AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: hardrive prices
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/05/2011 05:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2011 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Originally posted by: dabob79

The answer to your problem is easily solved with windows. In my case, I have a 64GB SSD system drive and a 2TB storage drive. All my storage is is either videos, pictures, or music, which is stored in the My Music, My Videos, and My Pictures folders. You can easily set windows to change the location of those folders so everything you save there is saved right to the larger drive, without any extra effort. I've even got my favorites, links, and even my desktop set to the larger drive, so any program that I use that accesses those folders saves and reads from that drive. I don't understand what's so difficult about that?


I second this... That is exactly what I do and I NEVER have to move anything off of my SSDs. Set it and forget it... Plus the added benefit of this is that when you format your system drive you don't have to do the hunt... the hunt for files you want to keep that are scattered all over your system drive. The only things you need to find are program files that may store your settings for a given app, and that is only if you want to keep those settings. And even that is easy since a lot of apps have exports for settings.

Speaking of formatting... Lobster, how do you have the patience to format such large partitions? Even when I had a 120GB SATA-I... I could not stand the wait for a format, I would always partition it for the OS. Back then, with XP I would use 20-40GB... I can't even imagine what a 2TB drive is like to format!

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 11/08/2011 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

AM386DX-40 here... I still have an extremely small form factor IDE drive in my desktop drawer here at work, 25 megabytes, and a Conner 2.5" 80 mega byte drive...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 11/08/2011 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer

Originally posted by: dabob79



The answer to your problem is easily solved with windows. In my case, I have a 64GB SSD system drive and a 2TB storage drive. All my storage is is either videos, pictures, or music, which is stored in the My Music, My Videos, and My Pictures folders. You can easily set windows to change the location of those folders so everything you save there is saved right to the larger drive, without any extra effort. I've even got my favorites, links, and even my desktop set to the larger drive, so any program that I use that accesses those folders saves and reads from that drive. I don't understand what's so difficult about that?




I second this... That is exactly what I do and I NEVER have to move anything off of my SSDs. Set it and forget it... Plus the added benefit of this is that when you format your system drive you don't have to do the hunt... the hunt for files you want to keep that are scattered all over your system drive. The only things you need to find are program files that may store your settings for a given app, and that is only if you want to keep those settings. And even that is easy since a lot of apps have exports for settings.



Speaking of formatting... Lobster, how do you have the patience to format such large partitions? Even when I had a 120GB SATA-I... I could not stand the wait for a format, I would always partition it for the OS. Back then, with XP I would use 20-40GB... I can't even imagine what a 2TB drive is like to format!



QB


Who formats anymore? seriously?

Also, I stroke my RAID down some, I have a 1TB effective drive, and it is plenty. my 2TB Green does backups, and my 1TB Samsung is releagted to junk storage. I have 3TBs of totally unused space on my remaining long-stroke on the hard drives. and 400some-odd GBs left of freespace on the 1TB short stroke.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2011 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Reason why harddrives rose in price

The cost of rare earth minerals needed to manufacture harddrives rose about 10x its normal price. Blame China!

Solid State Discs shouldn't be affected

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 11/09/2011 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

Interesting!

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 11/10/2011 12:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Btw, looking at the links, it seems the situation has gotten worse. I was about to buy a 1 TB HDD on newegg for 49.99 regular price about a month ago. It seems their cheapest is now 129.99!!!!!! That a whole 2.4x increase in price!!!!!!!!!!!

Solid State may become the best price/performance if these prices keep on increasing

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 11/10/2011 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

Lol. At that point in time I would just not buy either.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 11/10/2011 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dabob79
Deprecated

Posts: 463
Joined: 02/14/2009

Glad I bought my 2TB when I did!!! lol

-------------------------
Phenom II X2 555 B.E. Unlocked to X4 @ 3.4GHz
ASUS M4A887-M/USB 3 Micro ATX MB
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws @1600Mhz, 7-7-7-21
Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 Graphics Card
Crucial 64GB SATA III SSD
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular PS
Silverstone HTPC Case
 11/10/2011 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Me too... I just bought my last 2TB Caviar Green for $70CDN just a month ago... Glad I did!

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 11/11/2011 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbjbdc
Overclocker

Posts: 657
Joined: 04/01/2005

its actually cheaper getting it retail picked up a drive for a laptop at staples fro 59.00 today.that will change too.

-------------------------
Biostar TA-990FXE-Extreme
amd-fx8120 @3.7 1.2750 V
corsair ddr3-1866 16GB
ocz-vertex3-240
windows 8 rtm
 11/11/2011 06:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...-_-SSD-_-20227725-L0J

OCZ Agility 3 for 65 bucks after MIR? That's not bad.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 11/11/2011 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

$1/gig lol

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/12/2011 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

oh how much I see the day when I bought a 1tb hdd (not a ssd)
 09/26/2012 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
James Donovan
Lurker

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/18/2012

I believe ram disks square measure quicker the ssd, however i could be wrong. affirmative ram is crazy quick.
But i dont assume you'll section it off, anybody I even have seen was and actual card (pcie) with ram slots it in. it's electric battery or thusme kind of power supply thats invariably on so it will keep the information active within the ram. the matter i will see with them is that they're restricted to the scale of chips, i do know they're manufacturing 8GB ram chips currently for client use, however even then your still restricted on what quantity it will hold.

Edit: I simply did a fast google on one, GB created one a while agone that ran DDR2 memory restricted to 4GB, and had read/write of concerning 130MB/s, thus perhaps they're not as quick.



-------------------------

online store software review

AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » hardrive prices

<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information