AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: OMG OMG
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/15/2003 12:00 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/16/2003 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kanavit
Senior Member

Posts: 2533
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (infiltrator @ Dec 16 2003, 05:07 AM)I would not say hard core, I would say addict I should be playing a lot less games I play a lot of games, but it's just not very practical. I've played games since the old Asteroids and ZX81, and I think 2 screens is more than enough. 3 would be cool too - but I'd rather want 3 seperate TFT screeens, so I could manage them better and even change the setup as I need it.

Only Flight Sims actually cater for more than 1 screen at the moment (but I wish game developers would put maps on the 2nd screen - imho we need to see more multi screen games!!.  It's just not a pracitcal solution for me - that's all. If I have 2 or 3 single screens I can lug one to LAN's if I need to - and can borrow a mate one, if he comes over to LAN. Also, for that money I can build my own, better system.
Dues X 2, neverwinter nights, nascar racing 2003, jk2, QuakeIII arena, Galactus III imperium, and Duke nukem: manhatten project supports more than 1 screen gaming.








-------------------------
--======== proud owner of new razor tarantula gaming keyboard ========--
 12/16/2003 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

LOL - I learnt something How do you get this working? I would like see this Although I'd rather see them being used for different things - like a map on NWN with you using the other to play in? In unreal perhaps like a scoreboard or map too? Looks good. I know you get software that does this kind of thing - Matrox use this stuff too methinks. Wonder if this is actually done ingame, or by software/adaptor though?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 12/16/2003 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricjax99
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

Look even if this wasn't bullsh** which it is you honestly think the radeon 9800PRO/XT can run resolutions of 6400 x 1200 and keep a frame rate above 0.1fps?

[a] No as it supports a max of 2048x1536 as far as i remember
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Also @Kanavit take your frame rate on a matrox par (which is the only card that has provision for 3 monitors) divide it by three and you have the overall frame rate.

ie. 50FPS = smooth divide it by 3 monitors = 17fps = jerky as a mofo

-------------------------
...regards teh' ricjax99
' ">http://tinyurl.com/25lp4
[Team CPUCITY | Air Cooled] 3DMark 2001 SE = 22299' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7793456 | AM3 = <a href=
 12/16/2003 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kanavit
Senior Member

Posts: 2533
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (infiltrator @ Dec 16 2003, 07:50 AM) LOL - I learnt something How do you get this working? I would like see this Although I'd rather see them being used for different things - like a map on NWN with you using the other to play in? In unreal perhaps like a scoreboard or map too? Looks good. I know you get software that does this kind of thing - Matrox use this stuff too methinks. Wonder if this is actually done ingame, or by software/adaptor though?
if you are using a Matrox Parhelia , here is a link that could help you find the out more.

Matrox Parhelia 256mb ' ">http://www.matrox.com/mga/products/parhelia/256mb.cfm

-------------------------
--======== proud owner of new razor tarantula gaming keyboard ========--
 12/16/2003 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well, that's why I suspect it is done via some adaptor. The Matrox line of cards are really good - but I'm not sure how good they are? I would be keen for a 2 monitor system as you have dual monitor output and the FPS is not effected that much - prolly get 80fps per screen instead of 1 x 200fps? (dunno really - general assumption here). I think 60fps or higher is ok for me - sometimes a little less - but 60fps is more than enough, but I find it jerks a bit with big explosions.

I think it is possible - esp with some of the impressive video splitters and stuff. If you could build that into a card - anything could be possible.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 12/16/2003 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricjax99
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (infiltrator @ Dec 16 2003, 08:11 AM) Well, that's why I suspect it is done via some adaptor. The Matrox line of cards are really good - but I'm not sure how good they are? I would be keen for a 2 monitor system as you have dual monitor output and the FPS is not effected that much - prolly get 80fps per screen instead of 1 x 200fps? (dunno really - general assumption here). I think 60fps or higher is ok for me - sometimes a little less - but 60fps is more than enough, but I find it jerks a bit with big explosions.

I think it is possible - esp with some of the impressive video splitters and stuff. If you could build that into a card - anything could be possible.
Think of new games frame rates divided by 3

-------------------------
...regards teh' ricjax99
' ">http://tinyurl.com/25lp4
[Team CPUCITY | Air Cooled] 3DMark 2001 SE = 22299' ">http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7793456 | AM3 = <a href=
 12/16/2003 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kanavit
Senior Member

Posts: 2533
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (infiltrator @ Dec 16 2003, 08:11 AM) Well, that's why I suspect it is done via some adaptor. The Matrox line of cards are really good - but I'm not sure how good they are? I would be keen for a 2 monitor system as you have dual monitor output and the FPS is not effected that much - prolly get 80fps per screen instead of 1 x 200fps? (dunno really - general assumption here). I think 60fps or higher is ok for me - sometimes a little less - but 60fps is more than enough, but I find it jerks a bit with big explosions.

