronic resistance goes up as it tends to when tempratures raise. This in turn ammounts to more heat output which causes a runaway effect that causes your computer to begin nuclear fission, at which point your computer crashes, stopping the process... Until it is reinitated by a button press.

Other things...
Probably incompatable software\hardware combo.
Are you overclocked?
Please list your specs, help me help you!

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/14/2009 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Thanks for the reply, my GPU don't have much dust on it, below is my system spec:-

CPU Type: QuadCore AMD Phenom X4 9550, 2200 MHz (11 x 200)
Motherboard Name: MSI K9A2 Platinum (MS-7376)
Motherboard Chipset: AMD 790FX, AMD K10
System Memory: 2048 MB Kingston KTC1G-UDIMM Twin 1 GB DDR2-800 DDR2
3D Accelerator: GeCube ATI Radeon HD 3870 (RV670)
PSU: Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 460w

No clock or overclock, normal speed.
Every hardwares driver are latest updated and also BIOS.

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/14/2009 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Change that PSU bud, 460w is cutting it really close. I recomend at least a quality 550w. It would be better though to get you a good 700w or better to give you some headroom fo future upgrades.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/14/2009 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arsenic
Deprecated

Posts: 257
Joined: 04/19/2009

700W is a really not necessary for a system that won't even touch 400W and I doubt the PSU causes the Problem.

DcSK, do you have any extra fans in your case?
Did the card always overheat (since you got it) or is this problem new?
What happens, if you let the side of your case open?

-------------------------
Phenom II 940 @3.40GHz 1,35V|Xigmatek HDT-SD964|Foxconn A79A-S|4GB Kingston HyperX 1066 CL5 2.0V|Sapphire HD4830 512MB|Sharkoon Avenger|LC6600GP2 600W
http://www.sysprofile.de/id99196
 07/14/2009 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: Arsenic

700W is a really not necessary for a system that won't even touch 400W and I doubt the PSU causes the Problem.



DcSK, do you have any extra fans in your case?

Did the card always overheat (since you got it) or is this problem new?

What happens, if you let the side of your case open?


Completely agree with him on this one. Don't think its PSU.

So tell us the speed of the on board cooler and has it been removed or changed in any way shape or form. Is it still running its default fan speeds or have you tried to bump the fan speeds at all?

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/14/2009 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Can't remember when this thing start, how if since i got it? OMG its too late, the GPU is more than 1 year.. My normal temp for GPU is around 60c(wonder if its normal?), when i start to play game, it takes 1~5 minutes to shoot up 90c, if i alt-tab in the game or pause, then the temp will start to drop, only will increase during games, if normal in windows do whatever, it's fine.

My CPU case, left & right always open and no extra fan on case or on board, 2 fans only (Processor & GPU).

How to determine the fan speed? And I didn't change anything.

Now my GPU keep overheat while play games, does my Processor/ Motherboard/ Ram/ HDD/ PSU affect it? or is just my GPU problem?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/14/2009 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Originally posted by: Charlie22911

Change that PSU bud, 460w is cutting it really close. I recomend at least a quality 550w. It would be better though to get you a good 700w or better to give you some headroom fo future upgrades.


The machine in my specs runs at 370 watts total at load (minus the 20% efficiency loss, my pc is consuming 296 watts at load) and that includes my 28 inch monitor (from my UPS), so I highly doubt his power supply's the problem

What I would do is try an older or newer version of the video driver. If the problem still persists, I'd pin it on the hardware, specifically the GPU itself.

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/15/2009 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Just because it will run it doesn't mean it is wise. PSUs tend to preform at peak efficiency when loaded around the 50% mark.
While he may not need 700 watts, it gives a nice amount of headroom to upgrade and overclock should he choose to do so versus having to upgrade the PSU along with any other additions\modifications.
You also have to consider the size of the 12v rail, which is not going to be very big on allot of your ~450w range power supplies for use in his kind of system.
You can get a 3Mw PSU but if it can only crank out 90w in 12v current what use is it?

EDIT:

To further push my point, his PSU is dual rail, 2x 18a @ 12v which comes out to ~216w per rail, 432w total for 12v alone. Now that leaves 28w for the other rails if specs are to be trusted.

Either way you slice it his PSU is not cut out for the task at hand, and we havent even begun to talk about things that pull from other rails such as buses, pci devices, ram, drives, fans etc.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500

Edited: 07/15/2009 at 01:21 AM by Charlie22911
 07/15/2009 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

What should i do now? change PSU? or change GPU? I don't have so much money to buy and test whats wrong..

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/15/2009 03:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Have you tried using GPU-Z to monitor the speed of your gpu fan.

If it isnt running as it should you can use Riva Tuner to crank up its speed.

Download GPU-Z and report back.
 07/15/2009 05:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Ya, i have tried GPU-Z, normal speed 40%+, when i run games, hmm? around 50%~60%, is that normal?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/15/2009 05:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Those fans speeds look about right (not owned a 3870 so can't speak from experience).

I'm surprised its over heating so much with 60% fan speed though, I would download riva tuner and manually set the fan speed to 100% and see what results you get. Could be quite noisy though but at least it will prove a point.

Riva tuner
 07/15/2009 05:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

100%? will the fan fly out from the GPU? im scare..

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/15/2009 07:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Your card suppose to be properly cooled with at most 30% fan speed. Since that's not the case it's either a problem with the thermal transfer between the GPU and the cooler or, as someone else indicated, unstable PSU (the first one is more probable tho').

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 07/15/2009 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

If it's PSU cause the problem, why only GPU overheat? and not all components overheat together?

Edited:

I've use Riva Tuner to change the speed of fan to 100%, the temp still going up to 82c, it can still go up to more than 82c, i dont want to crash my system again, so i quit the game at 82%

What is the normal temp for GPU while playing games?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain

Edited: 07/15/2009 at 12:25 PM by DcSK
 07/15/2009 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

90°C is not overheating for that GPU, my HD 4850 and my x1950 reached those tempratures on a regular basis, espically when folding on them.

Try this, download the latest version of OCCT and run the powersupply stress test. While you run that look at your voltages, if it completes a test, post the graphs it creates here. Those graphs can give quite a bit of insight as to whats going on.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/15/2009 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Ok thanks, its in my download pending list now, which one should i test?

~3 different test types
-CPU = no RAM tested, alot of heat generated on the CPU, errors are usually CPU-centered
-RAM = Maximum error detection, tests the whole chain CPU-Chipset-Memory
?Mix = CPU and RAM alternated

~3 tests modes
-Auto = 1h long Mix test
-Custom (Infinite) = Infinite loop of the test type of your choice
-Custom (fixed) = A test of the type of your choice, and of a duration of your choice

~Integrated monitoring and System information thanks to CPU-Z and HWmonitor engine
~External Monitoring Program support through plugins (Everest, Speedfan, and many more)
~Graph output showing temperatures and voltages of your computer

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/15/2009 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

When you open OCCT on the left you will see several test types, just pick power supply, using auto for test type will take around 1 hour. After its done it will generate graphs for which you can upload to an image hosting site and post here.

Will be waiting for your results .

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » My GPU Overheat!

1 2 3 4 5 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information