AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: $150 upgrade for Video card.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/20/2004 01:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/21/2004 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambjo
Senior Member

Posts: 1905
Joined: 03/31/2004

QUOTE (IntelOwnsALL @ Nov 21 2004, 01:31 PM) hl2 is opengl?
No. Just no. I don't really know of any OGL benches that many people use except for COD and Doom3 timedemos.

-------------------------
General discussion on IRC @ irc.protium.org / #forums.amd.irc ::: Folding for 34106

A64 2800 @ 2.2GHz | eVGA 6800 - NVS5 | VNF3-250 | TG-480 | ThermalTake Tsunami | Hitachi 7K250 | WD800JB
 11/21/2004 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nwo
Senior Member

Posts: 2510
Joined: 11/06/2004

QUOTE (sambjo @ Nov 21 2004, 10:51 AM) No. Just no. I don't really know of any OGL benches that many people use except for COD and Doom3 timedemos.
I thought that both of those were D3D
 11/21/2004 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sambjo
Senior Member

Posts: 1905
Joined: 03/31/2004

QUOTE (nwo @ Nov 21 2004, 01:53 PM) I thought that both of those were D3D
Nope. Doom 3 and COD are both OGL. A lot of OGL games have an option install DX9 when you install the game, but that doesn't mean it's a DX9 game.

-------------------------
General discussion on IRC @ irc.protium.org / #forums.amd.irc ::: Folding for 34106

A64 2800 @ 2.2GHz | eVGA 6800 - NVS5 | VNF3-250 | TG-480 | ThermalTake Tsunami | Hitachi 7K250 | WD800JB
 11/21/2004 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdrulesanduknowit
Senior Member

Posts: 1273
Joined: 09/04/2004

joe save up and get a 6600 or a 6600gt ther only bout 180 or somtin like that lol i think
 11/21/2004 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nwo
Senior Member

Posts: 2510
Joined: 11/06/2004

QUOTE (amdrulesanduknowit @ Nov 21 2004, 12:19 PM) joe save up and get a 6600 or a 6600gt ther only bout 180 or somtin like that lol i think
There's a hudge difference between the two, both in price and preformance. Right now there is only one 6600GT in AGP version, there will be no 6600s in AGP version. The 6600GT AGP is 225 bucks on newegg. The 6600s are PCI-e only and range from the 130s to 170s. The 6600GT PCI-e go from $180 to $210
 11/21/2004 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

yea if you want a 6600GT AGP8x definetly wait till theres more than one, right now theres only the XFX, which has a horrible diaganol heatsink, and is wayy overpriced, its like $30 less than a 6800.

BTW that Powercolor 9800 SE is odd, first of all the heatsink looks plastic, and second of all, instead of cutting the bus in half to 128bit, they kept 256bit and cut the pixel pipelines in half! It only has 4 pixel pipelines, horrible.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
 11/21/2004 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nwo
Senior Member

Posts: 2510
Joined: 11/06/2004

QUOTE (Cow187 @ Nov 21 2004, 04:09 PM) yea if you want a 6600GT AGP8x definetly wait till theres more than one, right now theres only the XFX, which has a horrible diaganol heatsink, and is wayy overpriced, its like $30 less than a 6800.

BTW that Powercolor 9800 SE is odd, first of all the heatsink looks plastic, and second of all, instead of cutting the bus in half to 128bit, they kept 256bit and cut the pixel pipelines in half! It only has 4 pixel pipelines, horrible.
the 6600GT AGP is already down to $220.
The heatsink is horrible and it does look plastic, but it probably isn't
That's the best 9800SE out there (the best % of them were modded to 9800PROs)
 11/21/2004 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

QUOTE (Cow187 @ Nov 21 2004, 04:09 PM) BTW that Powercolor 9800 SE is odd, first of all the heatsink looks plastic, and second of all, instead of cutting the bus in half to 128bit, they kept 256bit and cut the pixel pipelines in half! It only has 4 pixel pipelines, horrible.
You know, ALL 9800se cards have 4 pixel pipelines as far as I know.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 11/24/2004 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Black Scorpion
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 08/21/2004

QUOTE (Carlz0r @ Nov 21 2004, 06:07 PM) BTW that Powercolor 9800 SE is odd, first of all the heatsink looks plastic, and second of all, instead of cutting the bus in half to 128bit, they kept 256bit and cut the pixel pipelines in half! It only has 4 pixel pipelines, horrible...

