AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Hooking up front audio connections
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/04/2006 06:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/04/2006 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LionHeart
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Joined: 01/07/2006

For gaming, which I do a lot, I use a headset/mic combo. My old rig sucked because I'd have to get down and unplug the pc speakers and then plug in the headset/mic (I didn't have front audio ports). So with my new rig I'm building fron't audio connections was a must for convenience. Question is how does this connect? I was going to purchase a audigy 2 value card but was reading some of the reviews at newegg and one person stated that there was no way to hook up front mic port. Is this true or does he not know what he's doing? I definitely need that front audio port to work, along with the 2 usb and firewire. Thanks.

-------------------------

Opteron 165@2709Mhz 1.424v <> DFI nF4 Ultra-D <> EVGA 7900GT CO SuperClocked <> 2GB G.Skill DDR500 {Black}
 02/04/2006 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

if your case has 2 front audio ports... then all you need to do is check your motherboard manual for the front audio port.. as its different on all boards.. and since you dont have your specs laid out.. i cant play the guessing game..
or you could get something like this..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16829102174

an external sound card..

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 02/04/2006 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

if you could get pictures of the connectors used by the case that would help a lot. and if you value the connectivity that much, dont get the external sound card. get the front panel featured with A2ZS platinum or a mixer.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 02/04/2006 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RBR
Case Modder

Posts: 1099
Joined: 01/22/2005

In the meantime, here's a solution to add front ports to your old computer if you want. http://www.frontx.com/
You can get ports that connect directly to your motherboard if it allows it, or get ones that pass through and plug into the back ports. This let me resurrect an old case I had lying around.

-------------------------
 02/04/2006 07:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

yeah it came with my DFI its okay but the biggest thing that makes me not like it is they barely included any acessories, none that i needed that is for sure, and they are expensive to buy...

id just get a 1/4" stereo miniplug 'extension cable' and wrap it around under your case to the front.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 02/04/2006 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: TheReturnOfAZ id just get a 1/4" stereo miniplug 'extension cable' and wrap it around under your case to the front.


Might be a tad difficult jamming a 1/4" plug into a 1/8" jack...

-Adam
 02/04/2006 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

ok you know what i meant

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 02/04/2006 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LionHeart
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Joined: 01/07/2006

Well what the crap, I thought this would be easy. Just hook em up. Don't anyone here use there front usb and audio ports? If I use the extension how does that help me from having to switch between my regular pc speakers and my headset? If the extensions plugged in the back that means my pc speakers arent plugged in and I'd still have to crawl under there to plug the computer speakers back in after I'm done gaming. There has to be a simple solution to this. Isn't this the whole point of having front audio connecters, convenience.

-------------------------

Opteron 165@2709Mhz 1.424v <> DFI nF4 Ultra-D <> EVGA 7900GT CO SuperClocked <> 2GB G.Skill DDR500 {Black}
 02/04/2006 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

I woulda thought that the case would come pre-wired.
for example the case that i got has usb and firewire in front, and with the wiring hooked up to the front and the other ends waiting to be plugged into the mobo

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/04/2006 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LionHeart
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Joined: 01/07/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
I woulda thought that the case would come pre-wired.
for example the case that i got has usb and firewire in front, and with the wiring hooked up to the front and the other ends waiting to be plugged into the mobo



Thats my question zeppy......where on the mb do they plug in.


-------------------------

Opteron 165@2709Mhz 1.424v <> DFI nF4 Ultra-D <> EVGA 7900GT CO SuperClocked <> 2GB G.Skill DDR500 {Black}
 02/04/2006 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

ok.. thats a good question then

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/04/2006 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Have you read the manual? The hookup is usually (at least, on good cases) just a simple plug it in on the board. Some cheap cases require the individual pins to be done separately. You need to pull two jumpers on the fron panel pinouts, then just plug it in.

It would really help though, if you'd tell us what board it is, and what case it is.

-Adam
 02/04/2006 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LionHeart
Senior Member

Posts: 276
Joined: 01/07/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Silk_the_Absent1
Have you read the manual? The hookup is usually (at least, on good cases) just a simple plug it in on the board. Some cheap cases require the individual pins to be done separately. You need to pull two jumpers on the fron panel pinouts, then just plug it in.

It would really help though, if you'd tell us what board it is, and what case it is.

-Adam



http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813136152
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16811119077

Have the motherboard but I don't have the case yet. I'm trying to figure all this out ahead of time. The DFI manual didn't mention it.

-------------------------

Opteron 165@2709Mhz 1.424v <> DFI nF4 Ultra-D <> EVGA 7900GT CO SuperClocked <> 2GB G.Skill DDR500 {Black}
 02/04/2006 11:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

The front audio pinout looks like it is on the Karajan audio module. You just pull the two jumpers from the module and pop the cable from the case onto it. Then when you have nothing plugged in to the front audio out jack, it will come out the rear. If you plug in something to the front, it will disable the rear and come out the front.

-Adam
 02/04/2006 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

oh hey you can see the installation guide on the support page of the box here
http://www.coolermaster-usa.co...Mast...ts.aspx?pid=634
the last page gets into those connections

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 02/05/2006 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdgE 45
Senior Member

Posts: 729
Joined: 09/03/2005

I used the front inputs on mine ,work fine with the asus onboard sound ,let me warn you if u get another sound card (like creative) Get the cards with the front panels,all the creative without the front panels, you still have to plug in the back cause your case inputs don't work with creative. I got the x-fi premium ,unbelievable ,great sound ,gaming music ,guitar

-------------------------
Amd 4400x2
asus a8n-sli premium
pc power 510
corsair twinx2048-3500LLpro
70gb wd 10,000x2
evga 7800gtx X-Fi Platinum
 02/05/2006 02:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

I'd say either get new speakers that have a headphone outlet on the front of them (Logitech x530 comes to mind) or just use your headphones indefinatly, like I do. Or simply, get a Y-connector, allowing you to connect 2 devices to one outlet. Those run about $1 at a dollar store, or $5 for a good one.

This is the cheapest route, and won't make your case look ugly with lots of wires.


-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information