AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Ram
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/16/2005 02:16 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/16/2005 02:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

hi there, i have some question about ram, for example.. PC3200 256MB CL3, what is the CL3 for? how if it is CL2? or CL2.5?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 03/16/2005 03:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dropadrop
Senior Member

Posts: 502
Joined: 10/07/2003

Cas Latency. How many processor cycles before it can read or write into the memory. (less is better)
 03/16/2005 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Franky
Senior Member

Posts: 317
Joined: 01/06/2005

QUOTE (dropadrop @ Mar 15 2005, 11:28 PM) Cas Latency. How many processor cycles before it can read or write into the memory. (less is better)
expanding on that...
Every clock cycle of your prcess is a "cl" in aspect. If you ram is CL3 then it takes 3 cycles for infomation to be processed through the ram. now your ram is pc 3200 (400mhz actual) so, Frequency = 1/Time so, T = 1/Frequency(in Hz)
T= 1/400000
T = 0.0000025 (seconds)
It takes 0.0000025 seconds to do a cycle of the ram. 0.0000075 for the CL3 ram.

cl2.5 would be
0.00000625 seconds

cl2 would be
0.000005 seconds

-------------------------
Proud Member Of:
AMD Forums' ">http://forums.amd.com
Twisted Mod Forums' ">http://www.twistedforums.com/forums/
nVidia Forums' ">http://forums.nvidia.com
ProCooling' ">http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/index.php
DFI Street' ">http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/index.php
<a href='
 03/16/2005 06:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zincschumacher
Senior Member

Posts: 1088
Joined: 09/05/2004

Right, but remember, this performance difference is not clearly observed. It is not necessary to put extra money for lower CL if your budget is tight.

-------------------------

------Zinc Schumacher------
 03/16/2005 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dropadrop
Senior Member

Posts: 502
Joined: 10/07/2003

Yes, it really seems to depend on the kind of application how much it hurts. If you are building a gaming computer, and are trying to decide between expensive low latency ram or something else, you can be sure you will get more of a boost by spending that extra 100€ on a faster videocard.
 03/16/2005 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

lower latencies are really important only for getting those last few numbers from a benchmark, or if you like overclocking and can loosen up the RAM timings for higher frequencies.

Latency really is more important for AMD processors though, we don't have high frequencies like the Intels so they can afford to 'waste' more clock cycles.
 03/16/2005 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

The performance difference between low and high latencies is not as high as you may think, you'd be lucky to see a 5% increase on low latency memeory.

Where tighter timings do come into play is in overclocking. The tighter the timeings, the more overclocking headroom you will generally have, because as you increase the bus, you loosten the timings to go a little further.

Also, while timings don't do much for average users, the command rate does. PC3200 with a 2T command rate performs similarly to PC2700 at 1T.

-Adam
 03/16/2005 01:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cow187
Senior Member

Posts: 1995
Joined: 08/13/2004

Difference between Cas 2 and cas 3 memory (2.5 is in the middle as well) is about 3%, no where near the extra $120 you'll pay for it.

Only time you should get memory better than value ram is for agresive overclocking, and high budget rigs.

-------------------------
AMD64 3500+ Newcastle
Asus A8V Deluxe
2x512mb DDR400
ATI X850 Pro @ X850 XT
NEC 3500 16x DVD
470W Enermax Noisetaker
Viewsonic VP171b 17" 8ms LCD
 03/28/2005 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

thx for everyone help! now i know what is it!

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 03/30/2005 03:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DcSK
Deprecated

Posts: 262
Joined: 02/04/2005

ehh.... btw, did anyone know what program that can test the ram performance?

-------------------------
Well I tried to make it Sunday, But I got so dxmn depressed, That I set my sights on Monday, And I got myself undressed, <br>I ain't ready for the altar, But I do agree there's times, When a woman sure, Can be a friend of mine. <br><br>Well, I keep on thinkin' 'bout you, Sister golden hair surprise, And I just can't live without you, Can't you see it in my eyes, <br>I've been one poor correspondent, And I been too, too hard to find, But it doesn't mean, You ain
 03/30/2005 04:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahul3111
Member

Posts: 138
Joined: 03/02/2005

QUOTE (DcSK @ Mar 30 2005, 12:49 PM) ehh.... btw, did anyone know what program that can test the ram performance?
sisoft sandra's memory bandwidth test....or there is memtest86.....

-------------------------
The GOOD ASUS A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2.0 | Barton 2500@220x11FSB | KingsTon 2x256 MB PC3200 | FX5200Ultra(325/500) | Audigy2 | Creative 5.1 THX Certified
The BAD MSI K8N NEO PLATINUM | 2800+Clawhammer@260x9FSB | ASUS StarIce | 2x256 MB PC<
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information