AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: DFI SLI-DR & NF4 Ultra-D
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/04/2005 01:18 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/04/2005 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

DFI finally is going to release their SLI-DR and NF4 Ultra-D motherboards.

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Press/pr...er_c...343.jsp&SITE=US' ">http://www.dfi.com.tw/Press/pr...RL=arch343.jsp&SITE=US



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 01/04/2005 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

They are both SLI....

2 PCI Express 16x slots.

SLI is really only the chip that bridges the 2 video cards.

I want a mobo with 1 16x slot.

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 01/04/2005 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

sli has a pci e 16x and a pci e 8x, there not both 16x

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 01/04/2005 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

QUOTE (IntelOwnsALL @ Jan 4 2005, 10:38 AM) sli has a pci e 16x and a pci e 8x, there not both 16x
Same difference. Video cards dont even use up enough bandwith to use the full capacity of PCI Express x4 let alone x8 or x16.

Oh well...

I can't wait to bulid one and get my grubby hands on an ATI rig with PCI Express

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 01/04/2005 01:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

Yeah I went ahead and edited my post but I belive that the pics might be wrong or something becuase the NF4 Ultra-D should not be SLI but I have no idea really.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 01/04/2005 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

QUOTE (SLaY3r @ Jan 4 2005, 10:44 AM) Yeah I went ahead and edited my post but I belive that the pics might be wrong or something becuase the NF4 Ultra-D should not be SLI but I have no idea really.
It's a motherboard's manufacturer's way of making another model for cheap. They just solder over some pins for firewire or other features and make it another motherboard. As you can see, in the right picture i believe some SATA ports are taken away? I can't tell what that is.

DFI just wont give you the little card that bridges the 2 ports. In the lower-end model.

It kind of sucks if you want to use an ATI card but dont want to pay for the SLI chip, but if you go with the non SLI board it looks like you get some features taken away.

When Asus makes it, I'll trust that one. If MSI makes one, I won't touch it with a 10 foot pole.

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 01/04/2005 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SLaY3r
Senior Member

Posts: 3793
Joined: 03/17/2004

Yeah I never thought of it like that, and yeah all I noticed different was the SATA Ports. So like you said they just won't give you the bridge for the Ultra-D.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD, OCZ, or ATI
"bv, if Mormons were real, you'd be one" - SDA
 01/05/2005 03:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reholli
Senior Member

Posts: 357
Joined: 11/19/2003

QUOTE (SLaY3r @ Jan 4 2005, 10:50 AM)Yeah I never thought of it like that, and yeah all I noticed different was the SATA Ports.  So like you said they just won't give you the bridge for the Ultra-D.
Yeah, in the pictures in this post, the SATA port layout is different, but the RAM slots are the same color. If you go to DFI's website and compare the larger pictures for each board on each board's respective page, the pictures are identical, that is, of exactly the same board, each component in the same place and mounted at exactly the same angle; only the RAM slots are colored differently between the 2, obviously with a paint program of some type. Who knows what these boards will actually look like. Anyone know what Dual Xpress Graphics (DXG) is? 2 PCI-e 16x slots but not SLI, apparently? Advanced preparation for ATI's multicard solution? Nice looking board(s)...with questions.
 01/05/2005 06:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

Nice, I like DFI motherboards colour styling. I might get one of those.

Only thing is neither of them have AGP ports do they? So new motherboard also means new GFX card. Hmm....I think I just began to like PCI express a whole lot less.
 01/05/2005 08:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
danmagicman7
Senior Member

Posts: 3011
Joined: 11/09/2003

QUOTE (reholli @ Jan 5 2005, 12:07 AM) Yeah, in the pictures in this post, the SATA port layout is different, but the RAM slots are the same color. If you go to DFI's website and compare the larger pictures for each board on each board's respective page, the pictures are identical, that is, of exactly the same board, each component in the same place and mounted at exactly the same angle; only the RAM slots are colored differently between the 2, obviously with a paint program of some type. Who knows what these boards will actually look like. Anyone know what Dual Xpress Graphics (DXG) is? 2 PCI-e 16x slots but not SLI, apparently? Advanced preparation for ATI's multicard solution? Nice looking board(s)...with questions.
All it is is an SLI setup without sending you the SLI chip.

-------------------------
Join the anti-signature club!<br><br>
 01/05/2005 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

SLI or no SLI, the board look sweet! if DFI manages to get this one working as well as their 250GB did, we'll have a definite winner. i can't wait to see how they perform.
very interesting that it seems they're trying to get rid of that SLI bridge... but isn't that supposed to BE SLI? i mean, the chipset itself works with the bridge, doesn't it? how could they remove it just like that? my guess would be they somehow "integrate" it between those two... very original.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/05/2005 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

I'm confused about the what i think are ram slots near the cpu. Is there 2 for DDR and 2 for DDR2?

hubs8907
 01/05/2005 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Aggressor Prime
Senior Member

Posts: 1955
Joined: 12/31/2003

SLI is between two PCI-Es at 8x not one at 16x and the other at 8x.
The Ultra board has two 16x PCI-E (16x and 2x) for dual/quad monitors. It is not for SLI.
And no, the boards do not have DDR2. The DDR slots are seperated into channels for dual channel DDR.

-------------------------
ComputerBB Moderator
Dell Inspiron 1720 (Core 2 Duo T7300 : GeForce 8600M GT)
BF2142 Brigadier General (All Unlocks)
 01/05/2005 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdrulesanduknowit
Senior Member

Posts: 1273
Joined: 09/04/2004

ausome i want the lan party sli for my 64 when i get one so i wont be upgrading for a while unless i get a good job soon
 01/05/2005 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hubs8907
Senior Member

Posts: 1647
Joined: 06/10/2004

QUOTE The DDR slots are seperated into channels for dual channel DDR.


I see it now. Something on the motherboard was bocking part of 2 of the ram slots. They looked physically different but now i see they are the same.

hubs8907
 01/06/2005 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
konfuzd
Senior Member

Posts: 1535
Joined: 11/13/2003

Actually, dfi isn't using the card style SLI system like asus and msi. Look closely at the picture. That's 48 jumpers in groups of 8. All the difference is extra stuff and some SATA ports.

-------------------------
If all else fails, hit it harder.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information