AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD announces "Thuban" CPU for 2010
Topic Summary: six-core desktop CPU for the masses
Created On: 09/01/2009 07:03 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/01/2009 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

We were all probably wondering when it would happen, but it looks like in Q3 of 2010 6-cores will start to hit the desktop side of AMD's CPUs. If the clock speeds can stay in that 2.8GHz+ range, it might be a very worthy CPU. Then again, for mega-tasking and workstations this could also prove very well.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/c...Desktop_Processor.html

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/01/2009 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

I don't know why AMD doesn't release Phenom II X6 earlier. Istambul server Operons X6 were lanuched in May (I think), it wouldn't be much of a problem it they just added the DDR3 controller and repackaged some of them for socket AM3, but well...
Most important, Core i5 will be released next week, and Core i9 (hexa-core, 12 thread, nehalem, 32nm) is due in Q1 2010.
Seriously, AMD needs Thuban by Q4 2009 to remain competitive, and maybe a 32nm Octo-core by Q3 2010.
I just hope clock speeds reach 3.0 GHz (even if it means 140w)...
 09/01/2009 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

Well looking at i5 and before that i7 for someone with modest/humble needs one could just run a Regor/Callisto/Heka on a $50ish AM2+ mobo and 2GB ddr2 RAMs. Such an option is not possible for i5/i7 and the mid-low end is where normal joes are at though i admit the high end stuff makes us all go ooooh hehe I for one am more than content with my Heka 710 and do a dance of joy when i see what the numbers the receipt are reporting for my snappy/fast 'fatcat' rig hehe

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y

Edited: 09/03/2009 at 08:14 AM by batuchka
 09/01/2009 10:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

Well, I must confess I'm running an Athlon X2 5200+ @ 2.7 GHz (due to heat issues, I know it can well go up to 3.2 with little extra volts), and I may be considering a Phenom II in some time (too bad my f****** mobo didn't get a BIOS update for PII). But well, it'd be nice for AMD to be able to have something better than i7 NOW.
 09/01/2009 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: SH

Well, I must confess I'm running an Athlon X2 5200+ @ 2.7 GHz (due to heat issues, I know it can well go up to 3.2 with little extra volts), and I may be considering a Phenom II in some time (too bad my f****** mobo didn't get a BIOS update for PII). But well, it'd be nice for AMD to be able to have something better than i7 NOW.


Didn't quite follow you there. Where you comparing your 5200+ To A PHENOM II ?

As it stands in most cases the Phenom II line keeps up with I7 just fine.

Clock for clock it matches the I7 in games.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 09/02/2009 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Clock for clock it matches the I7 in games.


Again dude can you give us a linky? I feel like i7 is generally faster clock-for-clock even in apps where hyperthreading doesn't matter... at least from what I've seen.

I have seen that the PII's scale better as resolution goes up. The i7 machines lose way more FPS when increasing resolution than do the PII machines, but I think in general still outperform when comparing a 3.0GHz i7 with a 3.0GHz PII...

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 09/02/2009 12:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: Decembermouse

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -



Clock for clock it matches the I7 in games.




Again dude can you give us a linky? I feel like i7 is generally faster clock-for-clock even in apps where hyperthreading doesn't matter... at least from what I've seen.



I have seen that the PII's scale better as resolution goes up. The i7 machines lose way more FPS when increasing resolution than do the PII machines, but I think in general still outperform when comparing a 3.0GHz i7 with a 3.0GHz PII...


click here

Every last game they threw at it, there so close its not even funny.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 09/02/2009 02:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Looks like i7 is cost-inefficient.
If they reduce the price to the Ph2 price range things would change.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 09/02/2009 03:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

i7 might not look so great in games for the price but what about all the other things people do, theres more to a PC then just playing games!

I would love to have an i7, but I'm not going to pay for one lol!

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 09/02/2009 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

As the article said, most of the tasks can be done with any CPU just as efficiently.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 09/02/2009 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royale Flush
Case Modder

Posts: 754
Joined: 03/27/2007

Yeah... Microsoft Powerpoint, Google Chrome, AIM 6.5, Windows Media Player, and Microsoft Office can only open up so fast. Now if you want to run a spyware scan while having all of these open, and decide to play a game, then the 6 core processor would ease things up a bit.

