AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Just ordered my 965BE!!!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/24/2009 01:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2009 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

I just ordered my 965BE online and it should ship today or tomorrow!

$267.61 including shipping. HDZ965FBGIBOX

Who wants my 1 week old 955BE for $180

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 07/24/2009 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

$0
 07/24/2009 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Where did you order it at??

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/24/2009 02:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280

Where did you order it at??


ditto?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 07/24/2009 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

http://www.shopblt.com

Their first shipment arrives today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 07/24/2009 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Uh-oh.....I'm gonna get into trouble!!!!!!!!!!!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/24/2009 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

According to the site they require more wattage than the 955's, 140W up from 125W.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/24/2009 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Yup, and notice the 8MB cache now instead of 6

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 07/24/2009 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

I believe the cache is stated as a whole, including L2 and L3 caches. If that is the case then the amount of cache remains the same.

955BE = 4x512KB L2 and 6MB L3

The BLT site is just indicating 8MB of cache but does not specify whether it is L2 / L3 or the sum of all L* cache.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/24/2009 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Shoot, that makes sense lol.

Oh well lol. This guy did 4431MHz on air with a demo 965 and I have a better HSF too!

http://www.xtremesystems.org/f...p=3888466&postcount=25

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 07/24/2009 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Originally posted by: 92GTA

Yup, and notice the 8MB cache now instead of 6 [IMG][/IMG]


States that the 955 is 8mb cache as well because they seem to state the combined cache, could be wrong though.

I'd like to see some benchmarks to back up those cpu-z shots.

Ooops repeated what buckshot said. Great minds think alike yah de yah da.

Edit - - - - did you see the volts he's pumping through it to get 4.4ghz mind, 1.6v, not gonna last long at that rate.
 07/24/2009 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

965 BE has the same cache as 920 940 945 955 BE.

965 BE was suppose to be a 125 watt TDP so I am not sure where in hell the 140 watt TDP came from.

as for your overclocking expectations. I wish you luck lol.

Its the same CPU as the 955 BE and would be willing to bet its going to hit from 3.5 Ghz to 4.4 Ghz but is 100% based on IF and this is a big IF, you get a good one.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/24/2009 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sleepy0ne
Newbie

Posts: 37
Joined: 05/10/2009

Why would you replace your 955 for this right away? I doubt you'll see more than 15fps increase in games, which you wouldnt notice unless youre getting below 30fps.
 07/24/2009 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

15fps for an increase of 200mhz thats being generous?? Couple of frames tops.

Could have got that by just over clocking a little.

You already had a decent overclock, I hope you didn't run out and buy it just cos that guy is claiming he got it to 4.4ghz just from cpu-z shots.
 07/24/2009 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

found this from july-11-09 from Tech it on website (never heard of the site so i dont know how true this is)

AMD is set to launch its fastest quad-core processor around August 2009, the Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition is a new high performance 45 nanometer chip by AMD for desktops.

The Phenom II X965 is made on the AM3 socket clocked at 3.4 GigaHertz and will be the fastest clocked Quad-core processor till date. Intel's fastest quad-core is the Core i7-975 clocked at 3.33 GigaHertz. The chip will contain 2 MegaBytes of L2 cache and 6 MegaBytes of L3 cache.

AMD released its Phenom II X4 chips early this year, click here to view the previous releases.

Phenom II X4 965 Specifications:
Speed: 3.4 GHz
Cores: 4
L2-Cache Size: 2 MB (4x512KB)
L3-Cache Size: 6MB
Hypter Transport speed: 2000 MHz
Socket: AM3
Power TDP: 125 W
Price: N/A



looks like 8mb cache
and 125 TDP.

it would be nice if true


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 07/24/2009 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: sleepy0ne

Why would you replace your 955 for this right away? I doubt you'll see more than 15fps increase in games, which you wouldnt notice unless youre getting below 30fps.


15 ?

lol more like 2 to 6 FPS tops

as for its tech specs I have my order list strait from AMD in front of me and the 965 BE is listed as 125 watt TDP 8 MB cache tops combined same as all the others. Its the same CPU as the 955 BE for the most part.

As for gain over his 955 BE I would rate it from 2 to 6 FPS tops at best based on clock speeds.

how this business was able to get the CPU so soon I would like to know.

I am about 1 week out before I can even order them.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 07/24/2009 at 05:28 PM by PC-GURU -
 07/24/2009 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Originally posted by: 92GTA

Oh well lol. This guy did 4431MHz on air with a demo 965 and I have a better HSF too!


Jesus...

I want one.

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -
Its the same CPU as the 955 BE and would be willing to bet its going to hit from 3.5 Ghz to 4.4 Ghz but is 100% based on IF and this is a big IF, you get a good one.


The 965's are probably slightly more highly binned.

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 07/24/2009 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Good to know it's still just a 125watt. They atleast streamlined something to remain at that rating while increasing the clock.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 07/24/2009 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Why do people get so excited by such bold claims.

As I have already mentioned its just cpu-z shots, not a hint at stability by providing benchmark scores etc. Plus its at 1.6v, I bet my 955be could get around 4.2 unstable with that voltage.

The proof is in the pudding people.
 07/24/2009 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: magdary

The proof is in the pudding people.


pudding people?-any relation to the ompa-lompas?
or the mud people of south america?

and who says they have the proof?
and how do we get it out of them?


-dimwit-

couldnt help myself-lol

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information