AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: overclocking help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/29/2005 02:30 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/29/2005 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

building my friends computer over spring break. here is the config:

AMD 3200+ 939
DFI Ultra-D NF4
Corsair XMS Extreme 512 x 2 w/ Platinum Head Spreader 2-3-2-6
Thermaltake XP-120
Enermax 120mm 101cfm
3 x Thermaltake Smartcase fan 80mm 75cfm

any ideas on the max this can overclock for cpu/memory?


-------------------------
 03/29/2005 02:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahul3111
Member

Posts: 138
Joined: 03/02/2005

nice setup man....i think u can go 250FSb easily after that u have to decrese the HTT and increase some voltage........but i think 250 will be nice and safe overclock........

-------------------------
The GOOD ASUS A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2.0 | Barton 2500@220x11FSB | KingsTon 2x256 MB PC3200 | FX5200Ultra(325/500) | Audigy2 | Creative 5.1 THX Certified
The BAD MSI K8N NEO PLATINUM | 2800+Clawhammer@260x9FSB | ASUS StarIce | 2x256 MB PC<
 03/29/2005 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE any ideas on the max this can overclock for cpu/memory?

Lol....only way to find out is to try it! But, the components are sweet, a DFI NForce4, lol....your mortherboard certainly isnt going to hold you back!

Yeah...XP120 + 101CFM fan should keep the processor cool. Try for 2.7Ghz. Why not? If it gets too hot, slow it down a bit.

Take it up in speed slowly and easily though. Theres no rush.

Good Luck.
 03/29/2005 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

well your friend must not hav a price limit. VERY nice aray of components. also wat PSU will u use? ull need some decent voltages and wattages.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 03/29/2005 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

QUOTE (technic58 @ Mar 29 2005, 06:20 AM)well your friend must not hav a price limit. VERY nice aray of components. also wat PSU will u use? ull need some decent voltages and wattages.
the price limit was $1400 with a monitor. the psu is this one Ultra X-Connect 500w PSU' ">http://www.xoxide.com/ultra-x-connect-500-watt.html.

Unfortunately, friend im building it for is somewhat optimistic about how easy overclocking is and building a computer is ... He's a noob to this also.

Here are his comments about overclocking ...

- wow overclocking is so hard...cough cough
- i've read 3 tutorials so far on overclocking...wow big deal
- all you do is change the multiplier speed for the processor and use ClockGen for the right motherboard + processor to overclock
- i'm gonna look @ more tutorials and find out how to build a computer and maybe i will try building myself
- : building = easy as crap.
overclocking = harder than building but not that frikin hard, you just try different combonations with multipliers, wow so far x9.0 is the best for this computer. it got it up to 1 GHZ from 900mhz, average speed was 897.3 MHZ ... not hard @ all

Any suggestions on what I can say to him? Also, how much is a decent price for building this computer and overclocking it?


-------------------------
 03/29/2005 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

hmm...well u havent named the monitor yet...and u dont hav a video card....as long as u dont get an X850 or somthin it should b below 1400 bucks...but also u cant go buyin a real expensive monitor now either....

anyway, about ur friend. u kinda need to explain to him that u cant run a duron 900 at 10GHz. he needs to kno that every chip has a limit.

he also needs to kno that while OCin, there are a lot of things to take into account, like memory cooling, memory voltages, memory quality and limits, heat sink, thermal compound, voltages of the PSU, capabilities of the motherboard....

i think u should let him try it himself.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 03/29/2005 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

The monitor is Viewsonic A91F+ ... The video card is X800XL. I havent stated all the specs here though. But as a newbie ... a DFI Ultra-D is something which you cant handle.

-------------------------
 03/29/2005 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

QUOTE (technic58 @ Mar 29 2005, 06:05 PM) anyway, about ur friend. u kinda need to explain to him that u cant run a duron 900 at 10GHz. he needs to kno that every chip has a limit.

he also needs to kno that while OCin, there are a lot of things to take into account, like memory cooling, memory voltages, memory quality and limits, heat sink, thermal compound, voltages of the PSU, capabilities of the motherboard....

i think u should let him try it himself.
Durons can run at a 100 mHz overclock easily. Also, let him know that with Athlon 64's, you can only lower the multiplier.

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
 03/29/2005 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

QUOTE (Carlz0r @ Mar 29 2005, 06:34 PM) QUOTE (technic58 @ Mar 29 2005, 06:05 PM) anyway, about ur friend. u kinda need to explain to him that u cant run a duron 900 at 10GHz. he needs to kno that every chip has a limit.

he also needs to kno that while OCin, there are a lot of things to take into account, like memory cooling, memory voltages, memory quality and limits, heat sink, thermal compound, voltages of the PSU, capabilities of the motherboard....

i think u should let him try it himself.
Durons can run at a 100 mHz overclock easily. Also, let him know that with Athlon 64's, you can only lower the multiplier.
lol up there i meant 10GHz not 1.0GHz. and yea durons can OC100 MHz easily...in fact ive got a 2nd PC thats doin jus that.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 03/29/2005 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AthlonX2
Senior Member

Posts: 1333
Joined: 11/14/2004

Here are all the specs:

AMD 3200+ 939
DFI Ultra-D NF4
Corsair XMS Extreme 512 x 2 w/ Platinum Head Spreader 2-3-2-6
ATI X800XL
NEC ND-3520A
Hitachi 250 GB SATA
Thermaltake XP-120
Enermax 120mm 101cfm
3 x Thermaltake Smartcase fan 80mm 75cfm
Ultra X-Connect 500w PSU


-------------------------
 03/29/2005 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Carlz0r
Senior Member

Posts: 5326
Joined: 02/07/2004

QUOTE (technic58 @ Mar 29 2005, 06:42 PM) QUOTE (Carlz0r @ Mar 29 2005, 06:34 PM) QUOTE (technic58 @ Mar 29 2005, 06:05 PM) anyway, about ur friend. u kinda need to explain to him that u cant run a duron 900 at 10GHz. he needs to kno that every chip has a limit.

he also needs to kno that while OCin, there are a lot of things to take into account, like memory cooling, memory voltages, memory quality and limits, heat sink, thermal compound, voltages of the PSU, capabilities of the motherboard....

i think u should let him try it himself.
Durons can run at a 100 mHz overclock easily. Also, let him know that with Athlon 64's, you can only lower the multiplier.
lol up there i meant 10GHz not 1.0GHz. and yea durons can OC100 MHz easily...in fact ive got a 2nd PC thats doin jus that.
I dont see 10 gHz anywhere except your post Were you trying to make a point or did you read his post wrong?

-------------------------
The fanboyism issue got worse. I'm gone (for now) got better again, I'm occasionally back.<br><br>Don't be stupid. Conroe > K8L SAYS WHO? K8L > Conroe SAYS WHO? No Benches = No Comparision<br>PortalForums Admin
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information