AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: My GPU Overheat!
Topic Summary: When the game started..
Created On: 07/13/2009 11:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/15/2009 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Here the result, only 18min, why 18min? the story begin.. first, 0~16min, i never realise the OCCT windows is deactive at background, mean other windows is active in front, so i keep on view the GPU temp when up and down, up and down look fine, wont crash, after 16min only i know the windows is deactive at the background so not full usage for the GPU, then i active the windows then the temp start to shoot up to 88c then i abort it instead of letting it crash

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/2917/gpun.png

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/16/2009 03:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Ok, do this for me, do a full run, just let her go.

I want to do this for several reasons. I could point out if it's a game(s) you are trying to run, or if its power related, or temperature related. 88c while hot is fine for your card, as GPUs naturally run hotter. Mine breaks 90c regularly.

When you do a full 1hour run it will do a 1 minute idle monitor phase to measure idle conditions, load for 58 minutes then idle again.

As an example here are two old graphs back when I was messing around with my athlon xp-m





---------------------

As you can see, my 12v line was dipping badly with my highly overclocked Barton and x800xt, and that was with an OCZ modstream 450w PSU.
Also note how the temperature shoots up and recovers at the end, that's what I want to see on yours as a cooling problem will show almost no recovery.
These graphs were made before OCCT had anything but cpu tests, so no gpu examples here.

Just post all your graphs up after a full run, that will help allot .

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/16/2009 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Unable to run full test cause im in a rush, so here's 2 tests, non fullscreen 1024x and fullscreen 1280x:-

http://img146.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26cpu1s.png/
http://img197.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26cpu2.png/
http://img174.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26cpu3.png/
http://img197.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26cpu4.png/
http://img174.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26gpu1.png/
http://img174.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26vcore.png/
http://img252.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26volt3.png/
http://img252.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26volt5.png/
http://img174.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h26volt12.png/

http://img107.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49cpu1.png/
http://img223.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49cpu2.png/
http://img199.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49cpu3.png/
http://img252.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49cpu4.png/
http://img107.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49gpu1.png/
http://img252.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49vcore.png/
http://img223.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49volt3.png/
http://img146.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49volt5.png/
http://img252.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49volt12.png/

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/16/2009 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

And just as I thought. Seeing your 12v rail plummet to around 9.8v should convey what I have been saying all along.
As soon as your system is loaded, the rail drops further, suggesting that even if your sensors are inaccurate (unlikely they are by that much), it's still evident you have a power problem.
Having your rail that low can endanger your hard drives and other components that don't receive filtered and regulated power (like GPU and CPU) as your rails no doubt have high power noise from the high strain your system is placing on your PSU.
As I see it, once you load a system wide high demand application, your 12v rail drops past the point your devices can compensate for.
I also imagine your PSU gets pretty warm under load, placing its capacitors at risk and raising overall system temperatures depending on what kind of airflow system you have going.

http://img252.imageshack.us/i/2009071708h49volt12.png/

Now there is the task of finding a suitable power supply to fuel your rig... are you a resident of the United States?

If so here is my recomendation from newegg...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16817139005

I happen to have this very unit, chosen for its single rail. Its a little expensive, but as you no doubt have seen, skimping on componets never works out well... Not to mention it's a sound investment that will last you through this rigs life and through some upgrades.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500

Edited: 07/16/2009 at 11:04 PM by Charlie22911
 07/17/2009 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

OMG? Are you sure is PSU cause the problem? A 700w PSU is going to cost me a lot in my country (im not from US).

I did call up to the shop (where i buy the GPU) and ask them about this problem, they said "ohh.. overheat? then its your GPU problem, return to us for RMA"

I play 2 different game yesterday, online and offline game (3D), i realise when i play online game the temp is only 60~65%, never exceed the amount for 2 hours gameplay, for offline game.. few minutes my pc is finish, hmm? maybe the online game usage not much?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/17/2009 03:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unorthodoxneon
Fanboi

Posts: 65
Joined: 03/01/2009

With those 12V values the way they are and the instantly dropped once the test started i would get a new PSU asap and wouldnt even run the computer till you did. Too much is bad and not enough is bad aswell like mentioned.

The only way to maybe... maybe fix that would be to take that GPU out and use one thats not a huge draw on the system.

-------------------------
Phenom II 920
G.Skill DDR2-1066 - 4x2gigs
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB
Foxconn A7DA-S
BFG Tech GS-550 550W
LITE-ON Model iHAP422-08 DVD Burner

 07/17/2009 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

LATEST TEST!

