AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: How to change drive letter of primary drive?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/18/2006 02:29 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/18/2006 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

I recently got a new hard drive and installed windows on it. After this I found that my main drive is named "H:". I tried to change it to "C:" unsuccessfully under disk mangement: I got a popup that said "Windows cannot modify the drive letter of your system volume or boot volume." Is there a way to get around this? I really don't want to get used to having "H:" as my main drive . Thank you.

-------------------------
 11/18/2006 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

i had this same problem. i finally just gave up and started over.

hint: unplug your old system drive before starting the computer to start the installation. once the installation is done reconnect and your old system drive will get the new letter.

otherwise i couldn't find a workaround.

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 11/18/2006 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

Yeah, the only one I know is a fresh install of Windows... Follow Bruneauinfo's advice and unplug all ure other drives before installing

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/18/2006 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

Ok, thanks guys. I was trying to find a way around doing this, but apparently there isn't one.
I tried following this guide but it sort of killed xp (wouldn't load windows even in safe mode). So I already started the format (without the other drives) and it should be finished pretty soon.

-------------------------
 11/19/2006 04:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hungryjoey
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2507
Joined: 05/01/2004

Unfortunetly I got hit with the same thing, While trying to get around it, I created an even LARGER mess for myself

Hj

-------------------------
Break Free -AMD
Intel Q6600 3GHz | 4GB | GTX260 | Vista Ultimate
 11/19/2006 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrHyde03
Code Monkey

Posts: 2276
Joined: 07/05/2005

Partition Magic 8 did the trick for me
my xp drive was labeld as d: Local Disk. it changed it to C: Windows XP.

-------------------------
Desktop - Windows 7 x86 RTM
Laptop - Windows 7 x64 RTM
The good ol days
CSF www.compsupportforums.com
 11/19/2006 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Zozio
I recently got a new hard drive and installed windows on it. After this I found that my main drive is named "H:". I tried to change it to "C:" unsuccessfully under disk mangement: I got a popup that said "Windows cannot modify the drive letter of your system volume or boot volume." Is there a way to get around this? I really don't want to get used to having "H:" as my main drive . Thank you.



You cannot change OS partition drive letter. My drives letters are
D: Windows 2000 Pro SP4
F: Windows XP Pro SP2
H: Windows XP x64 AMD64

The only way to reset it is install only your single hard drive or RAID array that will have to C: partition and one CD device. Remove any other drives, CD/DVD devices, card readers, etc. Anything that is assigned a drive letter and reinstall your OS and apps.



-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information