AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: !!!The Post Pics of Your Rig/Computer Room Thread!!!
Topic Summary: ....show off your pride and joy!!
Created On: 02/09/2012 03:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/15/2012 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

They are quite popular, Tho for just a cpu they really arn't needed. Only reason i got mine, was because i have the intention of adding a chipset waterblock and gpu waterblock eventually.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 02/15/2012 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Love mine. Keeps my GPU's temps down really well. Can't complain at all in that department.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/16/2012 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Mine's awesome also. It's actually a quad 140, but I'm using 120mm fans on it because they're quieter than any 140mm fans I could find.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/16/2012 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

WOW, you have noiseblockers on there don't you? They make 140mm fans also, I was looking at them yesterday. The only downside is that they are $$ but well-built.

I'd like to get another quad and place it right above my other one....one quad rad per graphics card would mean that I would never have to worry about my temps rising...LOL.

What's up with the avatars? I couldn't even reupload mine today, gave me a bogus error about it not being the right format (.jpeg or .gif and under the size limit), both of which I was compliant on.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/16/2012 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah they're expensive, but I'm a reverse audiophile that way. Two of the 120's are enough airflow to cool the system as it is now. I'm adding another two in the new build, but they'll be inside the case instead of outside.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/19/2012 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RBR
Case Modder

Posts: 1099
Joined: 01/22/2005

Nice setups everyone.

Here's mine, and I think maybe I should finally get a larger monitor. This old 22" looks kinda small compared to the tower it is sitting next to.



-------------------------
 02/20/2012 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Hi guys, always wanted to post something and now finally am. Here's the computer, in all its old-school low-power glory.

Hardware?

DKA790GX Platinum
AMD Phenom X4 9950BE (DR-B3)
Cooler Master TX3 (well, a Best Buy-branded clone, identical specs, probably made by CM)
4GB G.SKILL 1066MHz DDR2
EVGA GTX 460 768MB FPB (860MHz core, for Folding)
Western Digital Caviar Green (WD20EARX, 2TB, 64MB cache)

Yes, this isn't exactly traditional, but more of a knock-off homebrew idea for good air flow. Don't have the cash atm to buy a proper case, and if I did I'd use it for other things.


Here it is from another angle:


Here you can see I made a sort of HDD caddy underneath the motherboard tray.


-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.

Edited: 02/20/2012 at 09:49 PM by Decembermouse
 02/20/2012 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

OMG!!!! That is soo friggin cool!! I would never have the patience or the ability to do something like this. Good job DM!!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/21/2012 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

i love the case!!!!
i have a friend, he is a LEGO FREAK and i almost have him talked into a cool Lego case-almost.
 02/21/2012 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

I like it... That's some nifty stuff.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/22/2012 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Come on folks let's make this the biggest thread in here. Post up your rigs, even if you have them posted somewhere else, let's make this thread epic!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/22/2012 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

Originally posted by: Canis-X

Come on folks let's make this the biggest thread in here. Post up your rigs, even if you have them posted somewhere else, let's make this thread epic!


everyone-old and new?
 02/22/2012 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Sure, why not. The more the better.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 02/22/2012 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Trouble
Lurker

Posts: 25
Joined: 02/12/2012

Originally posted by: Mime

Sure, why not. The more the better.


let the games begin-lol
now, where did i put that camera?
 02/22/2012 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Cool looking case DM!

Just proves that you don't need big bucks to have a cool looking case, just a big imagination.


So come on people and show off your work.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 02/23/2012 05:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

ah what the hell lol im in

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
 02/23/2012 08:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I said I would get a new pic of my rig as she stands now... here it is:











It's hard to believe that I have 8... yes that's EIGHT drives connected in this beast. Just think about all those power and SATA cables needed for that, plus cables for the GPU,
and the 4 fans.... I am truly amazed at this case and the ability to hide all those cables. A clean build is a cool build

QB


ps.... why is it so hard for people to use Photobucket, it has a nice feature that automatically resizes the displayed image so it doesn't break the forum for people like me with only
a 1680x1050 display...

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)

Edited: 02/23/2012 at 08:38 PM by QB the Slayer
 02/23/2012 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bumblebeepee
B1FF

Posts: 136
Joined: 09/10/2010

I agree with that QB, if people dont want to / cant be bothered to resize pictures, it would be good if they could post the images as links rather than embedding them,
(as the images before manages to span the width of two monitors)
also ill have some pics up of my pc soon, got a kind of timeline of its spec going on in pictures.
can anyone recommend an image host that wont go ahead and display those "used too much bandwidth" images?

-------------------------
Hit it with a Hammer.
CPU: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 3.8 ~ 4 Ghz (Cooler Master V8 Heatsink)
Graphics: 2 x HD 5770
RAM: 8 GB (standard clock: PC3-1333)
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78T-E (790GX)
Sound: ASUS Xonar DX
Case: CM 690 (with custom paint and a 800W PSU)
 02/23/2012 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I have yet to see that message when using Photobucket. And I use PB for posting pics on numerous forums, including Doom9 which always has a high volume of traffic.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/23/2012 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

I just started the project log for the new build.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information