You know, ALL 9800se cards have 4 pixel pipelines as far as I know...


Both of you are right but, but...

As I mentioned before... YOU CAN UNLOCK the other 4 pipelines of the 9800SE card BY INSTALLING A MODIFIED DRIVER that its called "Omega", this driver is based on ATI`s latest realease of their Catalyst Familiy and puts your card to work with 8 pipelines instead of just the 4 pipelines that the card ships in, that its posible because the pcb, core and memories of the card are EXACTLY A 9800 PRO CARD, PowerColor the only thing that does with this cards, is put a bios that only uses 4 pipelines of the core, but with the omega drivers you can use the other 4 pipelines that are disabled by the bios WITHOUT FLASHING IT OR MODIFFING ANYTHING PHYSICALLY

And as nwo said, the biggest % of this cards work with this drivers like a 9800 pro, and i quote again biggest percent, theres no rule that your card will work, because some of them have damaged the other 4 pipelines of the core and thats why they are "9800 SE", but i repeat, this card even at 9800SE have better performance than a 9600XT "Bravo" and stuff like that that its the best of the 9600 family, so i dont see "the horrible part of it"

Greetings.
 11/24/2004 10:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

Black Scorpion, I HAVE that exact card. It didnt softmod for me, and there is no gaurantee it will softmod for others.

However I do agree with you, it isnt a "horrible" card. It runs quite well at stock speeds with only 4 pipelines. And the softmod is stupidly easy to do, I tried it in 3 different ways, none worked mind you, but also none actually damaged my card.

But if he can get a true 9800Pro for not much extra, then I'd recommend he went and got that. At least your gauranteed the preformance of a 9800Pro that way.

I'll admit, when I ordered this card I was convincing myself it will softmod, but it didnt, and for a little extra I could have got a 9800 standard. I was looking for the cheap easy awnser and got my fingers (well, wallet) burnt.

But I will say it is a complete [content edited]load better than my previous FX5600. So I'm happy.
 11/24/2004 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Ugh, here we go again. Simplest terms, once again.

NOT ALL 9800SE's WILL MOD SUCCESSFULLY. PERIOD.

ONLY about 50% will do a mod.

See here.' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=30805&st=35

-Adam
 11/24/2004 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

Lol.....you managed to cut my post down to one line:

QUOTE NOT ALL 9800SE's WILL MOD SUCCESSFULLY. PERIOD.

Well put.
 11/25/2004 08:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max Axe
Senior Member

Posts: 1765
Joined: 10/23/2004

Booo hoooo

I hade made up my mind to buy a powercolor 9800 se but after reading this I dont really feel like it anymore.

as suggested by scorpi dude i thought I could softmod it. but now feel like going back to the idea of 9800 pro EZ.

now could someone please compare a standard 9800 / 9800 pro EZ / real 9800 PRO

cost and speeds and overall performance.

-------------------------

Basically if you are getting a LCD, get one with a good contrast and brightness ration-->BVchurch @ Jan 30 2005, 12:53 PM
Why don't you post links rather than bossing people around.@Max Axe-->danm
 11/25/2004 08:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

I am amazed at the misinfo in the thread lol. Best thing if ya dont wanna pay 245 for a 6600gt goto newegg and buy a refurbished 9800 pro for cheap
pro EZ version 138.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....&type=Refurbish' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...31-278R&type=Refurbish
Pro version 165
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....&type=Refurbish' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...02-268R&type=Refurbish
Reg 9800 256MB card 159
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....&type=Refurbish' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...31-413R&type=Refurbish
And beleive it or not this card will hang with the big boys aswell
9500 pro 148
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...esc....&type=Refurbish' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...31-202R&type=Refurbish
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information