AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dual Channel DDR/MOBO FSB to RAM BN
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/23/2004 10:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/23/2004 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
(h()d3
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 09/13/2004

I have been looking at building a new AMD 64 System. I have seen some impressive FSB's of 800, 1000, 1600, 2000 Mhz. I have found MOBO's with an 800 Mhz FSB, however, the fastest Ram Supported is PC3200. This would create a bottleneck, would it not? Can someone help me find a better place to shop than pricewatch and pricegrabber. Also, does anyone know of an AMD 64 MOBO with RAMBUS technology on it? The new 1066Mhz RDRAM is cool. I just can't seem to find a MOBO to support it. Also, can someone explain how Dual Channel DDR works with only 3 Ram slots? This is confuzing. I have a GA-7N400 Pro 2 Ultra Rev 2.0. It hase Dual Channel with 4 Ram Slots. This makes sense. The new MOBO's seem to only come with 3. Help please!!
 10/23/2004 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
peenuts220
Senior Member

Posts: 971
Joined: 06/24/2004

QUOTE I have been looking at building a new AMD 64 System. I have seen some impressive FSB's of 800, 1000, 1600, 2000 Mhz. I have found MOBO's with an 800 Mhz FSB, however, the fastest Ram Supported is PC3200. This would create a bottleneck, would it not? Can someone help me find a better place to shop than pricewatch and pricegrabber. Also, does anyone know of an AMD 64 MOBO with RAMBUS technology on it? The new 1066Mhz RDRAM is cool. I just can't seem to find a MOBO to support it. Also, can someone explain how Dual Channel DDR works with only 3 Ram slots? This is confuzing. I have a GA-7N400 Pro 2 Ultra Rev 2.0. It hase Dual Channel with 4 Ram Slots. This makes sense. The new MOBO's seem to only come with 3. Help please!!

That is possibly one of the most confusing paragraphs i have ever seen in this forum. RAM doesnt run at the same frequency as FSB, there is no chance that any ram can currently run at 1066mhz, FSB is the speed to the ram but since amd64 have on die mem controllers the fsb is pretty much eliminated thus the hypertransport which allows fsb of 1600mhz on socket 754 and 2000mhz on socket 939. Currently socket 939 is the only amd64 socket that can support dual channel ram. Are there any amd64 boards with rambus? not at all rambus is completely gone, it was way overpriced only worked on select p4 boards and proved to have a barely noticeable increase in speed. Go for a socket 939 system and two sticks on pc3200 ram or if you gonna do some ocing go for some pc4000, let us know if you need any more help man.

-------------------------
Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2400mhz
Asus A8N Sli Deluxe | Crucial Ballistix 1gig PC4000
eVGA 6600GT PCIe @ 561/1070 | Hitachi Deskstar 160 gig SATA II
Thermaltake Tsunami | Epower Puma II
Westinghouse 17" widescreen lcd
Macbook (black) 2.0ghz core duo, 1 gig ram, 80 gig hd, superdrive
 10/23/2004 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
(h()d3
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 09/13/2004

Sorry about the confusion. I am overworked at the moment and very tired. Thanks for the feedback, that answers my questions. Are you sure 939 is the only 64 to support dual channel? I have seen many MOBO's with 754 on it that have dual channel.
 10/24/2004 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
peenuts220
Senior Member

Posts: 971
Joined: 06/24/2004

if by 768 u mean socket 754 then no, socket 754 doesnt support dual channel.

-------------------------
Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2400mhz
Asus A8N Sli Deluxe | Crucial Ballistix 1gig PC4000
eVGA 6600GT PCIe @ 561/1070 | Hitachi Deskstar 160 gig SATA II
Thermaltake Tsunami | Epower Puma II
Westinghouse 17" widescreen lcd
Macbook (black) 2.0ghz core duo, 1 gig ram, 80 gig hd, superdrive
 10/24/2004 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
(h()d3
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 09/13/2004

Yes. Once again I am not making sense due to axhaustion. Sorry.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information