AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: set up ssd with hdd
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2012 07:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2012 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

just got a ssd. what is the best way to set it up with 2 WD HDD?so that my hdd are for storage and ssd for windows and games/programs
cant find a topic that is exactly what i am looking for
did read that you just install windows on the ssd and then hook up hdd and change your file location to the drive you want but I am thinking there is a better way
for example : windows recognize the ssd for boot and then raid 0 for the hdd
any info will be appreciated

will be doing a new\fresh install of windows and i guess deleting my raid 0

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 08/17/2012 01:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

My only concern with that setup would be reliability....you would want to keep a backup of everything important! Hard drives are just junk, so I wouldn't be doing Raid0 with them unless you have everything you really care about in a separate location, also. Especially if you are just storing music and pictures, etc on the hard drives, I don't know that raid0 would even be necessary.

I guess I'm thinking more in terms of redundancy...could have the SSD for programs, games, etc. Have the HDD's running in Raid1 since they are just storage anyway, but that way you have backups.

Eh.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 08/17/2012 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Deprecated

Posts: 279
Joined: 06/29/2010

please post what you find to be best.
im interested also
(edited out the high jacking portion/ beg your pardon)

-------------------------
gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios f8h,
cpu amd 965-c3 @4.0, silenX efz120ha4 cooler
8gigs patriot memory pgs34g1600llka (1333 cl7), xfx 6970 gpu, xfx 750w power supply.
windows 7 -64

Edited: 08/20/2012 at 08:55 AM by k-9
 08/18/2012 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

personaly I don't see the point of putting the old HDD's in any raid if your only going to use the for storage.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 08/18/2012 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

Now you will be Raiding SSDs? I don't know that that is the most worth it...unless they are lower end SSD's and you would REALLY benefit from the increased speed.

Also, don't you use the TRIM function when you RAID SSD's? That's really something to consider.

Be sure to update the firmware on both SSD's before you do anything with them.

Lastly, I noticed you said you had to move data before everything would fit on your SSD's. Keep in mind, you don't want your SSD's like 95% full.

I don't know much about the dos and don't about SSD's, but there are so many good threads going on various forums about how to get the best speed and life out of your drives. I would really do some research there

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 08/18/2012 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

I didn't raid anything. ssd is just fast

problem I am having is setting up my library, documents, videos and music to the storage drives hhd. I can include folders, make my defult the HDD drives but when windows auto saves for example game save file i can't find it now

how do you set up the files to auto to the hhd drive just changing the path to a:\user document isn't working with windows auto saves and other stuff

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 08/24/2012 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

SSD's in RAID 0 all the way

Regarding SSD's and normal HDD's - put your OS on the SSD I guess with the games you play the most on as well. If you can move the games you play onto the SSD. If you play a lot of games that don't all fit on the disk you will need to find which is the one with the longest load times.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information