AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: $129 SLI mobo on par with the best of the best?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/24/2005 03:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/24/2005 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

Jetway 939GT4-SLI' ">http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2506&p=1
i have a new favorite... who would've guess that:
1) Jetway
2) SLI mobo for $130
3) one of the best OC mobos there is!!
4) three (3) PCI-E 16x slots!!!!

read on, i find it very, very interesting... /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 08/24/2005 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

very interesting... ill definately consider this mobo when i get a new computer if i decide 2 go sli

-------------------------
 08/24/2005 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

i was thinking whether those rumors that you'll be able to crossfire ATI cards on any mobo that has at least two PCI-E... i always found it unlikely, but i never found somewhere saying "NO"... hat would be so cool!

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 08/24/2005 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

i cant read the article right now, but u could always just mod the Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D to SLI....thatd b a good OCin mobo for $133...

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 08/24/2005 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTEbut u could always just mod the Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D to SLI.

i heard its not possible to mod the newer Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D's to allow SLi

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 08/24/2005 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

QUOTE(someone124 @ Aug 24 2005, 11:51 AM)i heard its not possible to mod the newer Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D's to allow SLi
[right][snapback]488108[/snapback][/right]


sure someone, just throw a wrench into my plan..... /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' /> /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

i think with the older ones u just need a pencil to mod it tho...

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 08/24/2005 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

QUOTE(technic58 @ Aug 24 2005, 02:55 PM)sure someone, just throw a wrench into my plan..... /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />  /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

i think with the older ones u just need a pencil to mod it tho...
[right][snapback]488109[/snapback][/right]

read here' ">http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2337

and

here' ">http://www.anandtech.com/cpuch...ts/showdoc.aspx?i=2322

nvidia and DFI clamped down on this real quick...

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 08/24/2005 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

QUOTE(MrWicked1968 @ Aug 24 2005, 12:02 PM)read here' ">http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2337

and

here' ">http://www.anandtech.com/cpuch...ts/showdoc.aspx?i=2322

nvidia and DFI clamped down on this real quick...
[right][snapback]488116[/snapback][/right]


QUOTEUPDATE 2/05/2005: nVidia has acted to prevent, or at least make it more difficult, to mod the Ultra board to SLI. First, DFI has advised us, and posted on their website, that they will NOT sell the SLI bridge to buyers of the Ultra board. Second, nVidia has advised us that future shipments of the Ultra chipset have been modified so that the mod to SLI will no longer be possible. An additional side effect of this second action is that the "Dual Video" mode, which performs at about 90% of SLI performance levels, will only work with nVidia SLI drivers 66.75 or earlier. If you do a quick check of web driver postings you will see it is now very difficult to find 66.75 drivers. With a chipset modded to SLI the "Dual Video" mode worked through 70.xx versions of the nVidia driver. nVidia also made it clear they will continue to make driver changes to prevent functioning of any "non-standard" (8X/8X) operation of their SLI driver. This also throws into question whether the VIA "dual graphics" mode on the 894 Pro chipset will ever work with nVidia graphics cards. If you are interested in the current UT Ultra-D we suggest you buy one now if you can find it. Future versions of the UT Ultra-D will not have the same capabilities as a result of these actions.

ok thanks, good info

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 08/24/2005 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

Jetway? I remember they used to be a truely dire motherboard manaufacturer.

Congrats to them on taking a set up to the big boys playing field. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

Oooh.....just saw their Voltage options.....they look set to give DFI a run for their money. Lol....if only they would make a nice colour scheme.
 08/24/2005 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

wow, looks good

too bad its not avaliable yet....looks like it will be soon though

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813153030' ">http://www.newegg.com/Product/...p?Item=N82E16813153030

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 08/24/2005 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeyPez
Senior Member

Posts: 1528
Joined: 10/14/2004

QUOTE(Le_Petit_Lapin @ Aug 24 2005, 04:15 PM)Jetway? I remember they used to be a truely dire motherboard manaufacturer.

Congrats to them on taking a set up to the big boys playing field.  /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

Oooh.....just saw their Voltage options.....they look set to give DFI a run for their money. Lol....if only they would make a nice colour scheme.
[right][snapback]488153[/snapback][/right]


Lol, yeah I agree about the colors...

