AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: could this fix my problem?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/10/2006 03:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/10/2006 03:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k2aka111
Senior Member

Posts: 3321
Joined: 03/14/2006

I think my IDE channel 0 is bad, as it won't let anything be writen to it, could i put the HDD on channel 1 and the dvd drive on channel 0?

-------------------------
Selling Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe & X2 4200+. PM me if interested
 09/10/2006 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1337rice
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 08/26/2006

isnt that what youre supposed to do in the first place? you always plug your IDE0 with the optical drives (i dont know why, probably because its the longest distance my IDE cable can reach)

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ s.939 @2.0ghz **non-overclockable...no clue why...**
Foxconn Winfast NF4K8AC mobo
450W Okia PSU
512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel Buffalo + 512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel OCZ Premier
256mb/512mb BFG Geforce 7300GS
40GB IDE Western Digital + 250GB SATA W.D + 100GB SATA MAXTOR
Stock CPU Fan + *new*120mm SilverStone case fan on side + *n
 09/10/2006 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Hmmm, well I have never heard that. I would have thought HDD go IDE0 first. But, I may very well be wrong!
 09/10/2006 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtrupi
Senior Member

Posts: 638
Joined: 07/10/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: k2aka111
I think my IDE channel 0 is bad, as it won't let anything be writen to it, could i put the HDD on channel 1 and the dvd drive on channel 0?



Swapping the channels is okay and little performance difference will be noticed. It gets a little confusing because of the evolution of the cable select pin. However, normally the "master" device would be the HDD and should be on the end of the cable. The "slave" device should be the DVD. When you have one HDD and one DVD, put the DVD as "master" on the secondary controller. If you have only one device on the IDE cable it should be on the end.
 09/10/2006 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

to get the best performance you have to put the dvd drive and hd on separate channels

yeah i would try switching channels and see what happens; it could be your hd who knows /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" />
 09/10/2006 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k2aka111
Senior Member

Posts: 3321
Joined: 03/14/2006

OMG it worked WOOT!

-------------------------
Selling Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe & X2 4200+. PM me if interested
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information