AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: new 1090t setup dead in 1 days!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/22/2010 05:43 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/22/2010 05:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

Just bought a 1090t with gigabyte 890fx UD5 and 4gb ripjaws....

had it running for 1 day,...then just then went to have dinner and came back comp went black screen and wont turn off even holding the power button...had to swtich off from psu...

then after that, wnt even power on at all...psu wont even turn on....

unplugged the cpu 8pin and tried...that will atleast power on the mobo and fans....so with the 8pin cpu, the board and psu wnt turn on...the Blue LED on the mobo is on...but just wont power on comp...no fans no noting....

is it fried board or fried cpu?

tried another psu already, no luck
 07/22/2010 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

What psu are we referring too?
Have you tested it in any way, like another pc or an actually psu tester?
Most likely psu or motherboard. Try reseting the CMOS may have been a power state issue.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 07/22/2010 08:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

oriognally was a antec 500w neo....then swapped in a xfx 850w...still same problem...
so i guess its a fried mobo or cpu....

cleared cmos many times.....re-sitted cpu as well...

must be fried something that is somewhere in the cpu power circuit...
maybe a phase regulator?
 07/22/2010 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Originally posted by: derka-derka

must be fried something that is somewhere in the cpu power circuit...

maybe a phase regulator?


Sounds like it then. RMA/return the motherboard while you still can from where you bought it.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 07/22/2010 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

I got a feeling your Thuban is only working on 1 or two cores mabey & you may also not have the correct mb bios update version for Thuban . I think this could be marisa's problem to . Clear cmos & try to get in bios & activate all cpu cores in bios " CPU Configurations " . Go to your mb site and check for the latest mb bios that supports Thuban . I don't think you guys have hardware failure .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )


Edited: 07/22/2010 at 10:16 AM by pcnazz
 07/22/2010 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

I updated the bios already...it came with bios F2..i updated to F3, as F4 was in beta so didnt wanna try that...

and i dnt think ill be able to update to F4 anymore since the whole system wont even turn on....
also want to add that i onli did the mildest of oc....onli oc'd to 3.3ghz and left all voltages to AUTO...i assume such weak oc wouldnt cause any damage....
so bascially to sum up what happens is:

1. used comp for 1 day.
2. 2nd day turned it on, used for 1 hour went to get some food.
3. 1 hour later come home comp was still powered, but black screeen(and no its not screen saver)

4. tried power off thru the power button by holding..no good switch off the psu from behind
5. try turn on again, powers on and saw fans spin for 4 secs....then turned its self off..didnt get to see anything on the screen.

6. try power again, nothing!! as if i didnt plug a power cord...
7. tried finding what wetn wrong, changed psu, vga card, 1 stick of ram etc....no good
8. unplugged 8pin cpu connector, and powers on...but of course no screen since cpu aint geting power...fans spin, etc...
9. plug 8pin connect back in, resit cpu etc, no power on...

10. final thought, fried motherboard....or fried cpu....
 07/22/2010 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: derka-derka

I updated the bios already...it came with bios F2..i updated to F3, as F4 was in beta so didnt wanna try that...



and i dnt think ill be able to update to F4 anymore since the whole system wont even turn on....

also want to add that i onli did the mildest of oc....onli oc'd to 3.3ghz and left all voltages to AUTO...i assume such weak oc wouldnt cause any damage....

so bascially to sum up what happens is:



1. used comp for 1 day.

2. 2nd day turned it on, used for 1 hour went to get some food.

3. 1 hour later come home comp was still powered, but black screeen(and no its not screen saver)



4. tried power off thru the power button by holding..no good switch off the psu from behind

5. try turn on again, powers on and saw fans spin for 4 secs....then turned its self off..didnt get to see anything on the screen.



6. try power again, nothing!! as if i didnt plug a power cord...

7. tried finding what wetn wrong, changed psu, vga card, 1 stick of ram etc....no good

8. unplugged 8pin cpu connector, and powers on...but of course no screen since cpu aint geting power...fans spin, etc...

9. plug 8pin connect back in, resit cpu etc, no power on...



10. final thought, fried motherboard....or fried cpu....


CPU dies the PC wont even power on

Board dies depending on what died it will power on but will not post or show anything on screen.

PSU 12+ rail dies, no fans or anything will power on but 3 volt and 5 volt rails tend to work.

you do realize that a fried CPU is about 1 in 2 million right ?

1 in 10 board

1 in 5 PSU

In other words

1. PSU

2. Board

3. Bad ram

4. GPU

5. CPU

start in this order.

From the sound of it thou. Sounds a bit like board to me.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/22/2010 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

By the sounds, it does seem motherboard....but since above said "cpu dies the PC wont even power on", that still puts me in that 1 in 2million chance....
GPU didnt die cos i swapped another gpu card to try and same thing....psu i swapped aswell...ram i tried with 1 stick and switched around....so whats left in the equation is:
Mobo,
CPU (1 in 2milliion...should i buy lotto?)
 07/22/2010 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: derka-derka

By the sounds, it does seem motherboard....but since above said "cpu dies the PC wont even power on", that still puts me in that 1 in 2million chance....