I think it is possible - esp with some of the impressive video splitters and stuff. If you could build that into a card - anything could be possible.
i've read in Maximum PC a while ago, about the 3 monitor gaming support for the Parhelia , and they gave it very high marks. they tested a P4 2.4A system and ran Jedi Knight 2: jedi outcast and Quake III arena, and got very good performance. i would go check in archives at MaximumPC.com and search for Parhelia to learn more. imo


-------------------------
--======== proud owner of new razor tarantula gaming keyboard ========--
 12/16/2003 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
::Philix::Transa::
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 12/03/2003

QUOTE (infiltrator @ Dec 16 2003, 02:27 AM) And a few people were right - it looks downright ugly!!!
common man, how can you say it's ugly.
Ye, of course AMD rulez, but a slick look like that you wont find elsewhere.

I thought that maybe AMD has the same MACH with it's own chipset, but apperantly it's only for Intel...

ANyways, syste, like that sure to be nice to have!

-------------------------
My Webpage' ">http://www.geocities.com/fil_rios/forever
When the tyrant has disposed of foreign enemies by conquest or treaty, and there is nothing more to fear from them, then he is always stirring up some war or other, in order that the people may require a leader.
 12/16/2003 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
::Philix::Transa::
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 12/03/2003

QUOTE (Stealth Tiger @ Dec 16 2003, 04:45 AM) Ugly? Your not a hard core gamer are you? To a gamer thats the greatest monitor ever made. Thats also a hackers wet dream.
YOU right!!!

Gamers and hackers would be more then happy to lay a finger on that baby.

To all you ANTI-Intel looking system..... Forget about the Intel Inside, just look at the Screen!!

-------------------------
My Webpage' ">http://www.geocities.com/fil_rios/forever
When the tyrant has disposed of foreign enemies by conquest or treaty, and there is nothing more to fear from them, then he is always stirring up some war or other, in order that the people may require a leader.
 12/16/2003 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
infiltrator
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4334
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (:hilix::Transa:: @ Dec 16 2003, 08:27 AM) common man, how can you say it's ugly.
Ye, of course AMD rulez, but a slick look like that you wont find elsewhere.

I thought that maybe AMD has the same MACH with it's own chipset, but apperantly it's only for Intel...

ANyways, syste, like that sure to be nice to have!
I was not dissin' it cause it's Intel???? I was dissing it cause it just looks unpractical, at least for me. If you read my other posts, I don't like it cause I don't like the look of it - as well as the practicallity of it. I am not that anti-Intel like most others - I know AMD are the better choice - but I'm always open to see which is better. I've owned several Pentiums before and they were good in their time. I'm actually sick of the whole AMD vs Intel thing. Most times no-one has the facts and you find out people don't even know why they like AMD, or Intel - just that they've always like it cause all their mates have used it

WHY DOES IT ALWAYS HAVE TO BE AN AMD VS INTEL THING???

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 12/16/2003 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE (ricjax99 @ Dec 16 2003, 08:29 AM) - edit -

BTW, do you realise how old this is? i saw it back on FM months ago, its already been established the companys fake and you can't actually buy it 
It was believed to be fake. Turns out the company and its products are completely real. They were shown off at Comdex.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12830' ">http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12830

Philix, please do not double post. Edit your original post when you need to add something. And the Mach you were probably referring to is this' ">http://www.aceshardware.com/read.jsp?id=60000268. FX @ 2.8GHz baby! Can't be touched!

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 12/16/2003 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stealth Tiger
Member

Posts: 101
Joined: 12/09/2003

QUOTE (Ardrid @ Dec 16 2003, 10:34 AM) QUOTE (ricjax99 @ Dec 16 2003, 08:29 AM) - edit -

BTW, do you realise how old this is? i saw it back on FM months ago, its already been established the companys fake and you can't actually buy it 
It was believed to be fake. Turns out the company and its products are completely real. They were shown off at Comdex.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12830' ">http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12830

Philix, please do not double post. Edit your original post when you need to add something. And the Mach you were probably referring to is this' ">http://www.aceshardware.com/read.jsp?id=60000268. FX @ 2.8GHz baby! Can't be touched!
OMG your has 4 monitors on it.

-------------------------
Yield not to evils but, attack all the more boldly.

