AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Stupid AM2 AM2+ AM3 Question
Topic Summary: Again!
Created On: 08/15/2012 01:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/15/2012 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

I just can't get this straight in my head.

My current system is a socket 939 board...I've been kicking it along, and it's really fine, but I don't have half the drivers I need for Windows 7, etc.

My brother is giving me his slightly newer AM2 system. It's currently got an Athlon 64 3200+ processor, which isn't an upgrade from the dual core Opteron that I have.

However, it does have a little upgradeability. I was wondering--what is the best processor I can put in this thing? The board is a Biostar Tforce4 series. I have to check into BIOS updates and things like that, but if I can score a cheap CPU with this system, it will be nice.

Am I looking at AM2+ processors?

Thanks guys!!

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 08/15/2012 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Do you have a specific model number (and rev number) of the motherboard, it would make giving you a definite answer much easier.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 08/16/2012 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

It's a Biostar "Tforce4 AM2."

Their website is completely and totally useless. The CPU support table just...isn't there. The details for the BIOS updates are also...basically not there. At the time, the board was a good buy, but I'm pretty disappointed with the amount of information I'm able to find on the board.

I actually have a Phenom X3 8450. I guess I will try that in the board. I hadn't realized it must be pretty old--it's based on the nForce4 chipset. So who knows what it will support and what it won't.

I guess I will post back in with my results! I guess if it supports that 8450, I can safely assume it will support all AM2+ Phenoms at that wattage.

Thanks!

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information