AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: $150 gift card
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/03/2004 05:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/03/2004 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

what should I get? I'm thinking a nice sound card would be good here's my specs


NF7-S (soundstorm onboard audio)
2500+ Barton @ 2.2Ghz
Radeon 9800np
512MB mushkin black RAM
80GB PATA caviar drive
120GB SATA Hitachi drive
I've got peripherals covered, if I wanted to dip into my savings I'd get the Klipsch promedia 5.1 system


Let's try to keep it at $150 max though, if I have to spend 20-50 to get something very useful then so be it but I'd rather keep the total under $150. Any $100 ideas would be good too so I can buy HL2
 09/03/2004 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

you have nice onboard sound i love the 5.1 onboard with the nf7s

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
 09/03/2004 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Super_Dude @ Sep 3 2004, 01:35 PM) you have nice onboard sound i love the 5.1 onboard with the nf7s
plus I hardly ever use anything but headphones
 09/03/2004 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Umm, maybe some more ram? Although I'd wait until they have another sale on the HyperX. They usually drop it down to $99 after rebates and such. Not a bad deal for 512MB of PC4000.

-Adam
 09/03/2004 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hungryjoey
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2507
Joined: 05/01/2004

I wouldnt go with a new Sound card...Onboard sound these days is lovely, unless your into music editing or making ?? I would go with more RAM or something along those lines....

-------------------------
Break Free -AMD
Intel Q6600 3GHz | 4GB | GTX260 | Vista Ultimate
 09/03/2004 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

A Banging pair of 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones.
 09/03/2004 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Not with Soundstorm Joey. It's Audigy2 class sound, so no upgrades needed.

-Adam
 09/03/2004 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

You've got SoundStorm. SoundStorm does DD encoding. You need some speakers. The Z-680s do DD decoding. I think the answer is simple Of course, Z-680s would run you for a bit more than $150. That being said, I'd spring for either some more RAM or the 6600 GT when it comes available

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 09/03/2004 06:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Yeah, I'm an ATI person myself, but that looks like it's a sweet card. Still my 9800SE runs everything I want it to on 4 pipelines, so I'll be keeping it for a while...unless I come into an insane amount of $$$ that is.

-Adam
 09/03/2004 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lucky47
Senior Member

Posts: 1293
Joined: 07/08/2004

well, the 6600 is only gonna be like $200 retail, thats $50 out of your pocket..
 09/03/2004 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

my next upgrade will be over the summer to 939 an A64, maybe 4000+ and whatever ATI or nVidia can offer me, not pulling any punches with my next upgrade

How much would the Z-680 system run? I'm guessing a little over 200 right? Depending on when I get my gift card in (rebate on the laptop) I may have saved up a little and just get those
 09/03/2004 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lucky47
Senior Member

Posts: 1293
Joined: 07/08/2004

I got my Z-680's from zipzoomfly for $220, I'm not sure how much they are at bestbuy though.
 09/03/2004 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

QUOTE (Silk_the_Absent1 @ Sep 3 2004, 02:01 PM) Umm, maybe some more ram? Although I'd wait until they have another sale on the HyperX. They usually drop it down to $99 after rebates and such. Not a bad deal for 512MB of PC4000.

-Adam
off topic:

Silk, it seems as though you are bottlenecking your 3200 if your running 2700 with it ......
 09/03/2004 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Yeah, but my FSB's only 133. I'll be upgrading the chip and swapping the 2700 for more 3200 later on, but I only had the 256MB of 3200, and Bestbuy had the 256MB of 2700 on sale for $40 plus a $20 MIR, couldn't resist.

-Adam
 09/04/2004 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

I'm buying a wireless router with this next paycheck. Soundstorm has been axed from the next iteration of nForce correct? I may go with a top of the line sound card that I can swap over. Will regular PCI be replaced by PCI-express like ISA was or will it be more like PCI for more cards and PCI-express for video cards?
 09/05/2004 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

ok here's what I'm going to get

Audigy 2 Gamer LE' ">http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ol...=cat01053&type=product

what I want to know is why the Audigy 2 Platinum' ">http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ol...=cat01053&type=product costs like 70 bucks more but doesn't come with the boatload of games?
 09/05/2004 08:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

The Platinum costs more because it has all the additional inputs/outputs.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 09/05/2004 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lucky47
Senior Member

Posts: 1293
Joined: 07/08/2004

You could save yourself a couple dollars..

ZZF' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...jsp?ProductCode=360223 has the same thing for $114.99 plus a $30 MIR, something to consider.
 09/05/2004 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (neumie06 @ Sep 5 2004, 04:51 PM) You could save yourself a couple dollars..

ZZF' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...jsp?ProductCode=360223 has the same thing for $114.99 plus a $30 MIR, something to consider.
that would be nice but I'm using a gift card to Best Buy I got from buying the laptop. So unless someone wants to trade me 150 cash for the card I've got to stick to Best Buy stuff.
 09/05/2004 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Klesk4000
Senior Member

Posts: 2857
Joined: 01/02/2004

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Sep 5 2004, 04:30 PM) The Platinum costs more because it has all the additional inputs/outputs.
Yea dont get that unless you really know what it does, LOL I have it and all I use is the headphone jack.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ || Temp Biostar 939 || Sapphire X1800XT 512mb|| 1.5GB OCZ || SB Audigy Platinum eX || 500w 34amps Aspire PSU
Klesk
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information