GPU didnt die cos i swapped another gpu card to try and same thing....psu i swapped aswell...ram i tried with 1 stick and switched around....so whats left in the equation is:

Mobo,

CPU (1 in 2milliion...should i buy lotto?)


FORGET the cpu for now lol . you have that burned in your head for some reason.

RMA the board and test the 12+ rails with a multi meeter under load.

Test it via one of the 4 pin molex. Your looking for a solid 12 volts to 12.6 volts under load.

If it under volts to 11.5 to 1.88 volts off and on then it is a sign of a crappy PSU but not a dead PSU.

If the 12 volts rail can not maintain a constant 12 volts or far less then PSU is dead.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/22/2010 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

im gonna RMA the board tomoro....gonna bring the CPU aswell(im paranoid!!) so they can test it aswell.....

im more concerned what caused the frying of the board...maybe just unlucky getting a bad one....
 07/22/2010 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: derka-derka

im gonna RMA the board tomoro....gonna bring the CPU aswell(im paranoid!!) so they can test it aswell.....



im more concerned what caused the frying of the board...maybe just unlucky getting a bad one....


gigabyte = piece of *****.

Not a fan of gigabyte, very high return rates.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/22/2010 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

not a fan of gigabyte too....but didnt wanna spend 350 on a Asus crosshair...and seeing the Crosshair is pretty much a AMD version of my Asus rampage for intel, so i thought ill go for gigabyte...
 07/22/2010 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Asrock 890FX Deluxe 3 and Never look back.

Bought 2 of them even.

Best dam boards I have ever owned.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/22/2010 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derka-derka
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/22/2010

oh AsRock....u srs?? they made pretty dodgy boards for x58....not sure for amd platform...
 07/22/2010 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

reports are the x58 boards they made where some of the best on the market.

Sold 4 of them for i5 i7 builds my self and they works amazing out of the box each time.

Months later still going strong.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/23/2010 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

I remember the old ASRock boards being pretty solid.

I'm using a very basic Asus M3A76-CM microATX board, and I've had no problems with it, paired with a 7750x2, 2x2GB Kingston HyperX ram, and a slightly overclocked MSI 4830, with one 500GB WD GreenPower Drive and a 450watt Corsair PSU all in my terribly small (bad ventilation) Thermaltake Lanbox Lite and while temps are somewhat high, its been stable. I've got a pretty good deal of faith with Asus' lower ended motherboards after experiencing this build firsthand. Granted if I had the money, I'd go all out, but this serves my needs as a cheap and rock hard stable gaming PC very well.

My old Abit socket 754 board is now starting to act up... :sniff: gonna be a sad day when it croaks now that Abit doesn't even exist. At least my old ECS Socket A board is working still.

I've always heard mixed reviews on Gigabytes... Too mixed for my likings, hence why I've never tried em out.

-------------------------
zzzap!
 07/23/2010 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
X-tremedreamer
Case Modder

Posts: 1092
Joined: 03/02/2008

For years Gigabyte was the stallion in my stables for computer builds. Especially for high end builds. But in the last few years their quality and innovation have been very lacking. Two years ago I moved to ASUS for motherboards, they have great quality, and customer support, but I have noticed that for the last 4 generation of FX motherboards they have had the same PCB layout. My latest move was to MSI, Quality is great, BIOS overclocking is (In my opinion) unsurpassed. Yes I admit I fried my first MSI board in preparation for 2011 Winter Forum Warz, but it was ran hard during last warz and it is surprising that it lasted this long after the warz. Pushing a Phenom II 965 C2 to 4.2Ghz on Air is hard to do and I think would stress the bleep out of any motherboard.

As far as your mobo is concerned, to me it sounds like a VRM issue on the motherboard. There is one possible (and it is a slim possibility) thing that you may try. Back in the day Gigabyte boards were really easy to short out. So easy in fact that I had to use felt washers between the screws/motherboard, and motherboard/stand-offs. The fastest way to test this is to take the motherboard out of the case, and bench test it. This is basically taking out all your components from the case and seeing if it will fire up that way. If it does then you know for sure that there is a short between the motherboard and the case. In your case it would be the CPU circuit. Because of overload and short protection in modern PSUs if it was a short there is little chance that anything was damaged, and should pass the bench test if it was a short.

-------------------------
 07/24/2010 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Just for note gang , always uses the non metal washers for your mother board standoffs ! As far as your cpu goes I will take action here right now that no way you have a defective cpu ! Good luck with your mb RMA , let us know how you make out .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 07/24/2010 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

I've built over 10 PC's and have never used washers period and every machine worked great. Whats their purpose again?

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 07/24/2010 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Originally posted by: derka-derka



im gonna RMA the board tomoro....gonna bring the CPU aswell(im paranoid!!) so they can test it aswell.....







im more concerned what caused the frying of the board...maybe just unlucky getting a bad one....




gigabyte = piece of *****.



Not a fan of gigabyte, very high return rates.


How did I miss this?


This comes from the guy that actually likes ASCRock

Nothing wrong with GB, one of the more solid board companies I've used. I'll echo it though, CPU should be fine, you have a better chance of being struck by lightning!

And yeah, ASRock has never made a solid board. they hire monkeys for bios coders, and they like to fling a lot of poo.


If you want my opinion, avoid ASRock, and go Foxconn!

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information