AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New to AMD and have a question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/08/2006 04:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2006 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Johnboat
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/08/2006

Hi there,

I'm the new owner of a Athlon 64 3200+. One thing I've always wondered with Athlons is how do you get that speed like the 3200+, if the chip is 2ghz, where does the 3200+ number come from?

Thanks
 06/08/2006 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

3200 is equivalent to a 3.2Ghz Pentium 4.

3500 to 3.5 and so on.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/08/2006 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

3200 is petium equivent roughly so 3.2ghz p4

look at my crap spelly

r3 you noob typer
 06/08/2006 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

haha beat ya!

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/08/2006 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

the 3200 is the rating in intel GHZ, so that 2ghz athlon is equal to 3.2ghz intel.

lolz

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/08/2006 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

wow.......were on top of it today

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/08/2006 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Johnboat
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/08/2006

OK so I overclocked my 3200 to 2.7hgz, whats that compair to in the intel world?
 06/08/2006 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

probably a 3.7Ghz P4

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/08/2006 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Johnboat OK so I overclocked my 3200 to 2.7hgz, whats that compair to in the intel world?


quote:

Originally posted by: r3sil3 probably a 3.7Ghz P4

No, higher.

A 3800+ is clocked at 2.4GHz, his is 2.7GHz... That's better than a Pentium 4 @ 4.0GHz.

-------------------------
 06/08/2006 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

in theory your right.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/08/2006 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Johnboat
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/08/2006

It's a Venice core and my buddy who has an athlon 64 X2 3800 says that the venice cores overclock like mad. I guess he was right.
 06/08/2006 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

Yea, both Venice and San Diego are good overclockers. (90nm)

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information