AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: whats wrong with my avg
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/24/2004 04:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/24/2004 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

i recently downloaded the new avg because it told me to, and i have 3 viruses...b ut it wont delete or heal or move them to the virus vault...what is wrong? how do i do this????? i really dont want these viruses on my hd

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Try uninstalling and reinstalling avg maybe. Might be messed up. Try running Trendmicro's HouseCall to see if it detects the viruses.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 12/24/2004 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

what is trendmicro housecall? and where do i get it...but why would avg detect it but not let me move them or heal them?

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Housecall' ">http://housecall.trendmicro.com is an online virus scanner and it's free.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 12/24/2004 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

it says i need netscape!? like [content edited] im downloadign that

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

You don't need netscape. I use it on IE all the time.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 12/24/2004 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

so u need ie not firefox?

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Not sure if it works on firefox but is it so hard to use IE once? I hate IE but I have to use it at work all the time.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 12/24/2004 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

yea im using it

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

it has found 4 so far

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Ouch. The computer I'm repairing had over 30 viruses and AdAware detected over 1000 spyware/malware/other stuff.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 12/24/2004 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

ha yea. my friend's hp had 2567 spyware things, and 130 viruses avg detected
k it found 4, and i deleted them

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Just out of curiousity, what were they?

-Adam
 12/24/2004 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

oh, i think they were java something...lol i didnt really look at them

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Just for future reference, it's a good idea to make note of any virus that hits you, so that you can track it down manually to make sure it was completely removed.

-Adam
 12/24/2004 05:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

yea, i should probably of done that

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Did you kill system restore too? A LOT of virii will hang out there and be undetectable by AV software.

-Adam
 12/24/2004 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

no, didnt, how do i do that?

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/24/2004 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Under "System Properties" open the "System Restore" tab, click turn off system restore.

That will erase ALL saved restore points, and any virii hiding out there.

If you want, after you erase all the restore points, you can reactivate the system restore, but I never use it.

-Adam
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information