AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Want to build a HTPC but ran into a roadblock...
Topic Summary: Encoding HD video (1080i OTA)
Created On: 01/15/2010 09:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/15/2010 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Ok, I've been trying to put pieces together for a super cheap HTPC. I want to base the system off the ION platform and I heard it decodes 1090P nicely, but what happens when you throw a TV Tuner in the picture and want to record a 1080i channel. It has to encode the video but I doubt Windows Media Center (Vista) uses anything related to the ION platform to encode the video. And we all know the processor the ION platform is based off can't encode the HD video, which leaves me with the MPEG-2 encoder on the TV tuner. My question is can the MPEG-2 encoder encode HD video and keep it at 1080i? I always thought the MPEG-2 format was a SD format. Is there a TV tuner out there that can support encoding 1080i?

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 01/15/2010 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah there's HD tuners out there... although recording HD signals that are encrypted can get a little sticky. It depends on the tuner more than the encoding algorithm what you'll be able to do with it. The mpeg-2 spec allows for HD resolutions, but there's a lot of mpeg-2 tuners out there that handle only standard-def video.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 01/15/2010 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

I'm only working with Over the Air signals so I doubt its encrypted, I just want to make sure that before I invest a few hundred dollars that my investment will serve its purpose. If you can direct me to a card (link) that can encode an HD signal, that would be awesome.

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 01/15/2010 11:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

This may be irrelevant to u but i do up HTPCs/SFFs/small footprint everyday rigs all the time and actually 785G/mATX with Regor/Rana is where the lovely el cheapo solutions are hehe With some juicy undervolting either via BIOS or K10Stat, PhenoMSRTweaker, yada yada they run icy cool 24/7 too Example build


-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y

Edited: 01/16/2010 at 12:14 AM by batuchka
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information