AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: $1200 what are my choices?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/25/2004 11:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/27/2004 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
essi1553
Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 09/09/2004

You are correct sir the 3700+ is socket 754 according to newegg and its vastness of knowledge...

Soo fook the 940, but if the performance is the same among the fx-53 939 and 940 then there would be little difference in need for me to ever upgrade till its time for another new pc. Isn't ecc memory bad for many reason, aka slower, more expensive...?

-------------------------
' ">http://www.silent-and-violent.tk
Click the picture for a direct link to our guild wars team site, come and signup!
 10/27/2004 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Peng
Senior Member

Posts: 595
Joined: 07/19/2004

QUOTE (essi1553 @ Oct 27 2004, 02:49 PM)You are correct sir the 3700+ is socket 754 according to newegg and its vastness of knowledge...

w00t! I know things.

(Hm, I think a week or so ago Newegg was claiming to be selling a socket 939, 90-nanometer 3400+. I thought it was the 3500+.)


I think there's a difference between registered and ECC memory. In any case, I'm also pretty sure it is indeed slower and more expensive.

-------------------------
[L=http://snurl.com/hugpeng]Hug Peng[/L]
[L=http://snurl.com/godemail]An email from God![/L]
 10/27/2004 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SDA
Senior Member

Posts: 3895
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah, registered and ECC aren't quite the same thing, although they're both valuable in the same situations (namely, those where stability is extremely important, and raw speed not so much). You can have unregistered ECC memory or non-ECC registered memory. You don't want either for this machine, of course.

Anyway, I personally would go for the 3500+ instead of the 3700+.. the 3500+ is Socket 939, meaning you'll get a better upgrade path, and you'll get a lot of cash back for a pretty small performance hit. Also, if you go for a 90nm 3500+, it'll probably OC farther than the 3700+ can as well.

-------------------------
DEC Pentium X2 5200+ w/ HyperCache (Ezra core)
Asus M7NCD-MAX3 (OPTi Vendetta 82C760)
6x Generic 32MB PC2700 RDRAM (50ns SIMMs)
2x nVidia Millennium X1800 Duo (SLI mode)
12x (daisy-chained) Quantum Medalist 180GXP (w/ separate SCSI-1 adapter)

"Oh, you started a Rube Goldberg machine. A Rube Goldberg machine... called JUSTICE." <a href='http://www.boomspeed.com/old_camper/amdforumsircchat.ht
 10/27/2004 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
essi1553
Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 09/09/2004

Great so this means I can go for upgrading stuff like heatsinks and stronger fans, and fan controllers with the leftover money

I'm really hoping to be able to keep whatever I get very cool on air though, I don't want to get mixed up with any kind of water cooling.

Time to crunch some more numbers, I'll be back to ask some more dumb a64 question considering this is all new to me.

My only other question as of now is how do the a64 run at a 1600 or 200 fsb? I'm trying to match memory with them but i don't understand what i should get.For example If i used ddr400 would that make the processor run at 1600fsb (4x400)

I know my xp has ddr so its memory is 166 ddr so 333fsb (2x166)
Do the a64'a multiply the memory by 4?

-------------------------
' ">http://www.silent-and-violent.tk
Click the picture for a direct link to our guild wars team site, come and signup!
 10/27/2004 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Peng
Senior Member

Posts: 595
Joined: 07/19/2004

From my limited knowledge, I think the 1600 MHz is the HyperTransport thingamabob' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce...0_182_861_1030,00.html. The FSB is set in the BIOS as 200 MHz, so you should get DDR 400 memory.

-------------------------
[L=http://snurl.com/hugpeng]Hug Peng[/L]
[L=http://snurl.com/godemail]An email from God![/L]
 10/27/2004 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
essi1553
Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 09/09/2004

Whatcha think about this one?' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...5&item=5133739676&rd=1

I think its pretty darn good myself, other than that statement about the msi mobo at 1000fsb, which is rather confusing.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.silent-and-violent.tk
Click the picture for a direct link to our guild wars team site, come and signup!
 10/27/2004 09:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

QUOTE (essi1553 @ Oct 27 2004, 07:44 PM) Whatcha think about this one?' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...5&item=5133739676&rd=1

I think its pretty darn good myself, other than that statement about the msi mobo at 1000fsb, which is rather confusing.
Well I dislike eBAY but that comp looks good...

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 10/28/2004 02:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Peng
Senior Member

Posts: 595
Joined: 07/19/2004

QUOTE (essi1553 @ Oct 27 2004, 08:44 PM)Whatcha think about this one?' ">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISA...5&item=5133739676&rd=1

I think its pretty darn good myself, other than that statement about the msi mobo at 1000fsb, which is rather confusing.

My only gripes about it are that it has a Radeon 9600, which is easily beaten by a 9800, and the RAM has somewhat high latencies. But it's certainly not a bad system.

-------------------------
[L=http://snurl.com/hugpeng]Hug Peng[/L]
[L=http://snurl.com/godemail]An email from God![/L]
 10/28/2004 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
essi1553
Member

Posts: 196
Joined: 09/09/2004

Well I scoured Newegg and found that I could get more of what I wanted if i could spare with an extra 200, for EVERYTHING I need.

AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 512K $289.00

OCZ Gold Edition Rev3 Dual Channel 1GB (2x512) $268.00

Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive $157.00 Each

MSI "K8N Neo2 Platinum" NVIDIA nForce3 ULTRA Chipset Motherboard $131.00

ANTEC "Sonata" Black Case With 380W Power Supply $98.00

Thermalright Heatsink for P4 & K8 CPUs, Model "XP-90" -RETAIL $39.99

SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5inch Floppy Disk Drive $6.99

Samsung 16X DVD±RW, Model TS-H552B/WBCH Black, OEM Bulk $63.00

Lite-On 52X32X52 Internal EIDE CD-RW Drive Black, Black, Retail $29.00

Arctic Cooling VGA Cooler, Model "NV silencer 5" -RETAIL $30.99

ViewSonic G90FB 19" PerfectFlat CRT Monitor -RETAIL $218.00

TOTAL:----------------------------------------------------------$1333.00 + Shipping


Whatcha think about this, sorry to be asking all these questions, but this will be my first build, I want to make sure that I get what I should for the prices I will be paying.
Thanks for all of your help.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.silent-and-violent.tk
Click the picture for a direct link to our guild wars team site, come and signup!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information