Before this post, i was using Trine (Latest game) to try my GPU, and it always crash when i play, 6 hours ago, i turned off my pc and rest for 1 hour, then turn on back, and install FUEL (Latest game too) and try play, OMG? no more crash?? i play about 3 races, my GPU temp remain at 80~85%, so then i quit and play Trine, also... no crash?? what happen??

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/17/2009 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unorthodoxneon
Fanboi

Posts: 65
Joined: 03/01/2009

Your system was probably able to run on the low voltage for that time and not crash.

Its your PSU thats causing the problem as many have mentioned here before.

-------------------------
Phenom II 920
G.Skill DDR2-1066 - 4x2gigs
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB
Foxconn A7DA-S
BFG Tech GS-550 550W
LITE-ON Model iHAP422-08 DVD Burner

 07/17/2009 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Thing is that your GPU is running within its normal temprature range, maybe on the high end of that range, but within none the less. When you have a rail that is running at ~9v when it should be ~12v, you will have issues.

You dont need a 700w PSU to run your system, I simply recomended it as the upper end to support future upgrades. If you are having money constraints, then I recomend nothing less than a 550w quality power supply.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/17/2009 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Your system was probably able to run on the low voltage for that time and not crash.


But after another 4 hours (no shutdown), i play again, it didnt crash too, im so confuse now..

Which brand do you all prefer? in my country have..

ACBEL iPower 510w True Power - $63
ACBEL iPower 660w True Power - $94
ACBEL R8 700w True Power - $117
Gigabyte 550w Odin GT - $128
Gigabyte 800w Odin GT - $171
Cooler Master Real Power 500w - $100
Cooler Master Real Power 550w - $105
Cooler Master Real Power 600w - $128

I've converted the currency from my country to USD, and the price is sucking my money..

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/17/2009 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

The acbel PSUs I would never recomend as the are rated for their output @ 25°C and not 45°C like PSUs normally are, giving false power ratings (hence their cheap price).

Of those you listed I think the CoolerMaster\Gigabyte 550w is best for the money if you take the time to load balance.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/19/2009 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: DcSK

Hello all.. wazzup! I've a serious problem here, my GPU always overheat when i started to play games (of course is 3D games), only GPU overheat, other hardwares are very normal, when my GPU goes to 90c, my pc will crash, screen goes dark, and lagging sound, duhh..



My game graphic setting are always high or very high, even tho low or very low, it will still overheat (WTH?), anyone can share with me how to fix this problem? Thank you.



My GPU

http://www.gecube.com/products...d_cat=14&prod_id=69079


A Radeon HD 3870 doesn't make all that much heat and should be well-cooled by the dual-slot cooler that GeCube put on your unit unless your case is extremely poorly ventilated or the GPU's fan and heatsink fins are clogged with dust. I passively cool my HD 3850 with an Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 rev 2 and it never gets warmer than 44 C. Your GPU probably would get over 55 C with such a setup and if you continue to have thermal issues, I'd recommend installing a good aftermarket heatsink like the Arctic Cooling unit I have.

-------------------------
 07/20/2009 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

No dust on my GPU, and i clean again when i experience crash on games, normal temp for my GPU is around 60c at windows, while playing games is around 60~90c, your GPU 44c is very cool

Now my system no crash so far, weird play games temp is around 80~90c.

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/20/2009 12:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

I urge you to watch the load you place on your PSU though... Seeing the levels at which your rail tends to droop is suprising.
To be blunt, ignoring your PSU could potentially force you to replace nearly your entire computer versus just a powersupply.
If you want to go the cheap route first, get some thicker thermal compound like shin-etsu and try cleaning and reseating your cooler. It may bring your tempratures down, but it does nothing to curb your power problems.

Let us know how things go

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/20/2009 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: DcSK

No dust on my GPU, and i clean again when i experience crash on games, normal temp for my GPU is around 60c at windows, while playing games is around 60~90c, your GPU 44c is very cool


Hmm. Those temps do seem a little high for a card like the 3870. The 3850 I have is clocked about 100 MHz lower than your 3870 (3850 = 668 MHz, 3870 = 775 MHz) but even with the noisy and much smaller stock heatsink the 3850 didn't cross 50 under full load. Your 3870's heatsink is a bunch better than what my 3850 originally wore, so you shouldn't be running all that high of temps if the heatsink is properly mounted (it's not loose or has excessive thermal paste) and has enough ventilation. I am curious- can you take a picture of the inside of your computer so we can see how the GPU sits in there?

Now my system no crash so far, weird play games temp is around 80~90c.


High-end GPUs like the HD 3870 can generally keep on running until the temp hits 100 C or so; smaller GPUs can generally get to 120-140 C before they start giving out artifacts and errors.

