AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows Experience Index
Topic Summary: I'm looking for some comparisons
Created On: 10/14/2011 12:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/29/2012 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

so i havent run the windows index since i have been messing with my system.

so i ran it stock-quad core @ 3GHz, ram @ 1600
scored 7.4 for cpu and 7.5 for ram

so i ran my 24/7 OC
6 core @ 3.8GHz, ram @ 1705
scored 7.4 for cpu and 5.9 for ram.

scratch head.

hold my beer, im gonna try something

EDIT 1:
quad core @3.8GHz, ram @ 1365.
cpu same, ram scored 7.6.

got me another beer.

EDIT 2:
6 core 3.8GHz scored 7.4, ram at 1365 scored 7.6.

must not like the higher ram.
i changed the timings on each run, didnt seem to matter.

i got some more beer, will try more things.

Edited: 02/29/2012 at 11:51 AM by Trouble
 02/29/2012 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Yeah, I don't put a whole lot of stock into WEI, but it is still cool to see a bunch of 7.9's in my score! LOL

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/29/2012 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

You know drinking and OC'ing is dangerus, you could crash Haha...ha.....ha......yeeah, anyhow.


This is thing I can't figure out is when my cards are clocked between 760~800Mhz I'll gat a score between 6.1~6.3 and at 855Mhz I get 6.5 but at 870Mhz it jumped to 7.8!!

Where the cpu score will only jump 0.2 points from 3.4Ghz to 3.9Ghz
and the score for the ram dosen't change no matter what I do to them
same for the HDD even when I was running RAID 0 it stade at 5.9


Canis; I don't either infact I think its useless but getting that 7.8 did put a smile on my face

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)

Edited: 02/29/2012 at 04:03 PM by SlayerX
 02/29/2012 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

RAID really does not change your 4k random reads and writes much so any HDD's (RAID or not) will only score 5.9, maybe a tad higher if your disks are screaming fast Velociraptors.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/29/2012 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

This is what my hard drive score was with 4 Velociraptors (300GB SATA II) in RAID 0.



Ah here is a ss I took of my revised score.....knew I had taken one at some point, just couldn't find where I saved it at....LOL



-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/29/2012 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Hmmm... I did not think going past 7 was possible with HDD's... I stand corrected

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/29/2012 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer

RAID really does not change your 4k random reads and writes much so any HDD's (RAID or not) will only score 5.9, maybe a tad higher if your disks are screaming fast Velociraptors.



QB


Yeah, I kinda figured that since I'm only using plane jane seagate 500Gb HDD's

Nothing screaming fast about these things even when I had them in RAID

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 03/01/2012 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer

Hmmm... I did not think going past 7 was possible with HDD's... I stand corrected [IMG][/IMG]



QB


Oops.....no, the first ss with the primary drive at a 6.7 is with four Velociraptors in RAID 0, the second ss with the primary drive at 7.9 is with my single Crucial M4 SSD (AHCI). Sorry for the confusion.


Originally posted by: SlayerX

You know drinking and OC'ing is dangerus, you could crash Haha...ha.....ha......yeeah, anyhow.


Oh btw, that is hilarious!!! LMAO

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/01/2012 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Ok... now that makes sense. I was 99.9999% sure HDD's would never score above 7 regardless of configuration... and TBH, 6.7 is a HUGE score for HDD's, something I would not have thought possible

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 03/01/2012 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009



-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/03/2012 01:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RBR
Case Modder

Posts: 1099
Joined: 01/22/2005

Just for grins, I thought I'd compare a few operating systems. The only hardware difference between these is the HDD. Here are the results.

Windows Vista 32 bit:

No surprise here. Windows Vista maximum score is 5.9. The hard drive is a Western Digital 640GB WD6400AAKS.


Windows 7 64 bit:

Windows 7 maximum score is 7.9. The hard drive is another Western Digital 640GB WD6400AAKS.


Windows 8 Consumer Preview 64 bit:

Windows 8 Consumer Preview maximum score is 9.9. The hard drive is a Western Digital 320GB WD3200AAKS.

-------------------------


Edited: 03/03/2012 at 01:58 PM by RBR
 03/03/2012 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

Strange, I have an ASUS HD 5770 which Windows only rates at a 3.9 for Desktop performance and a 5.6 for 3D performance. ???

My memory is DDR3 1600, 8gigs and scores 7.5.
and I have an X3 720 @ 2.8ghz which scores a 6.7.

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 03/03/2012 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

If the 5770 is scoring that low, I would be thinking there is some power profile keeping the clocks restricted... just as a wild guess.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 03/03/2012 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

Oh lol yeah, I let it run at low clocks when not doin much of anything doh

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 03/04/2012 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Windows 8 gave me a score of ;

cpu; 7.7

ram 7.7

graphics 7.6 (got 7.7 before installing AMD driver's)

gamming 7.6

HDD 5.9


graphic scores went down a bit from 7 but the good thing is CCC for 8 is now showing clock speed, temp and fan speeds for both cards

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 04/19/2012 05:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
I_Claudius
Lurker

Posts: 18
Joined: 09/01/2010

My WEI is as follows:



-------------------------
Fractal Design Define R2 case
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 motherboard
Phenom II 965 Quad Core 3.4 GHz Black Edition processor
Thermaltake ISGC-200 cooler
4x2GB Corsair DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz with Black Edition Memory Profile
Sapphire Vapor-X HD5750 1GB GDDR5 PCIE graphics card
Xigmatek 700W NRP-PC702 Silent power supply
 04/26/2012 06:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

ah what the hell heres mine hahaha

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
 04/27/2012 02:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

Im in linux so no screen shot, but
CPU 7.7
Memory 7.7
Graphics 7.9
Gaming Graphics 7.9
HDD 5.9

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information