AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Correct information on how to read your CPU temps
Topic Summary: Straight from the horse's mouth
Created On: 08/17/2011 10:48 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2012 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

My son's comp has a AMD Phenom II X2 555 proc which I unlocked to a quad core. His individual core temps stay at 32C no matter what I am doing with it and his motherboard has the most recent BIOS version on it.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.


Edited: 08/29/2012 at 01:45 PM by Canis-X
 02/22/2012 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Oh I get it now. You have a dual/tri core and have unlocked the disabled core. UGG. thought you were talking about unlocked as in changeable multi. sorry! Got me on semantics.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 02/22/2012 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

No worries.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/22/2012 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: ella.boswell

I am not aware of this information, but from this post I got something new.




Now I'm not to sure but I'm getting a funny feeling ella is a bot..


Do those guy's who program these bots really think that their going to fool anyone.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 02/22/2012 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

I felt the same way SlayerX.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/22/2012 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Ever notice how a decent number of the spam bots seem to forget to do any spamming? It's weird.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/22/2012 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Yeah, they need to get their bugs worked out if they want to be effective, other than just being annoying, which they do exceedingly well. LOL

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/22/2012 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: Mime

Ever notice how a decent number of the spam bots seem to forget to do any spamming? It's weird.



Maybe thay didn't forget.... maybe their just doing this on their own to teach them selfs how to fool us humans so thay can take over the world.....Muahahahah..lol

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 05/09/2012 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomBrooklyn
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/03/2012

Originally posted by: Canis-XAs long as your core temperature has not exceeded the high side of the 60 degree mark for extended periods of time you should be ok. 62 degrees holds a generous safety net to begin with.

What is "the high side of the of the 60 degree mark?"

Wouldn't that be something like 60.9? But if so, how can 62 degrees be acceptable?

Something's not adding up. Please clarify.

-------------------------
interested in CAD/CAM such as AutoCad, SolidWorks, SCIA, also [photoediting: Photoshop, Lightroom, Topaz, Nik, etc.] and you tube video.
 05/09/2012 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

...as in below 70.00C for the core temps (not the CPU Temp), as per Alex Cromwell.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 08/04/2012 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sean2012
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/04/2012

this one is my idle temps

this one is my in game temps


am i in the safety range for temperatures? im using the stock fan and heatsink. i was told its 62c core temp shutoff is this right? if so i have 20c breathing room. this is my setup rig:

antec 900 mid tower gaming case
amd fx-8120 8 core
gskill 8gb 1600 mhz
gtx 550 ti 1 gb
seagate 1tb hd
raidmax 1200 watt psu
dvd burner
asrock 990fx extreme 4

Edited: 08/04/2012 at 04:13 PM by sean2012
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information