(and yes I liked my T:V sig better)
 12/18/2003 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
::Philix::Transa::
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 12/03/2003

Adrid

At least we know that monster is real.
About the Intel Vs. AMD thing... Did you read the last issue of MaximumPC?
THey had the INTEL VS. AMD VS. MAC.
The AMD 64 lost to Intel in the Banchmarks, but again, it wasn't the Nventive Mach II ...This Baby will Trully kill Intels PEE!

But Anyways, I want a PC like that on my table!!!On the Dinning Table lol....

-------------------------
My Webpage' ">http://www.geocities.com/fil_rios/forever
When the tyrant has disposed of foreign enemies by conquest or treaty, and there is nothing more to fear from them, then he is always stirring up some war or other, in order that the people may require a leader.
 12/18/2003 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pilot
Senior Member

Posts: 2910
Joined: 12/16/2003

Quick, what's the smiley for OH MY GOD....

-------------------------
Pilot
AMD 64 3000 @ 2.0GHz || Running Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate
Apple iBook G4 1.42GHz (PPC Core) || Running Apple OSX Tiger
 12/18/2003 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I didn't read the article, but I find it hard to believe that the FX-51 lost to the P4EE. It makes me wonder just how exactly did they bench it.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 12/19/2003 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ivan Andreevich
Senior Member

Posts: 2783
Joined: 10/06/2003

Any of you guys noticed that this site
http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/' ">http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/

is a RIPOFF off apple's section touting the G5?
http://www.apple.com/powermac/' ">http://www.apple.com/powermac/

Notice any similarity? These losers couldn't even come up with their own lies AND DESIGN. They had to steal apple's. ROFL I mean apple is pathetic so trying to copy apple is pathetic on the double.
 12/19/2003 03:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ÂMĐF®ëâĸ
Senior Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 12/02/2003

Then pick up the November 2003 issue of MaximumPC, and ya will see why.

Speaking of the 3.8GHz PC, it has been featured in January 2004 issue of MPC!

I just read it, and you'll see the rave review, but the maker had created the rat's nest in it! HORRIBLE wiring, but see it for yourself!

-------------------------
"Wild flowers may die, but the blooming idiots last forever!"

ÂMĐF®ëâĸ
PC Doctor of Jacksonville

InWin Q500N ATX, EPoX EP-8KHA+/AMD Athlon 1333/Thermaltake Volcano 6Cu+, ATI Xpert2000
 12/19/2003 03:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I don't feel like buying the issue for one review Care to tell me how they tested (apps, testbeds, etc.)?

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 12/19/2003 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
::Philix::Transa::
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 12/03/2003

Well first of all the PEE has a 2mb L3 cache, so it is a big advantage.
I don't know if the Machine they used is faster then the Nventive, but it seems pretty fast.

First of all, the MAc, if you look at AMD vs MAC, it lost to AMD badly ...but the PEE is still leading with on Banchmark solely. I odnt know how da [content edited] they did those test's , B/C it doesnt seems right...
THe FX-51 can be easily overcloaked and beat PEE.... especially the Nventive machine...!

-------------------------
My Webpage' ">http://www.geocities.com/fil_rios/forever
When the tyrant has disposed of foreign enemies by conquest or treaty, and there is nothing more to fear from them, then he is always stirring up some war or other, in order that the people may require a leader.
 12/19/2003 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
::Philix::Transa::
Member

Posts: 57
Joined: 12/03/2003

for now it's difficult to find the explicit leader - at about half the benchmarks Pentium 4 Extreme Edition won, whereas the other half is evidently after Athlon 64 FX-51. These two products are very different, so it's difficult to say who is the winner. While Athlon 64 added 10 to 30% as compared to Athlon XP due to the more advanced micro architecture, then the greater L3 cache adds 3 to 10% of performance to Pentium 4 Extreme Edition. As compared to the 2-5% of the rise in FSB/DDR speeds, this turned out to be not bad at all and quite promising.
If you're considering to upgrade to the Athlon 64 FX-51, you have got to have really deep pockets. One of the main disadvantage of the Athlon 64 FX-51 lies in its requirement for expensive registered DDR400 modules. Intel’s new CPU copes better than its AMD rival with streaming data processing and multimedia files encoding. Also, it appears quite efficient for multi-threading tasks, such as 3ds max or Photoshop. The newcomer from AMD, however, proved really fast in scientific tasks and office.

-------------------------
My Webpage' ">http://www.geocities.com/fil_rios/forever
When the tyrant has disposed of foreign enemies by conquest or treaty, and there is nothing more to fear from them, then he is always stirring up some war or other, in order that the people may require a leader.
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » OMG OMG

<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information