AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: question about raid
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/02/2006 12:14 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2006 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adudley
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/09/2005

do both drives have to be the same size? if not i have 200 gb and a 120 one is sata one is ide. if suppose they dont have to be same size is there any benefit on using raid? also how would one go about setting sumit like this up.

all help as always is appriciated

.aaron

-------------------------
amd 64 3400 newcastle (stock)
1gb ram
ati x700
120gb wd ide hdd
200 gb maxtor sata
sb audigy 2
 11/02/2006 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

I dont think you can raid sata to ide. It would be a odd setup even if possible to say the least. Maybe use a sata to ide adaptor. You must first make sure your hdd controller offers raid. And if its ide, sata raid or both. Many only offer sata raid (less part on mobo needed I guess). At any rate sata is MORE stable raid build sinc eit has far far better on the fly error correction and NCQ. Go sata raid if you want best you can per $.

Drives dont have to be same size but best if it is.
Raid 0 is the fastest. It will help the most with sustained data transfer rate, burst will go up some too (though it is less noticable in real use). It will persay make a game load faster BUT not run faster once loaded. So benefits of raid truely depend on what you do. For most users its a waiste of extra storage space. I know of alot of folks that went raid only to drop it latter. Gains didnt justify the problems nor lost data space.
 11/02/2006 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: adudley
do both drives have to be the same size? if not i have 200 gb and a 120 one is sata one is ide. if suppose they dont have to be same size is there any benefit on using raid? also how would one go about setting sumit like this up.

all help as always is appriciated

.aaron



RAID works better with matching drives. I have never seen a SATA to IDE converter. You might be able to do software RAID but the performance would be poor. RAID 1 with two drive will set to the smaller of the drives. I believe RAID 0 also is the smaller of the two.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/02/2006 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adudley
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/09/2005

hey thanks for the rapid responce, consiering what has been said maybe raid isnt really for me, yeah i play a few games and all but admittidly i cant see the overall gain. of course i want stability again gb for £ is it really worth it ?????

if anyone else has opinions and ideas on this feel free to post

all help is apprcoated

.aaron

-------------------------
amd 64 3400 newcastle (stock)
1gb ram
ati x700
120gb wd ide hdd
200 gb maxtor sata
sb audigy 2
 11/02/2006 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: adudley
hey thanks for the rapid responce, consiering what has been said maybe raid isnt really for me, yeah i play a few games and all but admittidly i cant see the overall gain. of course i want stability again gb for £ is it really worth it ?????

if anyone else has opinions and ideas on this feel free to post

all help is apprcoated

.aaron



RAID 1 SATA would give you fault tolerance. If you lose a drive, you don't lose your OS and stuff.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/02/2006 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

"I have never seen a SATA to IDE converter."

there are tons of them though not the best thing to use. sata to IDE

http://www.google.com/search?h...;q=sata+to+ide+adaptor
 11/02/2006 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Xtreeme
"I have never seen a SATA to IDE converter."

there are tons of them though not the best thing to use. sata to IDE

http://www.google.com/search?h...;q=sata+to+ide+adaptor



Interesting. For the price of SATA drives, it would be better to get a new drive.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/02/2006 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: mckennma Interesting. For the price of SATA drives, it would be better to get a new drive.


I fail to see how. As he said in the original post, he has the two drives, and near as I can tell, there are no $10-15 SATA drives on the market.

To the original poster, if you can get it to work, you need to understand that you will lose 80GB. The 200GB drive will not see 80GB, due to it having to match the 120GB drive.

-Adam
 11/02/2006 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Silk_the_Absent1
I fail to see how. As he said in the original post, he has the two drives, and near as I can tell, there are no $10-15 SATA drives on the market.

To the original poster, if you can get it to work, you need to understand that you will lose 80GB. The 200GB drive will not see 80GB, due to it having to match the 120GB drive.

-Adam



He will also lose performance because of the slower drive. It is also better to recommend the correct way to do something. Mixing SATA and IDE will cause performance issues. It could cause stability issues.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 11/02/2006 08:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adudley
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/09/2005

hey guys,

thanks for all the replies (especially silk for the size loss), the reason i asked the question as a lot of peeps seem to be headin to the raid route, was just wonderin wether is seemed viable, in my situation maybe not, lets face it i am not gonna ditch 80 gb for a possible idea of more stability when mine is running pretty well as is. but to face realtiy here if i was to buy another sata drive and consider raid what kind of increase in performence are we likely to expect??

all help as always is apprciated

.aaron

-------------------------
amd 64 3400 newcastle (stock)
1gb ram
ati x700
120gb wd ide hdd
200 gb maxtor sata
sb audigy 2
 11/02/2006 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Not much.

For the average user, it's just not worth it to go RAID0.

Thanks to EdG for finding that link.

-Adam
 11/02/2006 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adudley
Member

Posts: 118
Joined: 11/09/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Silk_the_Absent1
Not much.

For the average user, it's just not worth it to go RAID0.

Thanks to EdG for finding that link.

-Adam



cheers silk i think for a couple of seconds extra i can wait for a bit before i part with £100 on a hdd maybe i could put it towards a gpu lol

.aaron


-------------------------
amd 64 3400 newcastle (stock)
1gb ram
ati x700
120gb wd ide hdd
200 gb maxtor sata
sb audigy 2
 11/02/2006 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: adudley
hey guys,

thanks for all the replies (especially silk for the size loss), the reason i asked the question as a lot of peeps seem to be headin to the raid route, was just wonderin wether is seemed viable, in my situation maybe not, lets face it i am not gonna ditch 80 gb for a possible idea of more stability when mine is running pretty well as is. but to face realtiy here if i was to buy another sata drive and consider raid what kind of increase in performence are we likely to expect??

all help as always is apprciated

.aaron

¨

You have to understand RAID0 aren't for stability or redundant array. It is for speed improvement from multiple head that can access and share data along different harddisk. This will also increase the failure rate as you will have two or more drivers that share the same data.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information