Nice board and looks to be a good alternative.


-------------------------

Vinatge AMD at SocketAplus
A single jpeg will make fat little rich kids cry. That is pretty powerful! - AndrewZorn
 08/24/2005 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

QUOTE(axy1985 @ Aug 24 2005, 11:12 AM)Jetway 939GT4-SLI' ">http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2506&p=1
i have a new favorite... who would've guess that:
1) Jetway
2) SLI mobo for $130
3) one of the best OC mobos there is!!
4) three (3) PCI-E 16x slots!!!!

read on, i find it very, very interesting... /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]488092[/snapback][/right]

Look into my eyes into the eyes not around the eyes Axy ur favorite mobo is the Av8 Deluxe * Snaps fingers* your back in the room.


Stolen from Little Britain :**

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 08/24/2005 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
koolaidwa
Senior Member

Posts: 9068
Joined: 04/06/2004

sli mobos are so cheap right now, u can get almost any brand for 120 for the starter sli boards



-------------------------

[b' ">http://di.fm ..... CAT - "Oh no, I'm Dwain Dibley"
Just say no to Black Eyed Peas! ..... I Fish Therefore I Am!
 08/24/2005 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

QUOTE(O'Neil @ Aug 24 2005, 03:57 PM)Look into my eyes into the eyes not around the eyes Axy ur favorite mobo is the Av8 Deluxe * Snaps fingers* your back in the room.
Stolen from Little Britain :**
[right][snapback]488187[/snapback][/right]

/laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />
i have an AGP card remember /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' /> i still like you O'Neil, don't worry /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 08/24/2005 08:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NetZeroZeus
Senior Member

Posts: 685
Joined: 06/18/2005

I just read that and was about to start a topic lol, the only turn-off is that the voltage options aren't adequate for UTT RAM, but I guess it's ok......

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice@275x10 - Mushkin Redline XP4000+@3.2v on 180 div. - DFI LanParty UT Nforce4 Ultra-D - Leadtek 7800GTX@540/1425 ⌐_⌐- Creative Soundblaster Live! 24-bit - Seagate SATA 160Gig HDD - CD-RW - DVD-RW - Antec Truepower 2.0 550w - 1337 Case..not - XP-90C, VF-700Cu and a whole lot of fans
 08/24/2005 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

yeah, you would need at least 3.5V for them, but hey, you can still do a lot with these high-voltaged RAM with 3.25V.... so it's very good /happy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='happy.gif' />

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 08/24/2005 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

QUOTE(axy1985 @ Aug 24 2005, 04:10 PM)/laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />
i have an AGP card remember /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' /> i still like you O'Neil, don't worry /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />
[right][snapback]488279[/snapback][/right]

:********* u luv me axy lol

( Feels loved)

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 08/24/2005 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thuglife
Senior Member

Posts: 3072
Joined: 12/30/2004

any better than the lanparty ?
 08/24/2005 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NetZeroZeus
Senior Member

Posts: 685
Joined: 06/18/2005

The non-overclocked performance is better, it overclocks higher on stock multiplier than LanParty, so overclocked performance is better, also, it's at least 40 cheaper than LanParty SLI-DR, yet, offers the same exact functions, I say Jetway pulled a big one on us, pretty nice......

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3500+ Venice@275x10 - Mushkin Redline XP4000+@3.2v on 180 div. - DFI LanParty UT Nforce4 Ultra-D - Leadtek 7800GTX@540/1425 ⌐_⌐- Creative Soundblaster Live! 24-bit - Seagate SATA 160Gig HDD - CD-RW - DVD-RW - Antec Truepower 2.0 550w - 1337 Case..not - XP-90C, VF-700Cu and a whole lot of fans
 08/25/2005 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE(NetZeroZeus @ Aug 24 2005, 04:16 PM)I just read that and was about to start a topic lol, the only turn-off is that the voltage options aren't adequate for UTT RAM, but I guess it's ok......
[right][snapback]488286[/snapback][/right]


I think that only the DFI boards have voltages that are adequate for BH5 UTT.

As it stands though 3.25v isnt bad, compared to what some *cough*Asus*cough* boards give you.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information