-------------------------
 07/20/2009 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

I urge you to watch the load you place on your PSU though... Seeing the levels at which your rail tends to droop is suprising.
To be blunt, ignoring your PSU could potentially force you to replace nearly your entire computer versus just a powersupply.
If you want to go the cheap route first, get some thicker thermal compound like shin-etsu and try cleaning and reseating your cooler. It may bring your tempratures down, but it does nothing to curb your power problems.

Let us know how things go


I dont know is my country got shin-etsu thermal or not

High-end GPUs like the HD 3870 can generally keep on running until the temp hits 100 C or so; smaller GPUs can generally get to 120-140 C before they start giving out artifacts and errors.


Please dont say that! im very sad now, this CPU-only cost me 720USD + free crash when play games (bonus)

Here's the pictures of my CPU..

http://img116.imageshack.us/i/p1010227.gif/
http://img122.imageshack.us/i/p1010228.gif/

I accept criticism, all comments are welcome

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/20/2009 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Is that another GPU power connecter? Unplug your GPU power and swap it with that one if so, as it will probably put it on the other 12v rail and might balance things out.
If you do that just give orthos another run and post the graphs back here .

Also, you have your card in an x8 slot (bottom two), and not x16 slot (top two). While its not likely this causes any major problems, in theory it could preform slightly worse that it would in the higher bandwidth x16 slot.

As for the cooling, the fins in the GPU heatsinks tend to be pretty closely spaced, and the slightest ammount of dust combined with the fans thermal profiles could drive your tempratures up a fair ammount.
Looking at the dust on your CPU heatsink, its certainly possible if the GPU has been in use for as long, and you wouldnt be able to tell without removing the plastic covering, which could entail having to remove the entire heatsink assembly.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/20/2009 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Is that another GPU power connecter? Unplug your GPU power and swap it with that one if so, as it will probably put it on the other 12v rail and might balance things out.
If you do that just give orthos another run and post the graphs back here.


Hm.. If i unplug the power connector my GPU won't work anymore.

Also, you have your card in an x8 slot (bottom two), and not x16 slot (top two). While its not likely this causes any major problems, in theory it could preform slightly worse that it would in the higher bandwidth x16 slot.

As for the cooling, the fins in the GPU heatsinks tend to be pretty closely spaced, and the slightest ammount of dust combined with the fans thermal profiles could drive your tempratures up a fair ammount.
Looking at the dust on your CPU heatsink, its certainly possible if the GPU has been in use for as long, and you wouldnt be able to tell without removing the plastic covering, which could entail having to remove the entire heatsink assembly.


Nope, it's PCI Express slot (X16), and 4x PCI Express Slot, and why i install on the 3rd slot is because my GPU is too long and big, it's the only best slot i can and if i install on 1st, the Copper Bridge block the GPU, if 2nd, it block the SATA, duhhh...

http://www.msicomputer.com/pro...K9A2_Platinum&class=mb

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 07/20/2009 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Originally posted by: DcSK

Is that another GPU power connecter? Unplug your GPU power and swap it with that one if so, as it will probably put it on the other 12v rail and might balance things out.

If you do that just give orthos another run and post the graphs back here.




Hm.. If i unplug the power connector my GPU won't work anymore.



Also, you have your card in an x8 slot (bottom two), and not x16 slot (top two). While its not likely this causes any major problems, in theory it could preform slightly worse that it would in the higher bandwidth x16 slot.



As for the cooling, the fins in the GPU heatsinks tend to be pretty closely spaced, and the slightest ammount of dust combined with the fans thermal profiles could drive your tempratures up a fair ammount.

Looking at the dust on your CPU heatsink, its certainly possible if the GPU has been in use for as long, and you wouldnt be able to tell without removing the plastic covering, which could entail having to remove the entire heatsink assembly.





Nope, it's PCI Express slot (X16), and 4x PCI Express Slot, and why i install on the 3rd slot is because my GPU is too long and big, it's the only best slot i can and if i install on 1st, the Copper Bridge block the GPU, if 2nd, it block the SATA, duhhh...



http://www.msicomputer.com/pro...K9A2_Platinum&class=mb


I am aware of this. Above your cpu there isn another plug from the PSU that looks as if it is a PCIe power connecter. Tray that if it is another power connecter as it may reside on a different rail.

As for the slots, yes they are Physically PCIe x16, Electrically it is x8.
Its not a big deal though. Just something that would bug a purest like me.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/22/2009 09:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

Hmm.. I've change the GPU from 3rd slot to 1st slot, and crash/overheat problem still exist, Charlie22911, can you guide me? what should i do now? do i really have to buy a better PSU or a better Cooler for the GPU (Arctic Cooling)? Will this problem solve after get a better PSU?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » My GPU Overheat!

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information