AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Psu's.... and their evilness!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/25/2004 02:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/25/2004 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

So a long time ago, i had to get a new psu, to fund my computer's constantly growing power needs... mmm... power.....
anyway...
I bought an *Allied*.. er.. well, let me correct that statement, since i had to work 28 days out of the month, and all of wich were 10-12 hour shifts... my girlfriend bought me an *Allied*e psu.. a decent one at that... or so i thought...

i was on my computer earlier today, and everything seemed kinda... slow...
and then things got to totaly unbearable slowness and were just downright disgusting.. so i rebooted... during cmos.. it states i have no primary slave... wich is odd, cause i've filled out all my IDE devices...
so i go into cmos, try auto detect, even try manualy setting the attributes of my drive.. nothing works...
turns out it was the power line it was connected to, also my primary drive was connected to
Luckily, my drives survived... and i had a spare line wich i had fans plugged into..
i switched the fan line and the hdd line and everything works fine.. other than my fans constantly changing speeds
Waiting for my psu to die.... oh such glory this shall be.....

Never buy an *Allied* psu... Never....

*edit* oops.. Allied.. not Alliance... haha.. ha...

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 09/25/2004 02:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Sorry about your PSU. Ive never had an alliance PSU though so I wouldnt know. Like the tagan I have now though . Antec is good too!
 09/25/2004 02:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

if u know its going out why use it? i mean if money is tight i can see that, but if something happens to ur system, dont blame the psu because u knew it was going out

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 09/25/2004 02:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Does alliance have a warranty? If they do you can send it in, but i dont know what to tell you for a temporary replacement. For instance I used to run a 400 Watt compusa, so just in case my tagan for a weird reason dies, well I have a backup, yeah right, that CUSA thing will only last another couple days.
 09/25/2004 02:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

I dont know if they have a warranty, i'd like to return it to the store, get my money back, and then go down and get an Antec, wich was my original choice, but my gf confused the two. ah well

I wont be upset if any part of my computer dies, i might go through withdrawls, but i can deal without it

As for money, lemme explain that..
I make about 10 dollars an hour less, than someone with my same job, no more than 150 miles away, just because i live in the "foothills" of california (placer county), Prices are high, Wages are low... not to mention my girlfriend isn't working much right now because she ended up with a hella bad case of tendonitus..
so money is a bit tight, lol

i guess i might check Allied's website for rma of stuff... see how that goes...


*edit*
wow, cant find their website...

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 09/25/2004 02:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

allied is a decent psu i have heard

ok, see i thought money wasnt the issue, if it is like u say, i understand now why u still using, how old is the psu? and u should be able to RMA it

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 09/25/2004 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

the psu is around 6 months old, tops
im not going to rma it, im just going to let it die off, and replace it with an Antec.
i need something with more than 400w anyway, 430 would be nice
what's really bad, is my g/f spend like 80 bucks on it, and i found it on newegg for 30 :/
horrible how best buy rips people off.....

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 09/25/2004 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

You sure you need more than 400W? Unless you're running some really exotic stuff, a quality 350W-380W PSU should provide more than enough juice.

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 09/25/2004 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

well why spend money when u can get another psu replaced for free?

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 09/25/2004 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JHawk56
Elite

Posts: 1084
Joined: 07/27/2004

QUOTE (koolaidwa @ Sep 25 2004, 01:50 AM) allied is a decent psu i have heard
They have been for me. I have used then at least a dozen times over the past four years, with no failures that I know of (and I'd know about at least 11 of them if they had any problems), other than a failed fan in one of them after three years.

Any brand will have some failures.

John

-------------------------
My ECS/PCCHIPS/Amptron PCs<br>ASRock K7VM2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information