AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Varying PCI Express on new nForce4 MOBO
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/28/2005 01:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2005 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeyPez
Senior Member

Posts: 1528
Joined: 10/14/2004

I know its a dumb question but what does the 16x multiplier and the 1x multiplier on the new nForce4 mobo's PCI express.
I am assuming that is the speed that its is rated.
One more quick dumb question, can a PCi video card run on a PIC express slot better than an AGP?

Sorry but I have been a little retarded lately.

-------------------------

Vinatge AMD at SocketAplus
A single jpeg will make fat little rich kids cry. That is pretty powerful! - AndrewZorn
 03/28/2005 02:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

The names like x1, x2 and x16 have to do with the number of "lanes" that are on the PCI Express bus. A PCI Express x1 bus can transfer 250MB per second in each direction for a total bandwidth of 500MB per second. Add on another lane and you have a PCI Express x2 bus that has twice the total bandwidth. An x16 bus is basically 16 x1 buses that are grouped together giving a total bandwidth of about 8GB per second.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 03/28/2005 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

And what about his PCI videocard? Will a standard PCI slot on a PCIe mobo be a faster one or just the same?

Some benchmarks for nforce4 give the impression that also PCI will be faster, but that is just a wild guess....



-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 03/28/2005 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

The PCIe 1x slots that may eventualy replace PCI all together are much smaller and physicaly and not compatible with any PCI cards.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
 03/28/2005 09:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

The Standard PCI slot in PCI-E board...what do you think? The Standard PCI slot is still STANDARD. There is no different for performance whatever a standard PCI slot on mobo of PCI-E....non-PCI-E...

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 03/28/2005 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (blizard @ Mar 28 2005, 04:58 PM)And what about his PCI videocard? Will a standard PCI slot on a PCIe mobo be a faster one or just the same?

Some benchmarks for nforce4 give the impression that also PCI will be faster, but that is just a wild guess....
Nope, PCI will still be old and slow. If someone found a way to make the PCI bus appear faster on a board that supports PCI Express, then they've done something very strange to make it look that way.

How PCI will be handled in hardware is probably by the use of a PCI to PCI Express bridge. PCI Express is not hardware compatible with PCI, so you can't plug a PCI card into a PCI Express slot. However, PCI Express is backwards compatible in software. Instead of the PCI bus going from the slot to the southbridge, it'll go from the slot to the bridge chip. The bridge will patch the PCI data into a PCI Express bus and send it on its way. The slowest link is still the PCI bus, so PCI devices still won't be able to send or receive data faster than they would normally.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 03/29/2005 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

QUOTE
The slowest link is still the PCI bus, so PCI devices still won't be able to send or receive data faster than they would normally.


Some devices AFAIK are still technically ISA, like the floppy drive, parallel and serial port. Although I did read somwhere that they are on a 33MHz ISA software compatible bus called LPC or something like that. I could be wrong though but I think that it the slowest link

srg

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information