AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Replacing Hard Drive
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/16/2006 10:29 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/16/2006 10:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Deprecated

Posts: 325
Joined: 07/15/2006

Stupid question really guys but here goes....
Can I remove my hard drive from my existing comp and put it in my newly built one or do I have to wipe it clean and start again?
The way I see it is that the hard drive is just like a cassette and you can just slot it into different players.
Is that right or is it a stupid question after all!!
My current rig is Athlon XP3200 Barton Core and my new one will be Athlon 64 4000 San Diego.

-------------------------
 11/16/2006 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

This is a question not a guide or a tip so I've moved it for you.Please read the forum headers about what should be posted where.

To answer your question,the hdd has drivers on it to run the specific motherboard and other hardware in your system.As these will be different when you swap systems it is best to wipe it and start again.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 11/16/2006 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Deprecated

Posts: 325
Joined: 07/15/2006

Ooops Sorry.
So what happens when you have a front docked HDD and you slot it into another system.....aaahhh that would be just as a storage device like the cassette analogy. The main HDD would be running the comp. Right got it.
Thank you

-------------------------
 11/16/2006 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

I'm guessing ure talking about the drive that hosts the operating system ?? U only need to wipe the partition hosting the OS, not the whole drive.

And if ure talking about a HDD with only data on it, it should work fine without formatting it

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/16/2006 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: eskimosound
Ooops Sorry.
So what happens when you have a front docked HDD and you slot it into another system.....aaahhh that would be just as a storage device like the cassette analogy. The main HDD would be running the comp. Right got it.
Thank you



It's not the hard disk, its the windows installation. Going from an Athlon XP to something better will need a new installation.


-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 11/16/2006 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eskimosound
Deprecated

Posts: 325
Joined: 07/15/2006

Thanks fellas,
That's making sense.

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information