AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Correct information on how to read your CPU temps
Topic Summary: Straight from the horse's mouth
Created On: 08/17/2011 10:48 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/17/2011 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Hello all, I learned something new today and thought that my fellow OC'rs on this forum should know about it because we have been wrong the whole time!!

I found this out on this thread, post #1584.

[snip]
Concerning your question regarding the temperatures with your processor. (1090) the maximum temperature threshold is 62 Celsius which set for the internal die (core) temperature of the chip. The core temperatures have an equational offset to determine temperature which equalizes at about 45 Celsius thus giving you more accurate readings at peak temperatures. The hindrance in this is the sub ambient idle temperature readings you speak of.

The silicon and adhesives used in manufacturing these processors has a peak temperature rating of 97+ Celsius before any form of degradation will take place. The processor also has a thermal shut off safe guard in place that shuts the processor down at 90 Celsius.

The Cpu temperature is read form a sensor embedded within the socket of your motherboard causing about a 7-10 Celsius variance form the actual Cpu temperature, which may be what you are reading about on the net.

You can use an application called AMD overdrive, that will allow you to monitor your temperatures accurately.

As long as your core temperature has not exceeded the high side of the 60 degree mark for extended periods of time you should be ok. 62 degrees holds a generous safety net to begin with.

I hope I was able to answer your questions, If you have any more inquiries don't hesitate to contact us.


Thank You

Alex Cromwell
Senior Technology Director
Advanced Micro Devices
Fort Collins, Colorado
2950 East Harmony Road
Suite 300
Fort Collins, CO
80528-9558


-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Edited: 02/18/2012 at 05:38 PM by AMD Processors Moderator
 08/18/2011 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Speedwayaudio
Overclocker

Posts: 919
Joined: 02/13/2009

Nice bit of info Canis thanks!

-------------------------
FX 8150 X 8 4.5MHz
Asus Crosshair V
ATI Radeon HD 6950 X2
8 gb Corsair Dominator GT 9-9-9-24@ 1866mhz DDR3
Seagate 7200.10 HDD LG BluRay HD DVD
w/LightScrib
Crucial M4 128 SSD
55"Vizio LCD
Corsair HX 1000 psu
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair H80 push/pull
Razer Death Adder VooDoo edition mouse and Keyboard.
 08/19/2011 09:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

This sheds some interesting light on the whole core and CPU temp subject.
I read this AMD response several times and I'm still a bit confused.
So let's say your CPU temp reading (HWMonitor) is showing 52c, the actual temp (internal die) could vary from this by 7-10c?
And when under load, we should be monitoring the core temps, which shouldn't exceed the high 60c's?

So the way I'm reading this, 62-65c core temps under load would be fine.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 08/19/2011 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

My curiosity got the best of me on this whole CPU temp issue.
I just ran 14 iterations of HyperPI 32M, max temp readings from HWMonitor were as follows:

CPU temp - 51c

Core temp - 42c

Since 62c is the core temp threshold and I was at 42c, I had a 20c margin of safety.

So 90c core temp is thermal shutdown, leaving a 48c spread....who would have guessed?

Indeed, nice find Canis-X!!!

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 09/29/2011 04:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
italianveins
B1FF

Posts: 103
Joined: 11/03/2010

Originally posted by: Canis-X

Hello all, I learned something new today and thought that my fellow OC'rs on this forum should know about it because we have been wrong the whole time!!



I found this out on this thread, post #1584.



[snip]

Concerning your question regarding the temperatures with your processor. (1090) the maximum temperature threshold is 62 Celsius which set for the internal die (core) temperature of the chip. The core temperatures have an equational offset to determine temperature which equalizes at about 45 Celsius thus giving you more accurate readings at peak temperatures. The hindrance in this is the sub ambient idle temperature readings you speak of.



The silicon and adhesives used in manufacturing these processors has a peak temperature rating of 97+ Celsius before any form of degradation will take place. The processor also has a thermal shut off safe guard in place that shuts the processor down at 90 Celsius.



The Cpu temperature is read form a sensor embedded within the socket of your motherboard causing about a 7-10 Celsius variance form the actual Cpu temperature, which may be what you are reading about on the net.



You can use an application called AMD overdrive, that will allow you to monitor your temperatures accurately.



As long as your core temperature has not exceeded the high side of the 60 degree mark for extended periods of time you should be ok. 62 degrees holds a generous safety net to begin with.



I hope I was able to answer your questions, If you have any more inquiries don't hesitate to contact us.





