AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: hdd autorun
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/22/2006 09:16 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/22/2006 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

i have a usb 4gb hdd that i want to make it open a program whenever its plugged.. i wrote the "Autorun.ini" file as following:

CODE[autorun]
open=StartPortableApps.exe
icon=StartPortableApps.exe
label=N@G@TY

but what happened is that whenever its plugged it shows the windows autoplay menu.. what can i do to make this program launch automatically like programs on cds?

thnx..

-------------------------
 11/22/2006 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
i have a usb 4gb hdd that i want to make it open a program whenever its plugged.. i wrote the "Autorun.ini" file as following:

CODE[autorun]
open=StartPortableApps.exe
icon=StartPortableApps.exe
label=N@G@TY

but what happened is that whenever its plugged it shows the windows autoplay menu.. what can i do to make this program launch automatically like programs on cds?

thnx..


Try using "autorun.inf" instead.

Also the icon= Should be StartPortableApps.exe,0
(0 would be the first icon in the exe file)

you could also use an icon file too,
Icon=my_icon.ico

 11/22/2006 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown Try using "autorun.inf" instead.

sorry, its .inf i just confused it with ini when i was writing this topic..

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown Also the icon= Should be StartPortableApps.exe,0
(0 would be the first icon in the exe file)

the icon is working good..

edit: tried this and still no progress:

CODE[autorun]
OPEN=StartPortableApps.exe /AUTORUN
ICON=StartPortableApps.exe,0
LABEL=N@G@TY

shell\PortableApps=&PortableApps...
shell\PortableApps\command=StartPortableApps.exe

-------------------------
 11/22/2006 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

I have an autorun USB which uses ShellExecute instead of Open...

[autorun]
ShellExecute=app_path\app.exe
icon=app_path\app.exe,0
UseAutoPlay=1

-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO
 11/22/2006 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

that does it.. thnx fizz..

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information