AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD announces "Thuban" CPU for 2010
Topic Summary: six-core desktop CPU for the masses
Created On: 09/01/2009 07:03 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/03/2009 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: PorscheRacer14

AMD's server chipsets are probably the most dramatic change in performance and features anyone's going to see for quite a while. The desktop side gets refined more and on a smaller process mode, yes, though.... the chipsets look great this time around.


AMD servers are still on the equivalent of the NForce 500 series, which is pretty darn outdated. They really do need something updated as they don't even have PCIe 2.0 and a lot of new RAID cards and such are starting to need that much bandwidth.

-------------------------
 09/04/2009 09:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Isn't the 800 series bringing the server side PCIe 2.0, hardware virtualisation IMMOU (or however it's spelled) and a bunch of other things? If not... I wonder if one of those mobo manufacturers would be crazy enough to make a dual-socket mobo with these Thuban chips? DDR3 and two of these might make a competitive and cheap workstation, since these once should be clocked higher.

And when bulldozer comes out, they better bring back the FX brand...

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/04/2009 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: PorscheRacer14

Isn't the 800 series bringing the server side PCIe 2.0, hardware virtualisation IMMOU (or however it's spelled) and a bunch of other things?


Yes.

If not... I wonder if one of those mobo manufacturers would be crazy enough to make a dual-socket mobo with these Thuban chips? DDR3 and two of these might make a competitive and cheap workstation, since these once should be clocked higher.


You can get that. The initial Socket C32 chips will be available in four and six-core flavors, use DDR3, and work in dual-socket setups.

And when bulldozer comes out, they better bring back the FX brand...


It depends on how well the Bulldozer CPUs compare to the Core i<n> chips. If the fastest Bulldozer is faster than the top Core i<n>, then yes, the FX may come back. But I don't know if you want that as FX and Black Edition seem to be mutually exclusive. I'd rather pay $200 for my unlocked CPU rather than $1200.

-------------------------
 09/07/2009 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -
click here

Every last game they threw at it, there so close its not even funny.




Price(as ridiculous as it may be) doesn't have any place when figuring out which chip is faster. What a person may buy when consdering personal preference and their pocketbook is a different question. So really dude... you use tests in which the I7 is the winner almost every time as your reason why it's not faster than the Phenom II? In the future something like that probably shouldn't be your first choice when asked for a reference. 15% isn't what I'd call close either. All of this I think should be fairly obvious, so there's not really much point in saying it, but really I just wanted to use the picture.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.

Edited: 09/07/2009 at 11:23 AM by Mime
 09/08/2009 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Abismo
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/19/2009

I honestly feel that adding more cores won't help AMD's situation; hopefully with the new platform it'll open up their pc's a bit more. In reality though they need to ramp up those clocks speeds to compete with the i7s (not to mention the i5s), but from the article stated the top of the line server chip is only clocked at 2.8. We still barley have ANY games using more than 2 cores to being with. They either need a new CPU all together or they need to ramp up those clock speeds.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom X4 II 955BE @ 3.8GHz
Mushkin - 99600 - DDR3 - 1600 MHz (7-7-6-18)
Asus Crosshair III Formula
Ati HD4890
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Swift Tech GTX-Apogee Water Block - Triple Rad
 09/16/2009 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anglik666
Member

Posts: 55
Joined: 11/04/2008

Originally posted by: PC-GURU - click here Every last game they threw at it, there so close its not even funny.


What is it ? A comparison of 2 CPUs, one 3.2GHz and other 2.6GHz ? It is 2GHz difference in one core like...

Maybe better is to show us a phenom 2 500MHz and a I7 0 MHz...

-------------------------
#1 - MSI DKA790GX, Phenom II 940BE, 4x1GB Kingston 1066, Sapphire HD 4870 512MB, SB X-F1, 3x WDC SE16 500GB, OCZ 650w
#2 - GA-MA790X-DS4, Phenom X4 9750, 2x 1GB Kingston 533, Sapphire HD 3870 512MB, 1x IBM 160GB, OCZ 650w
 09/16/2009 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Well AnandTech has these results posted a few days ago...

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=3639&p=3

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/19/2009 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jedispiderman
Member

Posts: 165
Joined: 12/06/2008

hey porsche racer did u get that nice looking 4770 from xfx?

-------------------------

My pc: Chieftec Dragon Case-Phenom 2 940 (stock cooler) 3.7ghz-Corsair TX650-160gbX2raid0-2gigs ddr2 dualchannel-M3A78-CM-Radeon HD 4890 1000/1100- all stable fulltime clocks. 1920x1200p scepter Xwing
 09/19/2009 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Yeppers. I have to update my sig. Just been too busy with harvesting, building computers and NFS: Shift, haha.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/22/2009 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

And since we're talking about the new AMD server boards, SuperMicro just announced a bunch of SR5690/SP5100 boards for Socket F: http://supermicro.com/SR5690_SP5100/



-------------------------
 09/22/2009 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Yeah I got the e-mail from AMD Developer and it's looking really impressive, even on Socket-F. Some people have ben mentioning that these chipsets support some basic overclocking. Have you heard anything on this or know more on this?

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 09/22/2009 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: PorscheRacer14

Yeah I got the e-mail from AMD Developer and it's looking really impressive, even on Socket-F. Some people have ben mentioning that these chipsets support some basic overclocking. Have you heard anything on this or know more on this?


You can always try to overclock by twiddling the clock generator chip over the SMBUS, but that trick is spotty at best and only works on Windows at the moment

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information