AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 3200 DIED!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/08/2006 08:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2006 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kiask2343
Senior Member

Posts: 761
Joined: 10/11/2004

You can see my computer in my sig. I over clocked it a little but has been running stock for about 1.5 years now. I leave it on all the time and with out warning one day I was on the internet before work and two hours later my wife said the screen was blank. When I came home the screen was blank but the power light and the HD light where on. I had to turn off the PSU to shut the computer down, then when I started it back up no beeps or nothing just every thing turned on all the lights and all the fans and the HD where on but it never booted. Just "ran". So I bought another MOBO and went to change out all the components, but the heat sink would not come off. When I pulled it the CPU came out with it.
I had to pry the CPU off with a screw driver. and when I put it in the new mobo same thing, but this one had an LED trouble shooting system that said that the CPU/Chipset where bad. The CPU is only a little over 1.5 years old and even when I OC it, it ran at the same temp as it did when it was at stock temp. Does this happen often?

On another note can I put a mobile 3700 in the same MOBO with out any Mods?

-------------------------
Amd64 3700 ~ 2.7Ghz...... Zalman9500LED
1gb Kingston ram................. cool 38 degree's "idle"
Biostar Tforce6100.....
300gb hd and 160Gb raid+1
HP duel Layer DVD-R/RW
600W ZUMAX SLI
Saphire X1950XT
80000 AM03
10500 3Dmark05
 06/08/2006 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

My Athlon XP 1400+ Died in 5 years, due to frying out... I had to replace the mobo, processor. The 3700 should work fine

-------------------------
zzzap!
 06/08/2006 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kiask2343
Senior Member

Posts: 761
Joined: 10/11/2004

So if I buy this I can just plug it in and go? No special HS and fan?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16819103490

-------------------------
Amd64 3700 ~ 2.7Ghz...... Zalman9500LED
1gb Kingston ram................. cool 38 degree's "idle"
Biostar Tforce6100.....
300gb hd and 160Gb raid+1
HP duel Layer DVD-R/RW
600W ZUMAX SLI
Saphire X1950XT
80000 AM03
10500 3Dmark05
 06/08/2006 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dmcanally
Senior Member

Posts: 372
Joined: 10/12/2005

as long as you have a socket 754 motherboard. You may also want a lidless heatsink.

-------------------------
The opinions and statements expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries. Nor do said opinions and statements hold any official or credible status concerning Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates or subsidiaries.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 06/08/2006 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kiask2343
Senior Member

Posts: 761
Joined: 10/11/2004

Lidless? what is that and how do I find ?


-------------------------
Amd64 3700 ~ 2.7Ghz...... Zalman9500LED
1gb Kingston ram................. cool 38 degree's "idle"
Biostar Tforce6100.....
300gb hd and 160Gb raid+1
HP duel Layer DVD-R/RW
600W ZUMAX SLI
Saphire X1950XT
80000 AM03
10500 3Dmark05
 06/08/2006 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Royal Flush
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3006
Joined: 02/27/2005

Or a lite heatsink, some that stand vertically work really well (That Zalman expensive one, the Freezer 64 Pro one)

-------------------------
zzzap!
 06/08/2006 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

Usually the when the motherboard doesn't put off a beep it's the board or the power I would think. So maybe the board was dead for whatever reason...and you killed the CPU when you were prying it out? Eh I dunno...but yeah, you should be able to just buy another one...

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 06/08/2006 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
palmboy5
Overclocker

Posts: 857
Joined: 10/06/2003

if your HS is the stock one then you will need to get a different HS. the stock HS's base will hit the mount before going down enough to touch the core of a non-IHS CPU. Freezer 64 Pro would work well, or anything where the base is small enough to avoid the mount.

-------------------------

Do lower and I give you a cookie. jk
 06/08/2006 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

ya I had that problem with my old Athlon xp 1800+. Still dont know what part is bad, maybe someday ill get a new mobo and try it.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 06/08/2006 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kiask2343
Senior Member

Posts: 761
Joined: 10/11/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: technic58
Usually the when the motherboard doesn't put off a beep it's the board or the power I would think. So maybe the board was dead for whatever reason...and you killed the CPU when you were prying it out? Eh I dunno...but yeah, you should be able to just buy another one...



well i don't know I am using a tagan 480 and like I said all fans spin and all LEDS light up. Also the Biosar MOBO I got said it was the CPU. That is waht led me to that conclusion.

Thanks for all the help guys.

-------------------------
Amd64 3700 ~ 2.7Ghz...... Zalman9500LED
1gb Kingston ram................. cool 38 degree's "idle"
Biostar Tforce6100.....
300gb hd and 160Gb raid+1
HP duel Layer DVD-R/RW
600W ZUMAX SLI
Saphire X1950XT
80000 AM03
10500 3Dmark05
 06/08/2006 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JonJon
Code Monkey

Posts: 2205
Joined: 02/25/2004

then it's the processor. Do what royal flush said and get a HSF that won't hit the mounting bracket so it makes contact with that mobile. I bet you could OC that a bit too (i think easily to 2.6 or higher since it's a mobile) unless the Biostar isn't a good overclocker.

-------------------------
 06/08/2006 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kiask2343
Senior Member

Posts: 761
Joined: 10/11/2004

http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbd....asp?model=tforce+6100
This is the one I got, seems to have a lot o"over clocker friendly" settings.

-------------------------
Amd64 3700 ~ 2.7Ghz...... Zalman9500LED
1gb Kingston ram................. cool 38 degree's "idle"
Biostar Tforce6100.....
300gb hd and 160Gb raid+1
HP duel Layer DVD-R/RW
600W ZUMAX SLI
Saphire X1950XT
80000 AM03
10500 3Dmark05
 06/08/2006 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: kiask2343
http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbd....asp?model=tforce+6100
This is the one I got, seems to have a lot o"over clocker friendly" settings.



Oh yeah, defenitely, the Tforce's are amazing for overclocking.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information