AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Strange little system...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/03/2004 07:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/03/2004 07:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

so i upped the voltage in my ram to 2.65 from 2.55 (or was that .75 from .65... who knows..)
and lowered the timings to 2-3-3-5 from 2.5-3-3-6
and now cpuz cant detect what ram is what.. although my system runs totaly stable.. no matter what....

any idea's?


-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 09/03/2004 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE   so i upped the voltage in my ram to 2.65 from 2.55 (or was that .75 from .65... who knows..)
and lowered the timings to 2-3-3-5 from 2.5-3-3-6
and now cpuz cant detect what ram is what.. although my system runs totaly stable.. no matter what....

any idea's?


Dont complain?
 09/03/2004 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Well, as long as your system is absolutely stable and you get the expected performance, i wouldn't bother...it's just a cosmetic thing after all

Maybe drop the guys who made CPU-Z an E-mail about this so they can fix it if it's a bug or something.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 09/03/2004 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

actualy, after further testing and what not... it turned out i lost performance... so i switched it back..
guess i'll just leave it how it is

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 09/03/2004 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

That's odd. You tightened the timings and lost performance? Strange.

 09/04/2004 03:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

then again, one stick is kingston value ram, and the other is nanya tech.
not too good for tightening the timings, etc etc, also it lost its "bank interleave" rating... in wich i really didnt feel like tweaking with it all to try and get it all functional, so i just switched it back....
once i make a 64 system and get some hyperx pc4000 i'll start tweaking stuff

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information