Thank You



Alex Cromwell

Senior Technology Director

Advanced Micro Devices

Fort Collins, Colorado

2950 East Harmony Road

Suite 300

Fort Collins, CO

80528-9558



so that means when we read the temp and core temp on HW , e.x 40c* that means is not 40c* and its lets say 70c* in reality ?

-------------------------
MSI890FXA-GD70 / Phenom 2 BE 965 x4 / Crosair Dominator 4GB 2x2GB / ATI 5770 Video Card / PSU 480W / 1HDD Sata 2 320 GB ! / CPU cooler >>> Arctic cooler 64 pro /1 dvd-W / win 7 Ultimate /
 09/29/2011 05:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

I think what its ultimately saying is that you need to go by the core temp, not the cpu temp. But if your core temp is for example 40c then thats what it is, not 70c.
The core temp is more accurate then the cpu temp as the core temp is on the cpu itself vs the cpu temp sensor being in the socket, and thats where the variance is,
since the cpu temp sensor is further away from the core, it doesnt give an accurate reading of the actual tmp of the processor

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 02/17/2012 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Bump since I've been seeing confusion spin up on this topic lately.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/18/2012 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Thanks for the bump! This is one of those topics that could use a bit of stickiness.
I wonder, does all this info apply to the new FX cpu line too, specifically the 90c shutdown and the ~45c core temp equalizing. Looking around I can't even find the temp threshold (still 62 ?) for them.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO

Edited: 02/18/2012 at 08:57 AM by Hardwood
 02/18/2012 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

is there any temp monitors that will show the core temps with an unlocked cpu?
hw monitor wont show my core temps, neither will everest and core temp.
 02/18/2012 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Deprecated

Posts: 279
Joined: 06/29/2010

try amd overdrive http://sites.amd.com/us/game/d...e/Pages/overview.aspx

or system monitor http://sites.amd.com/us/game/d...or/Pages/overview.aspx

-------------------------
gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios f8h,
cpu amd 965-c3 @4.0, silenX efz120ha4 cooler
8gigs patriot memory pgs34g1600llka (1333 cl7), xfx 6970 gpu, xfx 750w power supply.
windows 7 -64
 02/18/2012 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Sticky!

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/18/2012 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012



thanks, i will give them a try, but what i have read throughout the web is, once the cores are unlocked the core temp is disabled.
i have locked the 2 cores and testing max OC as a quad-4.3GHz stable 1.45v with lots of room to spare.
not bad for a $110 cpu
 02/18/2012 06:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: Mime

Sticky!


WOW!! Thanks Mime! I now have more sticky threads than anyone on here I think...LOL.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/18/2012 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

Originally posted by: Canis-X

Originally posted by: Mime



Sticky!




WOW!! Thanks Mime! I now have more sticky threads than anyone on here I think...LOL.


good job
 02/20/2012 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Originally posted by: Trouble


thanks, i will give them a try, but what i have read throughout the web is, once the cores are unlocked the core temp is disabled.


Never heard of that. Aida64, AMD overdrive, HWmonitor all show the same core temps at all core speeds.


/makes note not to touch the sticky dog.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 02/20/2012 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

Originally posted by: Hardwood

Originally posted by: Trouble





thanks, i will give them a try, but what i have read throughout the web is, once the cores are unlocked the core temp is disabled.





Never heard of that. Aida64, AMD overdrive, HWmonitor all show the same core temps at all core speeds.





/makes note not to touch the sticky dog.


i have an unlocked 960T, so it wont show the core temp, just the cpu.

i do have a question.


do you think my temps are correct?
ambeint temp is 65f/19c.
the reason i ask is, i have never see such a difference in core temp and cpu.
maybe 10-15 max, but mine are showing 20- ~double, so i am not sure.
 02/21/2012 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ella.boswell
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/21/2012

It's such a nice information. I have just joined this forum and found a good post.
 02/21/2012 08:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

There is something totally odd about your temps.
Latest BIOS for mobo?
OS up to date?

You're right, the spread in temps should be nothing like that.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 02/21/2012 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

Originally posted by: Hardwood

There is something totally odd about your temps.

Latest BIOS for mobo?

OS up to date?



You're right, the spread in temps should be nothing like that.


i have the second to the latest bios, the newest one is more for bulldozer.
the one i am on now, is the best for Denab/thuban-tried and tested by many.
os is up to date.

i just ran IBT and i am getting the same temps-go figure?
i wish there was a way to monitor the cores once they are unlocked.
 02/21/2012 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ella.boswell
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/21/2012

I am not aware of this information, but from this post I got something new.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information