AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Win 98 and SATA HDD
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/27/2004 11:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/27/2004 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

Hey everybody,

Do you know if Windows 98SE supports SATA hard drives? I dont think they do.

Thanks,
hubs8907
 12/28/2004 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluekkis
Senior Member

Posts: 207
Joined: 10/27/2003

No, and neither does winXP out of the box. It's up to controller having driver support that you may need to supply through floppy if you're installing windows to sata drive.

-------------------------
[Gentoo 64b][ASRock ALIVENF7G-HDReady][AMD Athlon64 X2 2,5GHz][Corsair XMS2 2x1GB@800MHz][Samsung T166 500GB]
[Ubuntu LTS 32b][VIA EPIA EN-1200EG][VIA Eden C7 1,2GHz][Kingston 1GB@533MHz][4x Samsung T166 500GB]
 12/28/2004 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

QUOTE (Bluekkis @ Dec 27 2004, 10:29 PM) No, and neither does winXP out of the box. It's up to controller having driver support that you may need to supply through floppy if you're installing windows to sata drive.
....

Depends on the motherboard. All you need to do is load RAID drivers on a floppy and hit F6 when you install windows. On newer boards like neo2 you dont need drivers.

SATA drives should work with Win 98.

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 12/28/2004 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

This is the mobo I got.

here' ">http://www.newegg.com/app/View...tion=13-123-219&depa=1

Thanks,
hubs8907
 12/28/2004 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

If you already have a primary IDE hard drive you should be able to plug the SATA one right in and it should work.

Why are you still running Windows 98?

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 12/28/2004 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

QUOTE (danmagicman7 @ Dec 27 2004, 10:43 PM) ....

Depends on the motherboard. All you need to do is load RAID drivers on a floppy and hit F6 when you install windows. On newer boards like neo2 you dont need drivers.

SATA drives should work with Win 98.
Windows 9x does not support SATA harddrives for the OS Install, nor does Windows ME. The only OS's that support SATA drives are Windows 2000 and XP. On windows 9x or ME, you can only use SATA harddrives for data storage, Not OS installtion (This means you need a ATA harddrive for the OS to be put on). Also, Don't forget to install the SATA drivers for windows

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 12/28/2004 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dancobra
Member

Posts: 117
Joined: 12/29/2003

QUOTE (danmagicman7 @ Dec 27 2004, 10:52 PM) If you already have a primary IDE hard drive you should be able to plug the SATA one right in and it should work.

Why are you still running Windows 98?
Exactly what I was thinking, XP is SSOOOO much better. Get out of the 90s LOL.

-------------------------
MSI K8N-Neo2 Platinum, AMD 64-bit 3500+newcastle, ASUS FX-5950, 72Gb WD 36GB Raptor x2 raid 0, Ballistix 1Gb (dual 512 pc3200), Allied 500W alum PS
 12/28/2004 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

QUOTE (FrozenSteel @ Dec 28 2004, 07:26 AM) QUOTE (danmagicman7 @ Dec 27 2004, 10:43 PM) ....

Depends on the motherboard.  All you need to do is load RAID drivers on a floppy and hit F6 when you install windows.  On newer boards like neo2 you dont need drivers.

SATA drives should work with Win 98.
Windows 9x does not support SATA harddrives for the OS Install, nor does Windows ME. The only OS's that support SATA drives are Windows 2000 and XP. On windows 9x or ME, you can only use SATA harddrives for data storage, Not OS installtion (This means you need a ATA harddrive for the OS to be put on). Also, Don't forget to install the SATA drivers for windows
Motherboard driver disks have win 98 drivers on them. You need to load it on the CD I believe. If you try, you could install win 98 on an SATA drive. You might be crazy, but you could.

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 12/28/2004 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

QUOTE (danmagicman7 @ Dec 28 2004, 11:12 AM) QUOTE (FrozenSteel @ Dec 28 2004, 07:26 AM) QUOTE (danmagicman7 @ Dec 27 2004, 10:43 PM) ....

Depends on the motherboard.  All you need to do is load RAID drivers on a floppy and hit F6 when you install windows.  On newer boards like neo2 you dont need drivers.

SATA drives should work with Win 98.
Windows 9x does not support SATA harddrives for the OS Install, nor does Windows ME. The only OS's that support SATA drives are Windows 2000 and XP. On windows 9x or ME, you can only use SATA harddrives for data storage, Not OS installtion (This means you need a ATA harddrive for the OS to be put on). Also, Don't forget to install the SATA drivers for windows
Motherboard driver disks have win 98 drivers on them. You need to load it on the CD I believe. If you try, you could install win 98 on an SATA drive. You might be crazy, but you could.
I really don't think so... Windows 9x or ME can not be installed on a SATA harddrive... The OS installtion disks don't recignise the SATA harddrive... The only thing their supposed to see is the the IDE harddrives and if you don't have one it will tell you that there is no harddrive installed... I heard it at microsofts website somewhere... don't know where tho

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 12/28/2004 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

Well, I know a guy who has Windows 2000. He said i could borrow it and put it on there. Then later I'll get Win XP upgrade cheap through my school, and it will be good. Thanks for your replies.

hubs8907
 12/28/2004 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

QUOTE (hubs8907 @ Dec 28 2004, 02:21 PM) Well, I know a guy who has Windows 2000. He said i could borrow it and put it on there. Then later I'll get Win XP upgrade cheap through my school, and it will be good. Thanks for your replies.

hubs8907
Thats the way to go

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 12/28/2004 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

I was gonna buy Win XP pro upgrade academic on newegg, but I got halfway through the order process and found out that K-12 students dont *qualify* for the academic price! Whats up with that? High school students dont have any cash either, just like university students.

hubs8907
 12/30/2004 05:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Doomed
Member

Posts: 170
Joined: 07/09/2004

Just for referance you can run 98se on a SATA drive (I am running it on one of my 4 machines).
You need to have a support floppy (or CD) for your HD, in my case maxblast for my maxtor SATA drive.

Why am I still using 98SE on one machine you may ask?
Because the motherboard can't cope with anything above a 2MB cache on a HD under 2000 or XP - it is a known problem (Asus A7N8X deluxe version 2.0). In theory I could flash the bios to solve this, but when I tried the MB would lock on booting with any bios revision higher then the 1.4 revision.

I spent days working all this out, and the number of times I formatted with 2000 before I realised it was a no starter........

-------------------------
Second Machine = AMD 64 3500+ with Zalman CNPS7000B | Gigabyte K8NF9 | 1GB 3200DDR Ballistic
120GB PATA | Asus 7300 graphics | Win XP service pack 2 | 480W Tagen PSU
My main machine is a Conroe E6600 - I'm so sorry!

Pirate of the Dwarf Cove
 12/30/2004 05:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tamerz
Elite

Posts: 1961
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (hubs8907 @ Dec 28 2004, 02:29 PM) I was gonna buy Win XP pro upgrade academic on newegg, but I got halfway through the order process and found out that K-12 students dont *qualify* for the academic price! Whats up with that? High school students dont have any cash either, just like university students.

hubs8907
Probably to keep parents from using it for themselves.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information