AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: $100 Laptops w/ AMD processor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/04/2005 10:54 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/04/2005 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

Check this out.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/9517785/' ">http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/9517785/

Personally I think its an awesome idea...

I'll be getting one. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />
 10/04/2005 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erasmus
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2545
Joined: 02/17/2005

Where does it say it has and AMD processor? Where it does it say...any specs?

-------------------------
CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 2.8ghz
RAM: G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600, 8gb - 2gbx4
GPU: ASUS HD 5770 (1gb, 850/1200)
MOBO: BIOSTAR TA790GXB3
PSU: Antec Earthwatts 650W
 10/04/2005 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE(Erasmus @ Oct 4 2005, 07:18 AM)Where does it say it has and AMD processor? Where it does it say...any specs?
[right][snapback]515848[/snapback][/right]


QUOTEAmong the key specs: A 500-megahertz processor (that was fast in the 1990s but slow by today's standards) by Advanced Micro Devices Inc. and flash memory instead of a hard drive with moving parts. To save on software costs, the laptops would run the freely available Linux operating system instead of Windows.

Right there actually.
 10/04/2005 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thuglife
Senior Member

Posts: 3072
Joined: 12/30/2004

it says that was fast in the 1990's but i was using a 400mhz one until 2002 lol
 10/04/2005 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

Actually its quite decent. When my dualie went down I docked my 400mhz tablet and used it as a desktop for a week. Besides gaming I could do anything I normally did on it. in fact I'm at school posting from it now. All this goes to say that I'm using a 400mhz processor thats pretty decent right now and they're planning on using a 500 mhz AMD cpu. That should be more than enough for standard word procesing. Browsing the web and even watching divx.

Xam
 10/04/2005 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

I assume this thing will use a version of the geode Processor? /huh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='huh.gif' />

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/04/2005 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

no way that was fast in 1990, in 1994 I got a top of the line compaq presario with a 100mhz Pentium. Looks cool tho

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 10/04/2005 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

of course 500mhz was fast in 1990, it didnt exist yet =p

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/04/2005 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

Yea, 500 Mhz was in 2000 ... They are about 10 years off on that statement

-------------------------
 10/04/2005 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

hmm....flash memory is a good idea to make it more durable...can you see little kids throwing that around with a hard drive in it??

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 10/04/2005 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

already been posted, not the same article but the same amd thing, crank powered


http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=57222' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=57222 see

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 10/04/2005 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

QUOTE(AthlonX2 @ Oct 4 2005, 02:58 PM)Yea, 500 Mhz was in 2000 ... They are about 10 years off on that statement
[right][snapback]516196[/snapback][/right]


I believe the statment was "1990's" which would include 1999 when I bought my 500mhz K6-2 =p

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/04/2005 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

In response to the "no 500mhz in 1990", note how it says 1990's, as in plural, as in the years between and including 1990 to 1999.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 10/04/2005 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

QUOTE(koolaidwa @ Oct 4 2005, 07:02 PM)Crank powered

/blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' /> From what I heard, it only runs 10 minutes continuously ... What's the point of it then? Not really a laptop then is it?

-------------------------
 10/04/2005 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

1min of cranking = 10min of runtime

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/04/2005 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

10 minutes on crank power isnt bad, something to just do emails or something


remeber u can plug this thing in, not sure about the a battery thing tho


but this isnt new topic lol

-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 10/04/2005 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

QUOTE(Immortal Lobster @ Oct 4 2005, 07:09 PM)1min of cranking = 10min of runtime
[right][snapback]516218[/snapback][/right]

Ah ... Well that's nice ... You also get some exercise /happy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='happy.gif' /> Hard for us geeks to do as we sit in front of the computer 24/7 /happy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='happy.gif' />

-------------------------
 10/04/2005 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

QUOTE(AthlonX2 @ Oct 4 2005, 03:13 PM)Ah ... Well that's nice ... You also get some exercise  /happy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='happy.gif' /> Hard for us geeks to do as we sit in front of the computer 24/7  /happy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='happy.gif' />
[right][snapback]516227[/snapback][/right]

haha yea...thats wat i was thinking, give the kids some excercise...

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 10/04/2005 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE(Immortal Lobster @ Oct 4 2005, 03:09 PM)1min of cranking = 10min of runtime
[right][snapback]516218[/snapback][/right]


lol.....that sounds sick..... /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Crank, wan.....yeah you get the idea. Juvenile humour.

QUOTE(technic58 @ Oct 4 2005, 03:14 PM)haha yea...thats wat i was thinking, give the kids some excercise...
[right][snapback]516229[/snapback][/right]

Hmm.....I think they get enough cranking done on their own....
 10/04/2005 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

oh yea, that 500Mhz AMD processor uses like 1 watt or something /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' />

i was waiting for them to do this, i just don't think it will be under 100$, the LCD alone costs more than that...

i think 150$ is a bit more reasonable

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information