AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II vs. Core i7
Topic Summary: Extensive gaming value review
Created On: 08/12/2009 10:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/12/2009 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Check it out here!

Passion can be a good thing, when harnessed, and computer gamers certainly have passionate streaks as well. A result of passion, when directed to a particular thing or company, is properly termed brand loyalty. Companies love brand loyalty, and they spend very large sums of money to cultivate and foster brand loyalty. In the tech world, those that have a strong brand loyalty are usually known by another, more common name: fanboys. Ah yes, the ATI vs Nvidia, AMD vs Intel flame wars; nothing quite stirs a tech forum than such lively debates. Today we're interested in the latter of those: AMD vs Intel. Yes, dear friends, it doesn't get much more contentious than that.


-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 08/12/2009 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Oh boy, here we go!

(edit...a while later) That was a fun read. Thanks!

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.

Edited: 08/12/2009 at 11:37 PM by Decembermouse
 08/13/2009 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brayden430
Fanboi

Posts: 91
Joined: 06/22/2009

i looked it ever and seems to be much more valid and unbiased then some others i have seen specially using nearly the same every thing. tho with gaming i don't think the extra 2-4 frames average justifies the extra cost unless you do video editing or anything else that is very cpu intensive that uses all 8 core.

-------------------------
===============
Current system
===============
OS: Ubuntu 10.10/Windows 7
Power Supply:RoseWill Bronze series 750 watt modular
RAM: Patriot 2GB 240-Pin DDR3
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-770TA-UD3 AM3
CPU: Athlon II X3 435 Rana 3.2Ghz Overclocked
GPU: AMD 6950 unlocked to a 6970
______________________________________
 08/13/2009 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DigitalEternal
Master of Disaster

Posts: 490
Joined: 07/08/2009

Yep, and AMD sockets tend to atleast retain some upgradeability, now how much further AM3 will go is anyones guess but I know that intels socket 1366 is dead already as the new i5's and i7's seem to be switching to a different socket already

-------------------------
CPU AMD PII 1100T @ 4.0Ghz w/ NZXT Havik 140 HSF
Mobo: MSI 790fx-GD70
RAM: 8GB Kingston HyperX LTE
Vid Card: ATI HD4870 + 9800GTX+ PPU
HDD: WD Caviar Black 500gb x2
Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750w
MS/KB: Roccat Kone+/Razer BlackWidow Ul
 08/13/2009 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TeMpLeViPeR:~
Deprecated

Posts: 432
Joined: 04/30/2009

Great read thanx...

-------------------------
~5.53 GHZ CPU-Z Link~

 08/13/2009 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Like they mentioned in the review, the extra few hundred dollars isn't worth a few fps more. And if spent the same amount as the Intel setup, you could get a Crossfire setup which woukld destroy Intel's single card setup.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 08/15/2009 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Speedwayaudio
Overclocker

Posts: 919
Joined: 02/13/2009

The AMD set up only had 4 ghz of ram the intel had 6 how much diff did the 2 extra gigs of ram make??

-------------------------
FX 8150 X 8 4.5MHz
Asus Crosshair V
ATI Radeon HD 6950 X2
8 gb Corsair Dominator GT 9-9-9-24@ 1866mhz DDR3
Seagate 7200.10 HDD LG BluRay HD DVD
w/LightScrib
Crucial M4 128 SSD
55"Vizio LCD
Corsair HX 1000 psu
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair H80 push/pull
Razer Death Adder VooDoo edition mouse and Keyboard.
 08/15/2009 07:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Maginal at best. You'd need the right application or becnhmark to exploit it. In most cases dual-chennel and even single channel performs just as good. Same thin on the Phenom if you go single channel (ganged) or dual-channel (unganged). The numbers might slightly change in synthetic benchamrks, but for the most part, very little or non at all.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 08/15/2009 07:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

I dont think it affected that much, coz afaik, the latency of them ddr3 rams are joke, I'm very little informed, with my max 10KBPS line so dont ban me or flame or anything for I am a man, a man with dreams
 08/15/2009 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

I think Core i7 is just a little over hyped and really doesn't being much to the table. Thats why I'm sticking with a Q6600. But if I was to build a machine now, I'd go AMD

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 08/15/2009 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

They are fast at mathematical things, but general use, games and other applications, not much gain.

also, since they cost 3 arms and 2 legs, they can keep it.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 08/15/2009 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DigitalEternal
Master of Disaster

Posts: 490
Joined: 07/08/2009

agree, intel isnt worth the price, especially since youll never be able to upgrade that socket

-------------------------
CPU AMD PII 1100T @ 4.0Ghz w/ NZXT Havik 140 HSF
Mobo: MSI 790fx-GD70
RAM: 8GB Kingston HyperX LTE
Vid Card: ATI HD4870 + 9800GTX+ PPU
HDD: WD Caviar Black 500gb x2
Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750w
MS/KB: Roccat Kone+/Razer BlackWidow Ul
 08/15/2009 08:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

So, essentially... Intel built themselves a G300, in a sense. It's more of an enthusiast part, than a practical mainstream product. Core i5 will the be the watered-down version for the masses. Good thing TSMC isn't making it, haha.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information