AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: what you think, a64 3400xp in november ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/06/2003 10:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2003 10:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

I believe amd will offer speed bump of their current a64 socket 754 cpu before the end of the year right ?

you think the 3400 or higher will be out in november/december ?

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

I would think they'll release a 3400+ before the year is out.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegetto
Member

Posts: 26
Joined: 10/06/2003

If it is, that make one fine Christmas present!
 10/06/2003 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (Vegetto @ Oct 6 2003, 06:13 PM) If it is, that make one fine Christmas present!
sure would, I wonder what frequency it would run at. 2.2?

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

indeed !

the 3200xp is @ 2.0 ghz and it can be o/c to 2.4ghz easy and 2.5 with a good cooler ...

I believe the 3400xp will be 2.2 ghz ? so we could prolly take this one to 2.6 and maybe 2.7


edit : my guess would be 2.2 as well

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (vyse12012 @ Oct 6 2003, 06:15 PM) indeed !

the 3200xp is @ 2.0 ghz and it can be o/c to 2.4ghz easy and 2.5 with a good cooler ...

I believe the 3400xp will be 2.2 ghz ? so we could prolly take this one to 2.6 and maybe 2.7
yep, higher multiplyer, more CPU speed with better fsb!

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

I guess my wish has been granted

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/c...ay/2...0821113104.html' ">http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/c...ay/20030821113104.html


Currently AMD plans two Socket 754 processors this year: Athlon 64 3200+ and Athlon 64 3400+ clocked at 2.0 and 2.20GHz respectively. The 2.0GHz (3200+) part will be available immediately on the 23rd of September for approximately $400, whereas the 2.20GHz devices with 3400+ speed grade will come in October or November, unofficial sources claim.


this is so sweet, everything I want to get for my computer will be released in october/november

radeon 9800xt
72 western digital raptor 10k rpm
abit kv8 max III
and now a64 3400xp

at the beginning of december, im gonna pay myselft a big nice gift !

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

never seen that before.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

i am waiting for AMD to hit 3.0 GHz, these small increase just arent appealing.....ao I wait

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/06/2003 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
krado
Case Modder

Posts: 1714
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (monte84 @ Oct 6 2003, 06:43 PM) i am waiting for AMD to hit 3.0 GHz, these small increase just arent appealing.....ao I wait
A perfect comparo, since the biggest performance increase is when you upgrade a gigahertz



Bargh, I did a Athlon 1.33 to AthlonXP1600+ upgrade before

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

"Rules do not bend for you. You bend for the rules."
 10/06/2003 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

i have had three computer.
first went from 486-66 to Athlon 1.3GHz (whoa MAJOR difference
then from the 1.3 to my 2.25 (not as noticeable except for in games, where my DDR ram and radeon 9800 make the biggest diff (the 1.3 had SDR ram

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/06/2003 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

I think we won't see a a64 @ 3.0 before the end of 2004 .. rumors say the san diego will be 2.6 (end q1 2004), so maybe 2.8 summer 2004 and 3.0 fall-winter 2004

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (vyse12012 @ Oct 6 2003, 06:48 PM) I think we won't see a a64 @ 3.0 before the end of 2004 .. rumors say the san diego will be 2.6 (end q1 2004), so maybe 2.8 summer 2004 and 3.0 fall-winter 2004
that's what i'd bet on.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

I have 3 computers too

p1 133, 16mb ram, 1mb graphic card, 1gb hd to
p3 700, 32mb tnt2, 64mb sdram (upgraded to 320 2 years later) and 30gb hd

there was a big difference in performance. then I upgraded to

p4 3.0, 1gb ddr, radeon 9800 pro, 120gb hd

once again there was a big time difference !

edit : you getting a a64 too UNREALNEO ? I noticed you have the avatar but your 3dmark score isn't with one

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (vyse12012 @ Oct 6 2003, 06:50 PM) I have 3 computers too

p1 133, 16mb ram, 1mb graphic card, 1gb hd to
p3 700, 32mb tnt2, 64mb sdram (upgraded to 320 2 years later) and 30gb hd

there was a big difference in performance. then I upgraded to

p4 3.0, 1gb ddr, radeon 9800 pro, 120gb hd

once again there was a big time difference !

edit : you getting a a64 too UNREALNEO ? I noticed you have the avatar but your 3dmark score isn't with one
nope, not till my next upgrade anyway, which will prolly be around a years time.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

i see, so you'll have the chance to get a san diego ~3.0ghz, a pci express mobo a r420+ or nv40 card too

i hope the san diego will support ddr 2 memory, that would be nice

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xUNREALNEOx
Member

Posts: 149
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (vyse12012 @ Oct 6 2003, 07:00 PM) i see, so you'll have the chance to get a san diego ~3.0ghz, a pci express mobo a r420+ or nv40 card too

i hope the san diego will support ddr 2 memory, that would be nice
i'll only be 17 then, I could hardly afford a brand new CPU.

-------------------------

14,434 9600Pro' ">http://wijzr.url.cjb.net/ 12,415 Ti200' ">http://batey.url.cjb.net/ 4,029 9600Pro' ">http://mgzue.url.cjb.net/
.:Team cpucity:.' ">http://www.cpucity.co.uk
:: MadOnion
 10/06/2003 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vyse12012
Member

Posts: 39
Joined: 10/06/2003

oh , that sucks

-------------------------

2k3 - 6316' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=886938 || 2k1 - 18245' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6707749 || pcmark2k2' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm=1349732 // MadOnion
 10/06/2003 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Reeper47
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE "yep, higher multiplyer, more CPU speed with better fsb!"

Don't you think 1600 mhz Fsb is enough.

In my opinion Amd did a great job on the 64 bit chips, but they are going to have to really make them faster if they want to beat the P4 EE chips and not to mention the upcoming P5 that is if intel manage to sort out the problems with it. I would expect a 3400+ by the end of this year as intel already have a 3.4, but me being over here in Australia there aren't any Athlon 64's available until next year according to most of the computer shops but we can pre order athlon 64 motherboards.
 10/07/2003 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stealthy C
Member

Posts: 109
Joined: 10/06/2003

I just can't wait till the 3400+ hits the shelves so the 3200+ will come down in price for the Stealth to grab.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \/ ASUS K8V \/ 512MB PC3200LL \/ Sapphire 9700 pro \/ Win XP

<span style='fon
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information