AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: About the Pci/Agp Bus
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/07/2003 10:22 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/07/2003 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dafanman
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 10/07/2003

Has anyone found software that is able to read nforce2 chipset motherboards properly, that will display what the pci and agp bus speed is running at.

Ive looked all over, and most system reporting, diagnostic utilitys cannot display or report this information.

The only thing Ive found to give any info on the pci bus speed wise, is pcwizzard 03, problem is that prog still gets alot of the nforce2 chip info wrong.

Anybody??
 10/07/2003 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monte84
Elite

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/06/2003

the nforce2 has a locked speed, so AGP=66MHz and PCI=33MHz

-------------------------
Phenom II X 1055T @3.64Ghz 1.425V
NB @ 2800Mhz HTT @ 2800Mhz
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
8GB Crucial Ballistix @ 1866 8-8-8-24-33-1T
AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB GDDR5 shaders @1536 OC to 840/1300
 10/07/2003 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HTS
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/07/2003

Why do you need software?
The PCI-bus is set to normal 33MHz, it doesn't matter which CPU-FSBN you are running. Thats one of the best things of the nf2-chipset.
And the AGP-frequency (normally @ 66MHz) should be adjustable in the BIOS.

greetings
Hendrik a.k.a. HTS

-------------------------
proud member of the german AMD support forum www.athlon.de ;-)

' ">http://www.athlon.de
 10/07/2003 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dafanman
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 10/07/2003

Thanks for the quick replys,

I personally do not have the problem, but there are those who need to "see" that their pci bus is locked at 33, regardless of what you tell them.

Im really just scouting around for a diagnostic/reporting util that will give them a visual.

Ive known about the pci bus lock since its inception, just trying to convince the others.
 10/07/2003 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
krado
Case Modder

Posts: 1714
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (HTS @ Oct 7 2003, 06:39 AM) Why do you need software?
The PCI-bus is set to normal 33MHz, it doesn't matter which CPU-FSBN you are running. Thats one of the best things of the nf2-chipset.
And the AGP-frequency (normally @ 66MHz) should be adjustable in the BIOS.

greetings
Hendrik a.k.a. HTS
On certain mainboards, the PCI is locked at half of the AGP's speed. Beware...

Besides, I actually found out after my friend's winXP went corrupt after bring ing his AGP speed to about 75mhz

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

"Rules do not bend for you. You bend for the rules."
 10/07/2003 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dave Graham
Senior Member

Posts: 351
Joined: 10/05/2003

QUOTE (dafanman @ Oct 7 2003, 06:59 AM) Thanks for the quick replys,

I personally do not have the problem, but there are those who need to "see" that their pci bus is locked at 33, regardless of what you tell them.

Im really just scouting around for a diagnostic/reporting util that will give them a visual.

Ive known about the pci bus lock since its inception, just trying to convince the others.
show them the BIOS which will display the nominal speed of the PCI and AGP bus (varies; some boards will only provide the ratios)

cheers,

dave

-------------------------
----------
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
-----------
Owner, Webmaster
Flickerdown Data Systems' ">http://www.flickerdown.com/stewks/
"The Fusion of Hardware and Life"
 10/07/2003 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dafanman
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 10/07/2003

It appears that the pci lock will and may vary depending on the mb manuf.
While Im fairly certain that this bus is locked on the Gigabyte boards, for which Im looking for this information, the following thread clearly shows that this is not the case for all boards.

Pci lock?' ">http://www.nforcershq.com/foru...cfc106514ea0fa4ee46e76

This is just one of several discussions on this topic in various forums
 10/07/2003 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Major Slaughter
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/07/2003

dafanman did PC Wizard not do the trick for you ?

I don't know of any software that is capable of actually showing true AGP/PCI bus speed for the NF2 chipset.

-------------------------
Benching Rig
Asus K8V-DX A64 @ 2600mhz w/Promie (limited by BIOS)
2x256mb Corsair XMS3200LL
ATI R9800pro @ 549/832 w/Vapochill
PC Power & Cooling 510w

Gaming Rig
IC7-G 2.8c @ 3920 280fsb 5:4 1.725v w/Vapochill PE
Corsair XMS3500c2 @ 224mhz 2-3-2-5 2.95v
TI-4600 @ 350/750, SB Audigy, Antec TP550

26,006 3Dmark01' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7105334 <a href='http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=1302231' t
 10/07/2003 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dafanman
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 10/07/2003

Major Slaughter,

Yes major, it shows the pci bus at 33, and you think that would be sufficent, but with that same program mis reporting, or not reporting all various aspects of the nforce2 boards there are still doubters that pc wiz is correct lol. Oh well, i tried.
They will just have to get over it.


PorBleemo,
You are mostly correct, and if you will take a look at the pci lock link I posted you will see that there are some mb manuf who chose not to fully implement that.

So again while Im absolutely certain that my Gigabyte 7N400 pro is locked, other brands and models may or may not be.

Basically alot of this from the gigabyte side stems from the use of easytune software
That creates alot of issues because of the way it displays, and the fact that It was not nfroce 2 compatible when the boards were first released, and has since become somewhat compatible with recent bios updates.
 10/07/2003 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SpeedTek
Senior Member

Posts: 2538
Joined: 10/05/2003

All Nforce2 chipsets lock the PCI at 33MHz, but most allow adjustment of AGP. This will not affect the PCI bus on an NForce2 board, but it has been shown that overclocking the AGP is a futile endeavour anyways.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD or any of their affiliates.<br><span *****

Moderator
 10/07/2003 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dafanman
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 10/07/2003

What about this then?

Exercpt from pci lock thread' ">http://www.nforcershq.com/foru...postorder=asc&start=45
 10/07/2003 05:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SpeedTek
Senior Member

Posts: 2538
Joined: 10/05/2003

What about it, it confirmed exactly what I said. I have used the Epox boards and I can say with certainty that they do use the PCI lock, it is not a factor of AGP speed. This is why NForce2 boards are such solid overclockers.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD or any of their affiliates.<br><span *****

Moderator
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information