I don't think theres been a strong demand for 6-Core systems for desktop users which is why AMD didn't devote so much R&D to bringing it out sooner... I mean we still are kind of in a recession. I'd prefer a cooler running Quad Core.

The Phenom II's more than hold their own. Plus our motherboards aren't as expensive (Don't know if the i7 boards lowered in price much but AM3 boards can be had for relatively cheap).

-------------------------
Bhenchod
 09/02/2009 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

Didn't quite follow you there. Where you comparing your 5200+ To A PHENOM II ?


No, I was saying I MIGHT UPGRADE to a Phenom II sometime.
 09/02/2009 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

loss in translation lol sorry.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 09/02/2009 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DigitalEternal
Master of Disaster

Posts: 490
Joined: 07/08/2009

Oo their gonna be AM3, sweet.

-------------------------
CPU AMD PII 1100T @ 4.0Ghz w/ NZXT Havik 140 HSF
Mobo: MSI 790fx-GD70
RAM: 8GB Kingston HyperX LTE
Vid Card: ATI HD4870 + 9800GTX+ PPU
HDD: WD Caviar Black 500gb x2
Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750w
MS/KB: Roccat Kone+/Razer BlackWidow Ul
 09/02/2009 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

Originally posted by: DigitalEternal

Oo their gonna be AM3, sweet.


Lol I'd hope so! No sense in releasing them on AM2 or AM2+... unless you said that in relation to the impending release of C32/G34.

SH,
We all should have seen this comming. Server-side leads the way and mainstream comes later. There is, however, a lot of work that goes into "just slapping two more cores on a quad core". I don't like just a dual-channel memory controller, but that might be some power-saving at work to get under the 140W TDP constraint. These things should be moderately reasonable in price but also put a crunch on quad-cores. I got my 550 PII for $99 about a month ago and my 5000+BE for $82 about a year ago. Hopefully next summer I can pick up a nice High-K 45nm quad for under $100!

I still don't see enough software availible with multi-threading to justify getting anything more than a dual core right now, but it's always changing. I WANT MY CPUID TO RUN ON ALL 4 CORES! haha.. yeah

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse
 09/03/2009 08:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

I am kindda excited about the new chipsets incoming 2010 hehe

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
 09/03/2009 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

AMD's server chipsets are probably the most dramatic change in performance and features anyone's going to see for quite a while. The desktop side gets refined more and on a smaller process mode, yes, though.... the chipsets look great this time around.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/03/2009 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

sweet'aaaaaaa and I'll be in the US in 2010 so WOOOHOOOO, damm gotta get that GTS250
 09/03/2009 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DigitalEternal
Master of Disaster

Posts: 490
Joined: 07/08/2009

Originally posted by: Moomanerism2

Originally posted by: DigitalEternal



Oo their gonna be AM3, sweet.




Lol I'd hope so! No sense in releasing them on AM2 or AM2+... unless you said that in relation to the impending release of C32/G34.



SH,

We all should have seen this comming. Server-side leads the way and mainstream comes later. There is, however, a lot of work that goes into "just slapping two more cores on a quad core". I don't like just a dual-channel memory controller, but that might be some power-saving at work to get under the 140W TDP constraint. These things should be moderately reasonable in price but also put a crunch on quad-cores. I got my 550 PII for $99 about a month ago and my 5000+BE for $82 about a year ago. Hopefully next summer I can pick up a nice High-K 45nm quad for under $100!



I still don't see enough software availible with multi-threading to justify getting anything more than a dual core right now, but it's always changing. I WANT MY CPUID TO RUN ON ALL 4 CORES! haha.. yeah



lol no what I ment wans Im glad their not brining it out on a new socket all together, like AM3+ or AM4 or something.

-------------------------
CPU AMD PII 1100T @ 4.0Ghz w/ NZXT Havik 140 HSF
Mobo: MSI 790fx-GD70
RAM: 8GB Kingston HyperX LTE
Vid Card: ATI HD4870 + 9800GTX+ PPU
HDD: WD Caviar Black 500gb x2
Case: Corsair Carbide 500R
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750w
MS/KB: Roccat Kone+/Razer BlackWidow Ul
 09/03/2009 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

IIRC new socket would be in place with the release of Bulldozer

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information