AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Fibre Channel
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/23/2005 08:26 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/23/2005 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

I was checking on Seagates site and noticed they have fibre channel 2Gbit sec, 15.4K drives, now that channel is slower then SATAII (3Gbit?) but does the 15k RPM make up for it ? I think that SATA II needs SATAII drives to run at that speed right ?
http://www.seagate.com/cda/pro...scsa...081,663,00.html' ">http://www.seagate.com/cda/pro...ail/0,1081,663,00.html

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 03/23/2005 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
10stagepipelineX10pipelines
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/19/2003

Actually you mean 2 gigabits/second as that is what is the highest grade fibre channel interface comes in. Sata II is 300Megabits/s. Fibre channel owns hands down, but its very expensive..

-------------------------
Opteron 175
2 GB Crucial Value Ram
Asus A8R MVP Deluxe
Gigabyte 7800GT
PCP&C 510 Turbo Cool SLI

Lesson learned: DON'T buy Tyan motherboards.......

 03/23/2005 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

I looked online but of course nothing on NG or ZZF, wil check pricewatch

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 03/23/2005 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
10stagepipelineX10pipelines
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/19/2003

Are you running a server farm or something?? If you have money to burn then get you a Fujitsu Fibre channel interfaced 15,000 RPM hard drive.

-------------------------
Opteron 175
2 GB Crucial Value Ram
Asus A8R MVP Deluxe
Gigabyte 7800GT
PCP&C 510 Turbo Cool SLI

Lesson learned: DON'T buy Tyan motherboards.......

 03/23/2005 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

Sort of off topic but are there any harddrives faster than 15k rpm?

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 03/23/2005 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

QUOTE (Carlz0r @ Mar 23 2005, 06:33 PM) Sort of off topic but are there any harddrives faster than 15k rpm?
15.4
no I'm not doing any server farm or anything, I was just curious. I like to fantasize.

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 03/23/2005 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

QUOTE (shards_of_glass @ Mar 23 2005, 06:34 PM) 15.4
no I'm not doing any server farm or anything, I was just curious. I like to fantasize.
I was meaning more like 20k or something, as 400 rpm isn't much faster.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 03/23/2005 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
10stagepipelineX10pipelines
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/19/2003

QUOTE Sort of off topic but are there any harddrives faster than 15k rpm?..


Solid state would be the next thing after 15,000 RPM grade.

Bitmicro link' ">http://www.bitmicro.com if you curious about these drives.


-------------------------
Opteron 175
2 GB Crucial Value Ram
Asus A8R MVP Deluxe
Gigabyte 7800GT
PCP&C 510 Turbo Cool SLI

Lesson learned: DON'T buy Tyan motherboards.......

 03/23/2005 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtrupi
Senior Member

Posts: 638
Joined: 07/10/2004

QUOTE (10stagepipelineX10pipelines @ Mar 23 2005, 04:41 PM) Actually you mean 2 gigabits/second as that is what is the highest grade fibre channel interface comes in. Sata II is 300Megabits/s. Fibre channel owns hands down, but its very expensive..
4.25Gbps FC is out, but while drives exist they are not generally available.
 03/23/2005 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
10stagepipelineX10pipelines
Senior Member

Posts: 733
Joined: 10/19/2003

Wow even faster than 2gb/s, thx for the info. That must be a recent upgrade.

-------------------------
Opteron 175
2 GB Crucial Value Ram
Asus A8R MVP Deluxe
Gigabyte 7800GT
PCP&C 510 Turbo Cool SLI

Lesson learned: DON'T buy Tyan motherboards.......

 03/23/2005 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtrupi
Senior Member

Posts: 638
Joined: 07/10/2004

QUOTE (10stagepipelineX10pipelines @ Mar 23 2005, 06:40 PM)That must be a recent updgrade.
yes' ">http://www.seagate.com/cda/new...,1121,2037%5E3,00.html
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information